We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere, helpful staff, and great choice of music”
Review of The Old House

The Old House
Ranked #246 of 1,464 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our laid-back bar is an eclectic home-from-home. With delicious home-made, locally sourced food, great music, a perfectly picked range of beers and ales and over 100 gins we've got something for everyone. No pretence, just good drinks, good food and nice people.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, helpful staff, and great choice of music”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Simply its my favourite pub in Sheffield and my first on the list when anyone comes to visit or when someone says: "so where do you want to go ? "

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AhmedMaani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    85
    25
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wholesome food great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have visited The Old House twice this year and on both occasions thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. This is not fine dining but is wholesome, good quality food with an emphasis on local sourcing. The bar offers an excellent selection of beers, spirits and wines. You may also want to work your way through the cocktail menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeVincentDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb cocktails, great food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Love the cocktails here, they're not cheap but definitely worth it and they have a large cocktail menu to choose from (though it takes a lot of reading!). After coming to Old House for drinks for years we finally got round to eating here; and were deligted with what we received. I had a pie, chips and mushy peas which was fantastic, very homely with tasty home-made chips. Friend had lamb which she throroughly enjoyed. As always great music and a laid back atmosphere. We'll be back....highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tron10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
438 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
“Food, service, surroundings, ambience: all brilliant!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It is extremely rare in my experience that a pub gets absolutely everything right, at least as far as I'm concerned. This one does.

My wife and I went there early evening midweek, and it was already fairly busy and pretty full by the time we left mid-evening. Service behind the bar was fast and welcoming, then there was waitress service at the table for food and drink, which was faultless: efficient, attentive and friendly.

The pub is light, airy, modern and yet quirkily individual, the background music was interesting (ranging from 60s folk-rock to modern chillout) and the food was top-notch. What's more, prices for both food and drinks are very reasonable! This really is an excellent pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunshine on a rainy day”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Well it's food festival day and as the weather is frightful I decided to cheer myself up with a dark ale and a light salad. Opting for the hot smoked salmon with dandelion leaves, garlic croutons and a soft boiled egg. I was in heaven! Lightly smoked, sweet honey mustard dressing and slightly bitter greens.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heathenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old House also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing