We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding - 9th July 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had our wedding at Aston Hall on the 9th July 2011. The hotel is lovely, providing a beautiful setting, and the staff were superb. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The wedding was well planned and co-ordinated before and on the day; we always felt comfortable and at ease with our plans and developments, A lot of our wedding guests were very complementory on the rooms, food and the hotel overall.

Thank you to all the staff that helped us up to and on the day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catew12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking some time to leave us a review!!! We love to hear from our customers and feedback just helps us improve. We are also happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience with your wedding at Aston Hall. Hopefully we will be able to go through your wedding photos when you pay us a visit next! We also hope you have had an enjoyable honeymoon.

Regards,

Raquel Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

"Amazing" from start to finish.
The staff prior to the wedding day were fantastic.
On the day all the staff at the hotel were professional, courteous and organised.
The Darcy suite is recommended for the bridal party, a tranquil setting that provides a calming atmosphere with amazing service.
The hotel as a venue for a wedding has everything required to make the day perfect. The building is set in gorgeous grounds, the entrance produces an opportunity for the perfect photograph with the beautiful chandalier and staircase.
The service provided by all the staff from the receptionist, bar staff, master of ceremonies and wedding planner made the day perfect. So patient and understanding and attention to detail was second to none. Simply perfect.
Would receommend the Tang suite as the bridal suite, a beautifully decorated room with amazing views over the hotel grounds and a large free standing bath.
The hotel staff for us make this venue 5 star for weddings.
We will definately be spending our anniversaries there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamanderson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some time to leave us a review. We are all delighted to hear you had a memorable occasion at Aston Hall. We hope you can come to visit us again on your return from your honeymoon so we can have see some of your wedding photos!

We all look forward to welcoming you and your family again at the hotel.

Regards,

Raquel Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

from start to finish the weekend was brilliant,very romantic champagne strawberries and a card,it was 28 years to the day we was married,the staff was very friendly,and helpfull.The bedroom was in the small building bathroom as 2showers and a lovley bath very modern the bed was very comfy we were on the top floor all the roof of the room was glass so at night you can lay in bed looking at the stars very romantic. we had drinks in the bar before the meal the bar man was very nice and friendly.The meal was excellent,looked good,tasted brill,and was very hot cant stand cold food,10 out of 10 .The hotel as excellent grounds its a lovely setting. breakfast was very good and once again very hot and tasty the waiter was very attentive ALI. we will deff be going back thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay

Room Tip: The small building top floor very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overagegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review to us. We appreciate all customer feedback, to ensure we are on the right track. Darcy House has some of our modern purple and silver rooms and they are always among everyone's favourites. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

The team at Aston Hall look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Raquel Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights fri to sun for a family wedding and a break. We were upgraded on arrival and had a lovely suite it was called jesmond. We dined fri and sat and the food was excellent. Breakfast was good too. We would definatly recomend this hotel, the beds were super comfy.

Room Tip: ask for the jesmond suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supershop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leaving us some feedback. The Jesmond suite has some of the best views in the house. We are delighted to hear you had a good time while you were here.

All the team at Aston Hall look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Regards,

Raquel Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel from Friday 8th July to Sunday 11th July. We arrived at 2pm & was sent to our room round the back of the building in the west wing. The room was pleasant but the bathroom had no expelair & smelt very foisty. There was only enough toiletries for 1 person. We ate lunch in the bar which was very nice, although the 10% service charge is steep especially when the prices are already high. The following morning we went to breakfast & was served in the small dining area just off the bar the choice of breakfast was very nice although you only got 1 piece of bacon & no sausage on the Yorkshire breakfast it was served very nicely with black pudding fried bread beans & egg very nice. We then had a short walk around the grounds which are beautiful the staff were busy getting ready for the first of the 2 weddings that day.
Our room was cleaned but no new towels were left & again no toiletries so we had to use the towels from the day before although I did ring reception & when we got back from our evening out more towels & toiletries were waiting for us, breakfast on Sunday morning was horrendous you had to queue in the reception with all the wedding guests & wait to be shown a table. When we eventually got seated we were in a large room with the wedding party the breakfast served was terrible fatty bacon again only 1 piece thank goodness & cheap sausage which I would not give a dog it was like eating in a totally different hotel from the previous morning.
We had already booked Sunday lunch with friends at 2.30pm this was very nice & the service very good although again the 10%service charge amounted to an extra tenner we did not pay this but instead left a tip for the very helpful waitress. This hotel has many good points & could be great if the staff looked after the guests better & paid more attention to ALL guests and not just wedding parties.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolaTodmorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us some feedback. It is vital that we listen to our customers, so we can look into areas that require attention. Your comments were discussed with the team and taken on board.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Aston Hall, and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Regards,

Raquel Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Family birthday celebration with our 3 children and their partners. This is a fantastic hotel with excellent service and a delightful setting. We went on the DBB meal with champagne and strawberries. The rooms were very spacious, clean and a high standard. Absolutely outstanding meal - all cooked to perfection, good wine list (reasonable prices). Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prof1Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We really appreciate it. All the team at Aston Hall look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

we only stayed in this hotel for one night as it was for a family wedding, but it was a very pleasant experience. the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was beautiful, everything was spotless and it had all the amenities. the wedding was absolutely beautiful, it must have cost a fortune but the hotel is an amazing venue and their staff is wonderful. on the main floor in a few of the rooms there was a slight smell of sewage, I think they were having problems with their sewage system but other than on the main floor, it was not noticeable at all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jschwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review and your valued feedback. We all look forward to have an opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
7.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
7.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
9.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 53 in Sheffield
1,043 reviews
10.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel

Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £62 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing