We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE NIGHT STAY - SATURDAY 1 OCTOBER 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

After booking the venue as we going to a wedding nearby for £90 B & B we received confirmation to say we had 3 course meal, champers and chocolate strawberries in our room - was really pleased so the honest person i was called and queried the price and they said they had made a mistake. The did honour the price which was very good of them but i felt we would end up in the broom cupboard!!!

Well the room was tiny and so was the wardrobe good job we only staying one night. And we returned to our room there was a constant humming noise sounded like we were at the end of the run way at Manchester airport which went on all night and the next morning so did not get much sleep really. So if you booked and get the Harley room beware and probably move!

The had dinner but we felt it was not a good standard very basic and probably heated up under the microwave and the breakfast was not really any better either.

They ordered us a taxi to take us to the venue but he was late on arrival, did not know where we were going - gave him the instructions and he could not read them so it took over 15 minutes before we actually set off. Also they have a code to get out of the barrier which he was not aware of so had to do a reverse at the gate too which delayed us even more.

If the hotel use this taxi company often well i would think again! They did organise a return journey which was better and we got home safe.

The building is very impressive but thats all i can say positive about it really sorry.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racytrollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your experience with us. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience you had during your stay, and we will be investigating the points highlighted. I would like to highlight that all the food produced in the hotel is freshly prepared, using seasonal ingredients. In regards to the third party service you experienced, we do not have any affiliation with taxi companies, and we use different taxi services to suit our customer's requests. I hope this experience will not prevent you from visiting the hotel again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for further assistance.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

had a wonderful time at my nephews wedding, the day was lovely, but we had booked 4 rooms and had them booked for weeks, when we got there we only had three and some of the other guests had the same problem, we got offered a smaller room at a reduced price but when we came to pay the bill they triedto charge us the same rate even though it was dingy and the size of a broom cupboard. When we got our visa bill a month later my husband was only to find that they had charged us all over again, think the reception booking staff should really get there act together altough the day was lovely i would never go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We understand the error with your bill was rectified as soon as it was highlighted to us. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and I understand adequate compensation has been arranged. We hope to see you at Aston Hall again shortly!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We spent many a happy weekend at Aston Hall with its friendly staff, during the planning of our Daughter’s wedding. The complete team were always available and so supportive throughout the complete planning phase.
On the day I could not have asked for anything more from the staff, the food, service and attentiveness of the team was second to none, they made what was a wonderful day something I shall remember for the rest of my life.
Many thanks go to the whole team, but Zoe and Matt were outstanding on the day and throughout the planning.
Thank you all so much, if you are looking for a fairy tale wedding for your little girl, this is the place where dreams come true.
Roger & Kate Gagen

Room Tip: Wonderful rooms, with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We sincerely appreciate it! We are always happy to be part of such a special day in someone's life. We hope to welcome you and your family back at the hotel to relive the joys of the weddings day.

We wish your daughter and her now husband a happy life together!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This location is lovely. Great buildings, and superb grounds. I can really see how the other reviewers had a good wedding day here, because it has all the ingredients to be great.

BUT... for me it had no substance. Staying on business, I was met by a room with a view on to the air-conditioning units and their inconsistent hum, a dark bathroom (bulbs gone) with a damp and musty smell and soiled toilet. Changed rooms to another room, slightly less musty, but still noisy with the added joy of the church bells ringing every hour very loudly through the single glazed window.

Someone please buy this venue and do it properly. Start by getting some better cleaners.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petesaysblimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leaving us some feedback. We appreciate all customer comments, to ensure we can continue doing things right, but also to highlight any areas that may require some extra attention on our part.
Your comments were discussed with the team, and as much as possible, we have implemented measures to improve on the issues you have highlighted.
The team at Aston Hall looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!
Regards,
Raquel Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We celebrated our wedding here following a beautiful marriage service at Aston All Saints Church on 6th August. The reception at Aston Hall Hotel was fantastic, with a special thanks to Zoe our wedding co-ordinator and Scott who was our toastmaster, both of whom ensured our day ran smoothly. Our guests were very complimentary about the food and the hotel bedrooms were lovely too! Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweep_Sooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us some feedback about your event. The team at Aston Hall could not do without our valued guests and their comments. It ensures we can keep on doing what we do well and look into areas we may have shortfalls.
We wish the bride and groom a great honeymoon and a happy life together and we hope to be able to look through your wedding photos while sipping a nice drink at the hotel in the future.

Once again, thank you for your kind words.

Regards,

Raquel Silva

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our daughter and now son-in-law were married at the adjoining wonderful Aston Church and had the reception at Aston Hall Hotel on 19 August 2011 and I must write to say what a fantastic day this was. The Hotel, food and staff were outstanding. The hotel's wedding planner was there to help from the beginning to completion and ensured by her professionalism we were able to enjoy the occasion. The day itself was faultless with Matt in charge throughout the reception everything went perfectly. All of our guests loved the whole occasion and the hotel gave the couple ( and the rest of us!) the wedding of their dreams. A truly outstanding venue.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mother252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your daughter's wedding. We value all customer's comments, as they ensure we can keep on the right track. We wish the newly weds a happy life together and hope to meet you all again to look through the wedding photos!
A big thank you from all the team at Aston Hall!!!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at a family wedding last Oct. Beautiful venue, fantastic day, great family room. Only annoyance was that breakfast room was a large empty room with tables ' dotted' around. Felt like we were herded in and expected to share a table with strangers... I think not, so another table was brought out. ....bad hangover, couldn't enjoy the breakfast...shame as looked fab!
would def stay here again...sort breakfast room out please!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bighairbertham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstonHallManager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. At Aston Hall we appreciate our guests comments, as they ensure we can keep improving!

We have discussed the points you have raised with the team and have taken them on board.

All the team at the hotel look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards,

Raquel Silva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
7.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
7.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,312 reviews
10.4 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
7.2 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel

Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £61 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing