We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Almost there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

First the good news , the hotel itself is very smart. The rooms are excellent ,dinner in the restaurant was very good.breakfast was ok..
Sadly the night I was there it was quite chaotic they had a large birthday party function and the service was stretched beyond breaking point .long waits at the bar to order a drink ,all the menus were out with guests in the garden so people had to wait for them to finish,and I didn't get my newspaper that I ordered at check in always a cardinal sin for me.
Overall though the points are easy to fix with the right staffing levels.would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean Calculator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Just as I am glad to read you enjoyed the hotel as such, I am disappointed you experienced a few problems. We have already looked into the areas highlighted and implemented remedial measures. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.
Do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.
Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    162
    69
    20
    28
See reviews for
132
175
14
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We celebrated our Son and his Wife's wedding over the May Bank holiday weekend, wow, it was a fabulous occasion! Nothing was too much trouble for the Mangement and Staff of this wonderful hotel. They gave a very professional and friendly, un-obstrusive service throughout from the start of the weekend when they sorted a private dining area for a meal for 25 of the guests on the Friday night. Every email I sent prior to the event was answered within a very reasonable time frame and gave possible to solutions to any queries I had. Attention to detail was impressive - we placed table place names 15 minutes before service and when we sat down to start to eat the cutlery had been changed to reflect the meal orders! The rooms booked (in the West Wing) were all spotless and first class, very spacious and comfortable beds. The packages offered for the rooms were excellent value for money. The day itself went without a hitch, this was due to the efforts of all the staff involved. Everything happened without fuss and on-time. The grounds were well maintained and a wonderful backdrop for the photographs. We always felt very relaxed and the Bride and Groom had huge smiles on their faces, which says it all.Thank you all of you at Aston Hall!

Room Tip: The rooms in the West Wing (I think they are called Executive) which we booked for our guests attend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mancunian01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read you, your family and friends had an enjoyable time at Aston Hall, especially for such a memorable occasion! Your kind words make us all proud!
We hope to be able to welcome you again at the hotel and hopefully have a glance at those smiley photographs!
Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This weekend my cousin had a wedding at the chapel next door and some of us stayed at the hotel overnight.Lovely location with outstanding facilities . Wish to go there again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read you had a good time while at Aston Hall! And I would like to thank you for sharing with other travellers a little bit about your experience at the hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you to Aston Hall again soon!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We booked a room because we were attending a wedding here. It is a lovely hotel, beautifully decorated and very clean. We stayed in an exectuive room.

Unfortunately our room was very cold and dark, we had the heating on full during in the night and were cuddled up, but were still freezing.

The staff weren't very helpful before arrival we told them we were with the wedding party and they said check in was 3pm, we thought ok fair enough. We then received an email saying we could check in early, because we were part of the bridal party, but only if we rang the hotel. Which we received about 5pm the day before the wedding, by which point we were getting all our stuff together, and only saw it after the wedding, they did have my telephone number so could have rung me? We arrived on a rainy day, explained we'd booked a room and were part of the wedding party, we were told come back later, no offer of please feel free to take a seat in the bar as its raining. Luckily we could sit in the car! When we went back later they were pleasant when it was time to take money and give me keys.

It is a beautiful hotel, with beautiful grounds, just unfortunately we received customer service that wasn't as good you would hope for a Tomahawk, £90 a night (without breakfast) room. Nice but a little disapointed with the service we received, as a wedding venue though it was superb, ran to time, lots of space and good food. Brilliant wedding!

Room Tip: Ask for exactly what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LottieR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some important feedback regarding your recent stay at Aston Hall. Even though I am happy to read you had an overall enjoyable stay, I am sorry to read that on this occasion we did not meet with your expectations.
Our executive rooms are all fitted with two heating systems. Instructions on how to operate them are available in the hotel directory (placed in every room) and our staff on duty are all trained to provide instructions and assistance if required.
Our check in time is at 3pm, and even though we try to get the rooms ready before that time, it is not always possible. If the room was used the night prior, we have to ensure our high standards of cleanliness are in place for every guest.
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced, and we hope this will not deter you from staying at Aston Hall again in the future.

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Had a meal here with my fiance and it was probably the best food we've ever had! Everything was cooked really well and nicely presented, even something as simple as steak and chips looked and tasted amazing. Service really good too - all staff really friendly and professional. Prices of some things may look a bit on the bigh side but it is well worth it. We can't wait now to get married here next year - the buildings, rooms and grounds are really nice too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam_Dave_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback regarding your recent meal at Aston Hall. We are delighted you and your fiancé had a pleasant and tasty meal and we are confident your wedding day here will be a success.
We wish you all the best with the planning of your very special day!

Regards,
Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed in the Jazz room, what a room, the food was lovely, the staff could not do enough to ensure we had a lovely stay. The wedding was beautiful and went off without a hitch. All set in beautiful grounds. Would recommend this as a hotel and a wedding venue.

Room Tip: The Jazz was stunning, with a beautiful bath in the room, unusual, but a good talking point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajsharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent experience at Aston Hall! We are happy to be able to contribute to good memories from such an important occasion!

Regards,

Raquel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We chose Aston Hall as our wedding location...it was perfect, amazing, wonderful and everything we could have ever ever asked for. The food was outstanding, full of flavour. The service was outstanding. Everyone was lovely and would do anything to help and any time.
We had an amazing wedding and would suggest to anyone to get married there, it is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel
9.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
8.7 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Hellaby Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hellaby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
7.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
Address: Worksop Road | Aston, Sheffield S26 2EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#2 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1772 and steeped in history, BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel has been lovingly restored and updated with a cool, contemporary design which is high in style but has kept all the original features very much intact to become the luxury hotel in Sheffield. Surrounded by 55 acres of gardens and meadowland, the setting is stunning and makes a luxury, urban retreat.There are 52 super stylish bedrooms and suites, the ever popular Bamford Restaurant and the delectable Volante Bar and Lounge. Aston Hall is located outside Sheffield, only minutes from junction 31 of the M1 and right on the doorstep of the beautiful Peak District. BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall facilities include a luxury house in the grounds containing six suites, which is available for exclusive use. There is also a ”State of the Art Gym” and various outdoor corporate activities can be pre booked for conferences. The hotel has several light airy meeting rooms and a banqueting suite, ideal for corporate customers looking for conference facilities in Sheffield and the beautiful interiors and picturesque grounds make it the perfect wedding venue for Sheffield, Rotherham and South Yorkshire. There is ample complimentary parking within the Aston Hall Hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Sheffield
Sheffield Aston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing