We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind and hospitable family business”
Review of Ivory House Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ivory House Hotel
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Kind and hospitable family business”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Not far from the town center (20 min walk). Good location in a quaiet street. Nice and wide rooms. Clean. Advisable for short stay and for long stay as well. The owner, Ms Sally, is a really nice person.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StakanovStakanova1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2011

In between homes in Sheffield for three weeks, I was looking for a place that was quiet, comfortable, friendly, and relatively cheap. The Ivory House Hotel was all these things, and more. Sally, the owner, was the perfect hostess: there when you needed her, good to talk with, lovely company. And she cooked the perfect English breakfast: tasty, satisfying, but not over the top! The hotel itself was attractive, without being off-puttingly smart. The bedooom was comfortable, and both it and the excellent bath/shower room were perfectly looked after. The Ivory House is attractive without being off-puttingly smart. It's well-placed for getting into town - or out, if you want. In short, I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2011

For business reasons I stayed at this hotel during the week for almost a year and can say that my stay was comfortable free from any diffiulties or problems. The hotel is run by the owners who were always helpful and friendly. The location was convenient with on site parking and local services. I have recommended this hotel to others already and have no hesitation in doing so.

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I stayed in Sheffield for about a week for an interview and I loved my stay at the Ivory House Hotel. Sally, the owner, was an absolute doll! She was kind, friendly, and very helpful. I happened to be there for the World Cup and she suggested a great Spanish bar to eat at while watching the match. I would recommend this place to anyone and if I get to return, you can bet I am staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgallo327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel as we were at a wedding in Sheffield. It provided everything we needed: a spacious and clean room, car parking, comfortable beds, a good breakfast and helpful and friendly staff. We found the hotel to be very good value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheffieldSal, Owner at Ivory House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad you had a comfortable stay. The interview went well, you were accepted for the job, congratulations

regards

Sally (proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We spent two nigths at the Ivory House Hotel. We were very kindly welcomed bij Mrs. Sally. The room was well equiped and very clean. The shared bathroom also. The beds are of good quality. We enjoyed the excellent full English breakfast. The hotel is about 20 minutes walking from the centre of Sheffield. In the neighbourhood are plenty of restaurants.
The price of the hotel is very suitable to the accommodation.

Carla and Theo van Leeuwen,
The Netherlands

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wodde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2010

i work in sheffield from time to time i has been in meny hotels but this one is the best choice i ever did .in total i dis spend about 8 week soo far in this hotel and i dont think is any better place for money and atmosfer in sheffield then ivory hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrixsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
The Briary
The Briary
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
26 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivory House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivory House Hotel

Property: Ivory House Hotel
Address: 34 Wolstenholm Road | Nether Edge, Sheffield S7 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ivory Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing