We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service was brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alara Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The room and facilities were basic but adequate. What I loved about it was the friendly welcome and the ladies who cooked and served breakfast. They were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Avoid this if you have any difficulty with stairs. Despite our room facing the street, it was surpri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickie-no-drawers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

I've stayed here twice for work purposes. I wanted somewhere cheap and basic to lay my head. I now wish I'd paid a little more. There are much better places for similar prices. This hotel has horribly steep stairs, old decor, one of the rooms I stayed in had mis-matched wall paper with damp on it. The TV didn't work properly and the bed was uncomfortable. If this really is the option as a hotel, I'd advise you to spend as little time in it as possible. To be fair to the staff, they are very friendly, but I can't help but feeling this place should be featured on an edition of "The Hotel Inspector" on TV.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LloydieJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I stayed here for one night,and to be honest cannot find fault.the host was very freindly and welcoming,the room was nice and clean with lcd tv,a wash basin,tea and coffee making facilities,ample storage for clothing etc and secure car parking.i found the alara on late rooms,and decided to call to check the location as i was travelling to sheffeild from st helens to bring my daughter home from sheffeild uni for christmas,and wanted to check how near it was to her student apartment(about 5 mins drive)and found that it was slightly cheaper to book over the phone than on the website! i found the full english very satifying,and overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed here for 1 night while we went drinking in the Wicker area then to a gig after. the welcome was extremely warm and efficient, the owner very helpful & friendly.

the whole place is clean & in good order, the breakfast was very nice, although I personally prefer butter to healthy sunflower stuff. ;)

Our room wasn't en suite and the clean toilets & showers were one floor down. No problem for a sprightly young fella like me ir my even younger girlfriend but if you're elderly or lazy or ill you'll struggle with the stairs as they are very steep.

Overall excellent. I'll definitely be back. You even get a map of Sheffield and free wireless.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PistonLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have to be fair and can't give this an average despite the courteousness and approachability of management. I spent a weekend there on the second floor. The stairs are so steep they were the next best thing to a ladder I can think of. The decor is tired and worn and I had to share toilet and shower facilities on another floor. I could not connect to the internet despite given the access code, the link was too low. Good points are a full english breakfast thrown in. Parking facilities and a 5 minute walk to the tram station. I cant say enough for the friendliness of management and the hours they put in to make things run. I paid £45 per night. If I go back it will be to see the management in the hope they have improved the decor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Alara and agree 100% with the post written by johnson072 (I too stayed at a Premier Inn 6 weeks previously) but will choose and recommend Alara in the future. The management and staff are all friendly, courteous and approachable, nothing was too much trouble for them, they made time in their hectic schedules to chat, assisting me in navigating my way around Sheffield and ensuring I had everything I needed during my stay. I did feel it was like home from home, something I miss when staying in large, multi-national, clinical, no character hotel. There are not many places you visit, when you arrive after getting lost for half an hour, you are taken into their own kitchen and made a cup of coffee to de-stress!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondeBimboSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Friendly polite service room was above standard and the food was excellent, recently stayed at a premier inn and will be going back to the alara instead next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnson072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
11.0 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Don Valley Hotel
The Don Valley Hotel
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,311 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alara Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alara Bed and Breakfast

Address: 981-987 Penistone Road | Hillsborough, Sheffield S6 2DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: £44 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alara Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALARA B&B has been successfully running for the last eight years and we would like to extend our homely welcome to you. ALARA is a family run bed & breakfast that is nestled on the A61 North also known as Penistone Road between the Sheffield Wednesday Football Stadium and the Hillsborough park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Alara Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alara b&b
Alara Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing