We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Halifax Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halifax Hall
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were welcomed warmly at Reception and quickly shown to our room where everything was explained to us efficiently. The bathroom and shower were very large but the bedroom was a little on the small side and the lack of a mirror in the bedroom was inconvenient, also the room was very warm. Our dinner in the restaurant was enjoyable and all the staff were extremely pleasant and professional, they worked very hard as there was a large party in. Breakfast was good and again the staff were helpful and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 729Chrissie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear 729Chrissie21,

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of having mirrors made for all rooms so hopefully the next time you visit they will be in place!! Hope you have had a lovely weekend, ad we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    212
    72
    25
    11
See reviews for
172
307
31
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Online booking was dealt with very efficiently by Rebecca who (when asked) ensured that we would be catered for as vegetarians. Jamie checked us in on arrival, everything handled extremely well,we were shown to our room and a quick overview of all the necessary services. All the staff were extremely polite, efficient and courteous, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Our evening meal was delicious and nicely presented. Breakfast was very good too - nice to have the food cooked freshly for you. We had no issues being so close to the University - we had a really good nights sleep. The hotel is very close to the Botanical gardens, a lovely green area - in fact we walked into the city centre from there, as it was such a nice day. I would definitely use Halifax Hall again. The room was perhaps a little small but beautifully decorated and immaculately clean, so the size really wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper avoid room 101 as we did hear the staff in the grounds having a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear karen56Durham,

Lovely review thank you very much. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Sheffield.

Kind regards,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I found halifax hall hotel by just searching cheap hotels in sheffield. What a find it was. Was a bit sceptical as it said it was located next to university halls of residence, but university must of changed since i was there as we barely heard them make a noise :-).

When we arrived we were checked in quickly and Rebecca checked us in and promptly showed us up to the room.

Room was very nice, a little small but very comfortable. The only bad point about the room is that it got very hot at night but nothing that the opening of a window couldnt solve.

Breakfast was very good. Quality of the cooked breakfast was good. Staff were very helpful especially as we have a young baby and needed water for bottles a lot but they didnt even hesitate to help.

I would stay again next time im in sheffield for sure but next time would request a ground floor room as there is no lift in the hotel.

Jamie at reception was very friendly and always happy to help. He really is a credit to your hotel. Very smiley. :-)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackcalow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Jackcalow,

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you found us (randomly) and thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Ill pass on your kind words to Jamie and Rebecca.

We hope to see you the next time you are in Sheffield.

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We chose Halifax Hall because of its proximity to the Royal Hallamshire Hospital, where my husband had an appointment, and because of the glowing reports on trip advisor. Our reservation was handled quickly and efficiently by Rebecca, followed by an e-mail confirmation with a map and instructions how to get there. We arrived in a thunderstorm with torrential rain. Jamie, from reception, came out with an umbrella to help my disabled husband, and got absolutely soaked. He was marvellous. I confirm everyone's positive comments. All the staff were so pleasant, helpful and immaculate. The room (for disabled) was excellent with a large bathroom, free WiFi, and the evening meal and breakfast were superb, with very good service. We look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolihullMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear SolihullMaggie,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to read such positive feedback from our guests! I concur with regards to the staff - we're very lucky to have a very helpful, friendly bunch! I'll pass on your kind review especially to Jamie and Rebecca.

Hopefully see you again soon,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had the middleton suite which had lovely decor and was spotlessly clean, the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was one of the best i've ever had. The breakfast was lovely and was enhanced by the view of the gardens and the wild rabbits hopping around. Handy location for hunters bar area of sheffield which has many good restaurants and bars and only 10 minutes in a taxi to the centre of sheffield. Incredibly quiet and peaceful, would definatly recommend. Not that it affected our stay but to be noted the television in the suite was located in the lounge area and so not viewable from the bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starkeyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear starkeyl,

Thank you so much for your kind review. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at Halifax Hall and we have no doubt that we will be returning.
On arrival we were shown to our room by the young lady receptionist who also pointed out the rest of the facilities as we passed. Our room was well furnished and comfortable with a large en suite shower/bathroom. The room was very quiet due to the well insulated walls and the bed extremely comfortable.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent, the prices reasonable, and the service was attentive and friendly. Breakfast the next morning was to the same high standard.Draft saved at 9:51.
What sort of trip was this?
What sort of trip was this?
Business
Business
Couples
Couples
Family
Family
Friends
Friends
Solo
Solo

From our arrival to us leaving the staff proved to be friendly and professional and made our brief stay a memorable one. If we need to stay in a hotel in that area again Halifax Hall will be our first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear GThompson,

Thank you for your great review. It's always a pleasure to read such reviews. We definitely hope to see you the next time you are in Sheffield.

Kind regards,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Arrived early at the Hotel on a miserable and wet Friday afternoon. Unfortunately our room was not ready, as the previous occupants had taken a late check-out but we were told of this immediately and asked if we would like a tea/coffee whilst we waited (we were an hour early than check-in time anyway) but we had planned to go into Sheffield City Centre anyhow. On our arrival back at the hotel late afternoon we were taken to our room. When we got there we had been put in a Suite. The room was lovely and clean, the bathroom was lovely and clean and it was such a pleasant stay. The little extras like the bathrobes, slippers, bottled water and the drinks machine were fantastic. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was really good. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Slept like a baby that night, the bedding is 100% cotton and not your normal hotel bedding. Breakfast was propably my least favourite if I am honest. Food was good but no tea/coffee pots on individual tables and my poached egg was hard boiled. This stay was booked as a Groupon offer and I must stress that not once did it feel like it - everything was perfect. We will definately be going back.. .

Room Tip: If you are after a bit more space opt for a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeny31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear greeny31,

What a review thank you! Sorry to hear breakfast wasn't as great as your dinner experience but please know I take all trip advisor comments very seriously so will look at our existing practices.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,003 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hall

Property: Halifax Hall
Address: Endcliffe Vale Road, Sheffield S10 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence for more than 80 years, Halifax Hall has been transformed into a beautiful 38 bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Sheffield. Ideal for conferences, meetings, events, weddings, parties and celebrations, as well as short stays and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Halifax Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing