We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Touch of Elegance”
Review of Halifax Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halifax Hall
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Upon our arrival to Halifax Hall, we were warmly greeted by staff who were attractively attired in suit and tie, and who also carried our luggage upstairs.. We were advised that our accommodations had been upgraded to the Johnson Suite. It is a lovely room with tasteful decor, very clean and comfortable with a spacious bathroom that includes a walk-in shower as well as a claw footed bath tub. At breakfast, the staff continued to give us the royal treatment with their attention to detail and courteous manners. Thank you for making us feel special. - Carol and Doug

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationcarolanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear vacationcarolanddoug,

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our suites, the extra space they provide can make all the difference. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Sheffield.

Best wishes,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

fantastic hotel can not praise it highly enough. Friendly staff spotlessly clean . Great location .I would definitely recommend .
we went on a groupon deal and would go again .The food was very good ,well presented and the service was excellent .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Julie S,

Wonderful review thank you!! So glad to read you enjoyed your groupon deal stay with us! Please visit us again sometime!

Kind regards,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is located in a very pleasant, leafy area of Sheffield, but an easy drive to the city centre, countryside, university, and several hospitals. It used to be a women's residence for the university, and is surrounded by modern residences, but was originally built as a private mansion by a Sheffield industrialist, and is a listed building. The staff are very friendly and helpful; the breakfast is terrific; the gardens are beautiful and peaceful, with rabbits and a fox sighted. The rooms are extremely comfortable, though a little small. The bathrooms are modern and the shower was good. There are no bathtubs, for those who care - though it's possible they have a few rooms with tubs. There was a great coffee machine for each floor, with house-made biscuits every day.

We had dinner there once, and the food was very good. The menu didn't change over the 5 days that we were there, but there are many restaurants within a short drive.

There was enough parking, though returning late at night over Easter weekend we had to park a short walk from the hotel - though still within the grounds. It might be a problematic issue for people with mobility issues, as there are steps up to the hotel. I have a feeling that the helpful staff would solve the problem!

I thought the hotel was excellent value for money, especially in comparison with other city hotels. I am sure we will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, make this clear at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkiegirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Yorkiegirl48,

What a lovely review - thank you! All our staff would be more than happy to assist with luggage and we have disabled access around the hotel to ensure comfortable arrivals for all our guests. Great to read you enjoyed dinner with us. We do have a limited number of rooms with a bath tub - they go quite quickly so be sure to request if you visit us again!!

Best wishes,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Halifax Hall, but encountered rather too many issues.
1. Bedroom. The bed was very comfy and the room tastefully decorated. However, it was very small. There is only just enough floor space to walk around the bed (as long as you have closed the wardrobe door), and two people could not comfortably get dressed or undressed at the same time. The room got very warm at night - we had to open the window to make the room comfortable (but see below)
2. Coffee machines. There is a coffee machine on every floor. This sounds like a good idea. It isn't - at least not if the machine is outside your door (Room 208). On our first night, we were woken by some people getting a late coffee and then chatting by the machine. At 4:00am, someone else wanted a drink - following which the machine started it's automatic self cleaning routine. Then, from 6:30ish, people started getting their early morning drinks. It was so bad, we asked to move rooms. When we returned in the early afternoon, all our things had been moved to a different room. The new room (212) overlooked the hotel heating and ventilation system. At night we had to choose between window closed (hot) or window open (noisy). I would have preferred to have been given the choice and would probably have taken a chance with the coffee machine rather than move to a room that was no better than the original. The machines make very good coffee, but, please, move the coffee machines downstairs and put kettles in the rooms.
3. Breakfast. The first issue is that the menu has prices on it. This caused me to wonder whether the rate included breakfast. Neither my booking confirmation nor the website could clarify (very poor), so I had to ask at reception. I am pleased to confirm that breakfast is included. I was not the only one confused, as I heard another guest ask the same question.
The cooked breakfast is excellent. It is nice to stay in a hotel where your order is taken at the table. However, we had several instances of being brought someone elses breakfast. It is as if the waiters don't know which table to go to and just wander around until someone claims the breakfast.
The cold buffet is very poor. We stayed 5 nights and never saw any 'home made honey roasted, maple syrup granola' (just a choice of cornflakes, weetabix or bran flakes) or 'our special home-made cheese and mustard rolls' (just sliced brown and white bread) and 'Platters of local cheeses and local ham' consisted of one block of cheddar and a few slices of ham that looked and tasted like mid-range supermarket products.
By now, you are probably thinking that I didn't like the hotel. You'd be wrong - I liked it and was disappointed to encounter so many issues so I genuinely hope that my feedback will be used to improve the hotel. We will, no doubt, travel to Sheffield again and will return to Halifax Hall.
It offers excellent value for money. Former students of Sheffield University can stay in a double room for £70 per night, which is a very good price.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
Summary. I have no idea what a 'boutique' hotel is, but if you are expecting a luxury hotel with top-notch service that runs like clockwork, you will be disappointed. If you are expecting a good value, budget hotel with some nice touches, you will be very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all our guest feedback and use all suggestions to ensure we are providing our guests the best possible experience in our hotel.

Our bedrooms have been built in existing halls in the older part of the hotel which used to be girls student accommodation for around 50 years, therefore all room sizes do vary slightly. For anyone wishing to have extra space we always suggest a suite which gives you an additional living space in the room. We understand the rooms do get warmer as we come into summer, but we have worked with our ‘sleep geek’ to provide our guests with sleeping aids which will help you get the best night’s sleep whilst with us, and these include cooling aids for the beds.
Before opening the hotel we worked hard to make sure we had a product that all guests would enjoy. This includes the best hot drink options to our guests. For anyone not wishing to make use of our premium bean to cup coffee offering, we are more than happy to put a tea tray in the guest’s room.

On speaking with staff it is apparent you were made aware of the room move (as requested) and staff offered to move your items for you to minimise any further disturbance to yourselves.

All of our room rates include breakfast, and this is stated in your confirmation email. Room rates also include wifi and parking whilst with us. We leave prices on our menus as we often have outside guests come to join us for breakfast that are not staying in the hotel. I can only apologise that you didn’t get to enjoy our home made granola. Our staff would have been more than happy to bring you a bowl if they had been aware that there was none left out. I can also assure you that we use local suppliers in our kitchen wherever possible, including for our cheeses and hams.

Have a wonderful day,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the recent bank holiday weekend. We drove to the hotel without issue and parked as close as we could. Although there is some parking none is right outside the hotel entrance which may be a problem for anyone with mobility difficulties however given how responsive all the staff were to our requests I'm certain help would be provided with luggage if required. There are a number of steps up to the hotel itself and there is no lift so be aware when booking.
We were personally shown to our room and given an explanation of room/TV functions and shown the impressive tea/coffee/hot chocolate making equipment on the corridor. For the coffee lover this is a real benefit.
The double room was small and although OK for a night or two any longer would be claustrophobic. Bed was comfortable and bedding first rate., TV was good decor was smart and new. There is Wifi and a desk to work from. There was one desk chair but nowhere in the room for us both to sit.Rom was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was large with a good shower and good quality towels.
All the staff members we encountered were excellent. Very helpful and attentive.
Breakfast was better than average where with your order taken at the table it gave the impression that items were cooked to order. The continental section was however a bit sparse (no pastries etc on display however they may have been available if asked for)
Grounds are pleasant and although students do encroach this was not off putting.
We both slept well and did not hear sounds from other rooms which is often a problem in some hotels.
We did however hear the heavy clunk of bedroom doors closing as the automatic closures appear very heavy duty. Yes I know bedroom doors have to 'self close' however hotel designers need to ensure the noise and vibration does not wake up sleeping guests.
We walked to the botanical gardens and could have easily walked to the restaurants/bars and pubs on the main drag.
All in all a good hotel, with free parking and in a good location on par with the Copthorne which used to be our preferred Sheffield Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and would request this flor again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear KevanEastYorkshire,

Thank you for your review. Always great to hear back from our guests and we appreciate all suggestions for our new hotel. Please know we do have disabled parking spaces where guests do not have to use the stairs to get to us from the car park, and as you said we would be more than happy to assist with any luggage from your car to your room.
All breakfasts are cooked to order to ensure fresh servings to all and I have mentioned your suggestions regarding the continental selection to our chef.

We hope you think of us the next time you are in Sheffield, we always love to see returning guests!

Best wishes,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were welcomed warmly at Reception and quickly shown to our room where everything was explained to us efficiently. The bathroom and shower were very large but the bedroom was a little on the small side and the lack of a mirror in the bedroom was inconvenient, also the room was very warm. Our dinner in the restaurant was enjoyable and all the staff were extremely pleasant and professional, they worked very hard as there was a large party in. Breakfast was good and again the staff were helpful and efficient. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 729Chrissie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear 729Chrissie21,

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of having mirrors made for all rooms so hopefully the next time you visit they will be in place!! Hope you have had a lovely weekend, ad we hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Online booking was dealt with very efficiently by Rebecca who (when asked) ensured that we would be catered for as vegetarians. Jamie checked us in on arrival, everything handled extremely well,we were shown to our room and a quick overview of all the necessary services. All the staff were extremely polite, efficient and courteous, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Our evening meal was delicious and nicely presented. Breakfast was very good too - nice to have the food cooked freshly for you. We had no issues being so close to the University - we had a really good nights sleep. The hotel is very close to the Botanical gardens, a lovely green area - in fact we walked into the city centre from there, as it was such a nice day. I would definitely use Halifax Hall again. The room was perhaps a little small but beautifully decorated and immaculately clean, so the size really wasn't an issue.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper avoid room 101 as we did hear the staff in the grounds having a smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear karen56Durham,

Lovely review thank you very much. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Sheffield.

Kind regards,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,067 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
6.9 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#20 of 53 in Sheffield
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hall

Address: Endcliffe Vale Road, Sheffield S10 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £65 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence for more than 80 years, Halifax Hall has been transformed into a beautiful 38 bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Sheffield. Ideal for conferences, meetings, events, weddings, parties and celebrations, as well as short stays and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Halifax Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing