We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Weekend Break”
Review of Halifax Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halifax Hall
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just spent a weekend at this hotel to go walking in the Peak District. As the previous reviewer has said, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who are all relatively young. We were also shown to our room, and asked if we needed help with our bags by a very friendly receptionist. The room was clean if a little compact, the bathroom was lovely and large, with huge fluffy white towels, and the shower cubicle was also spacious. We were happy with the coffee machine in the corridor. It had run out of milk, as another reviewer said, but a phone call to reception resulted in 2 cups of latte being brought to our room by the receptionist with a plate of home made biscuits. Later on, we were told that there was a problem with some coffee machines, but that a call to reception would result in any drinks being brought to our room, even a morning cup of tea. Perhaps the previous reviewer who was disappointed should have spoken to someone about it, rather than moan on this forum about it. The comment about the waitress in the restaurant being rude is also very harsh and unfair. This also happened to us, plates being removed a little prematurely, but I would put this down to over enthusiasm, and a will to please rather than rudeness, which it was certainly not. The dinner was a little disappointing, but that comment was noted by the very efficient staff, and a remedy and an explanation was given,which we were more than happy with. The breakfast was good, and again the staff, were very attentive and obliging. Again it is unfair to complain, that they rushed any customers. A request to give us a few more minutes to read the menu, and make a choice was not a problem. All in all a lovely weekend, and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MouseEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear MouseEastAnglia,

Thank you for your very lovely, helpful review. I appreciate all reviews and it’s great to read guests comments who genuinely write in hopes that a hotel will take them and use them to improve their service. We look forward to your arrival again soon,

Best wishes,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a difficult time finding The Halifax Hall Hotel as we got lost in the maze of "the edge".On arrival the front desk staff were wonderful,helping with our luggage and showing us to our room.
Our room was comfortable,modern and very clean with a large walk-in shower.....perfect ! The drinks machine in the hallway was well stocked with fresh milk,coffee,tea,biscotti and fruit a nice change from the usual packets in most hotel rooms. Breakfast was freshly cooked with plenty of choice of juices,yogurts, fresh fruit and breads. We were there over a busy weekend but the service and attentive staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Enter Endcliffe Vale Road from Brocco Bank you will then clearly see the brown Hotel signs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Judy D,

Thank you for your great review! I'm glad you enjoyed our coffee offering and found there to be ample choice on breakfast. Please think of us the next time you are in Sheffield!!

Kind Regards,

Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at this hotel. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble and, considering the staff seemed very young, they were very professional. We were asked if we wanted our bags carrying to the room then were shown into the room by a very friendly young lady. The room was very clean and the bathroom was amazing. It was large with a beautiful waterfall shower. We were more than satisfied with the drinks provider, which is in the corridor. It had a wide choice of drinks with either biscotti or fruit. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal, which was fresh and delicious. Josey looked after us very well and ensured the evening was enjoyable. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was amazing with a choice of cooked and buffet food. The service was very efficient for the cooked food and the buffet was plentiful with a fabulous choice. Thank you to you all for a fabulous stay. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Lorraine L,

Thank you for your lovely review, it makes my day to read we really pleased our guests. We hope you think of us the next time you are in Sheffield.

Best wishes,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Staff were friendly and showed you to your room. However bathroom floor was filthy and shower was ice cold. Evening meal was awful and waiting staff couldn't wait to take you plate before you'd even swallowed your last mouthful and my husband was still eating which I found really rude. Coffee machine was in hallway and had run out of milk. Wouldn't recommend it and certainly wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Susan O,

What a review. I do hate to read that any of guests have a less than happy experience with us, however after speaking with management that were on shift during you stay, it seems that all efforts were made to correct our mistakes so I'm sorry to read you were still not happy with our service.

Have a lovely day,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked to visit partners son at Sheffield Uni - didn't realise it backs on to Halls of Residence so very conveniently placed. Used to be the old 'girls only' Halls - now transformed to boutique hotel. Rooms are not large but the bathroom huge and very luxurious with amazing shower. Very friendly and attentive staff and extensive breakfast selection. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jowhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Jowhitty,

Lovely review, thank you very much! We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting!

Kind regards,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Halifax Hall from 18th May for 5 nights, we had a lovely stay our room, the Johnson Suite, named after Amy Johnson, the first female pilot, who apparently was at the Univeristy and stayed in what were then the Female Halls of Residence, this just a bit of history.

The room was lovely, nice big walk in shower, roll top bath, big bed and lots of storage space plus a settee to watch the TV from if you wished, it overlooked the garden and terrace, and it was nice to watch the rabbits running around while getting ready for breakfast, this too was exceptional, i had a different meal each morning, while my Husband had the full Yorkshire. Margarita who served us was very friendly and efficient, sorry we missed her on our last morning to say bye and thank you.

We only had dinner on the first night, which was a late Sunday Lunch, Stuart the Duty Manager made us feel very welcome and even laid out a proper laid table for us on the terrace to enable us to make the most of the evening sunshine, very kind of him.

Everyone we spoke to over the days we were staying were friendly, and we were always greeted with a smile and a hello, for such a young group of people who run the hotel we found this very refreshing. Also as other people have mentioned the coffee machines are a nice touch saved all the messing around in the rooms making hot drinks. The rooms and the general areas were kept very clean and tidy.

Being on campus was good as well, it was good to see the students going about their business, and on the warm afternoons doing their studies in the gardens.

Halifax hall is only about a ten minute walk from the Hunters Bar area, where there are lots of bars and Restuarents, we had a few drinks in the newly opened Pointers Dog, and the Porter Brook Pub, which were both very lively.

All in all a great stay, and if we are ever in the Sheffield area again we will definitly stay there again.

Sandra and Brian Austin

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoopsLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear ScoopsLeighonSea,

Thankyou for your great review. We loved having you in the hotel and hope to see you again the next time you are in Sheffield. I have passed on your kind words particularly to Margarita and Stuart.

Have a lovely day,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just returned from four nights here, the food is nice the staff are pleasant especially Aaron who we saw most days in the restaurant or reception, one issue with a fire door banging outside our room that was sorted during the day when we were out.
Locally good for Ecclesall road restaurants or 10 mins into city centre.
Would recommend to our friends and if back that way will stay there again :)

Room Tip: Oops there was no pool or fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear michele P,

Thank you for your lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Sheffield!

Best wishes,
Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 53 in Sheffield
1,048 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hall

Address: Endcliffe Vale Road, Sheffield S10 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £64 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence for more than 80 years, Halifax Hall has been transformed into a beautiful 38 bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Sheffield. Ideal for conferences, meetings, events, weddings, parties and celebrations, as well as short stays and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Halifax Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing