We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halifax Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Halifax Hall
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Very impressed with this lovely boutique hotel. Excellent customer service, with friendly, helpful staff.
Guests for 4 nights, during first time staying in Sheffield.
Room - although compact - had a great ensuite, breakfasts were first rate and evening dinner didn't disappoint.
Within a short walking distance of Botanical Gardens which are well worth visiting.
Once you get the hang of the bus routes, the hotel , while well out from the city centre,is accessible if you dont mind a bit of walking in an attractive part of Sheffield.
Would definately recommend Halifax Hall & hope to stay there again.

Room Tip: Stayed on ground floor & found it very quiet, with no disturbances - apart from a series of unex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJN168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear KJN168,

What a lovely review of our hotel thank you. Customer service is a priority for us so I’m always happy to read when we really provide the best to all our guests. I hope you enjoyed your first time in Sheffield, and if you are ever back in the steel city please think of us!

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    190
    60
    22
    11
See reviews for
154
281
27
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire lass!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent Friday and Saturday night at Halifax Hall after my husband booked it online. On arrival the receptionist was very helpful and took us to our room. Halifax Hall can be difficult to find as it is in the grounds of some of Hallamshire Unis grounds, there is a large sign for the Hotel, you just have to look out for it! Our room was very nice, simple decor in neutral colours with a flat screen tv and complimentary bottle of water.The bathroom was large and modern with a lovely large, clean shower! There was a coffee station outside our room with various coffees and cookies and fruit..All free!!. We enjoyed the cooked breakfast and buffet style too...there was plenty of choice and it was delicious! The restaurant serves food but we ate out..see my review of the Indian restaurant (Masala I think)..My husband had a cider at the hotel and it was not overpriced. Would definitely stay there again..Lovely!!!

Room Tip: We were in room 107 which overlooked the garden,,i think most of the rooms do anyway. we were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redhair!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Redhair!

Thank you for your review. We are located on Sheffield University Halls property but as you said very well sign posted and we send out directions with confirmation emails prior to all of our arrivals to ensure a (hopefully) smooth arrival to our hotel. It’s a shame you didn’t stay for dinner with us but you got to sample our breakfasts and as you said home made cookies which I’m glad to read you enjoyed!

We hope the next time you are in Sheffield you think of us.
Kind regards,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary and what a fab place it is. A great welcome from Jamie on reception (so helpful and down to earth) who showed us to our room - the bedroom area is small but has everything you need and is finished to a very high standard. The bathroom was huge and featured a lovely free standing bath and large walk in shower. The rose petals and swan towels scattered around were a lovely touch. The refreshment stations on each floor are a great idea and much better quality than the usual sachets you get. Fresh tea, coffee, hot chocolate and a variety of fruit and cookies were available free of charge. We went out to dinner but sampled the breakfast the next morning which was lovely. The menu had a great variety and I particularly liked that you could pick and choose the items on a full english!! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff we encountered - all very friendly and eager to please. Great location - 10 minute walk to Ecclesall Road with a huge variety of bars and restaurants, 10 minutes in a taxi to the city centre, 5 minutes from Endcliffe Park. Ignore the negative feedback about the university halls - if you read about the history of the place you'll understand the surroundings and it caused us no issues at all. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Good Morning Rochky81. Thank you for your great review of our hotel and our service.
First of all, Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend it with us at Halifax Hall! I’ll pass on particularly to Jamie your kind words. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we offer. We love our premium coffee offering so I’m happy to read you enjoyed it too. We like to think that particularly due to where we are based, all of our guests really can relax and enjoy their time with us without the worry of noise and disturbance from busier town centre roads, but as you said within walking distance to some of Sheffield’s great night life.

Hopefully see you again soon,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Gorgeous part of Sheffield, extremely quiet out of term time.
Staff were exceptionally friendly, so helpful and ready to help with anything, including take out sandwiches for breakfast when we left at 4.30am to go watch the Tour de France!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear helen t,

Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope you enjoyed your day watching Tour De France! I'm happy our staff were able to assist with early morning breakfast sandwiches.

We hope to see you again soon,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tickhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a one night stay at this hotel last week and were very impressed. The rooms are very clean with modern fittings. The evening meal and breakfast were superb and the staff provided the best service we have had in a hotel, they were all keen to please and nothing was too much trouble. No complaints at all and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMartin1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Front Office Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear BillMartin1912,

Thank you for your lovely review. It's an absolute pleasure to read comments like yours, particularly about our staff and the service they provide. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Overnight stop while collecting son from university this weekend . Super room with everything you need .Spoilt for choice at breakfast settled for the buffet which was Friendly helpful staff highly recommend it

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Rosie L,

Thank you for a lovely review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your night with us, particularly breakfast - I recommend the pancakes the next time you visit!!

We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

After visiting a few times for Sunday lunch when an offer came up we decided to book into the hotel for DBB, although we did get a few comments from family and friends as we are locals and live less than 5 mins walk from the hotel. We were not disappointed and we felt we had gone away to a lovely hotel. They bedrooms are of a very high standard, although remembering this was a female hall of residence the rooms are not large. The bathroom was lovely. Evening in the very busy bar and lovely restaurant was good, perhaps our only reservation is we are a little fed up with the same overcooked roasted root vegetables. Breakfast was excellent the bacon and sausages of a very high standard and it was very busy. We would recommend the hotel and will definitely go on our long journey again to visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalifaxHall, Guest Relations Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear LynMichael,

Thank you for your lovely review. We love our neighbours visiting us whether for dinner or an overnight stay. I'm sorry to hear about the vegetables, Ill make sure I pass it onto our Chefs who work hard to ensure an enjoyable menu.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Laura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
5.5 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
1.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halifax Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halifax Hall

Property: Halifax Hall
Address: Endcliffe Vale Road, Sheffield S10 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a Victorian steel baron’s mansion and subsequently a University hall of residence for more than 80 years, Halifax Hall has been transformed into a beautiful 38 bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Sheffield. Ideal for conferences, meetings, events, weddings, parties and celebrations, as well as short stays and leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com and Odigeo so you can book your Halifax Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing