We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Leopold Hotel(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Sheffield Centre(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (837)
Filter reviews
837 results
Traveller rating
464
245
85
28
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
245
85
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalls of residencehomemade cookiescoffee machinestudent villagemusic roomstudent hallsuniversity campusbotanical gardensstudent accommodationroll top bathcold buffetno liftecclesall roadlarge bathroomhot drinkscooked breakfastlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 837 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice enough room, clean and tidy with a comfortable bed, flat screen tv, small safe, iron and ironing board and roomy en-suite with shower. Free Carparking on-site. Ideal for an overnight stay if you've got business at the University

Wardrobe rather small with most of the hanging space taken up with a ironing board and iron. Small safe, enough for a wallet, passport, mobile phone etc but not an iPad or even a Kindle let alone a laptop.

Water pressure in the shower was poor, just finished lathering up when the rainforest shower head reduced to a mere trickle - probably too many people showering at 7:30am?

Nothing to do in the evening as the public areas not very attractive with a small partially staffed bar and a somewhat soulless lobby area. Take a book if you're on your own and don't want to make a journey into the city? No in-room tea/coffee facilities although there are free vending facilities on each floor.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kpjwboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprilthompson635, Deputy General Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kpjwboro

Thank you for your review, our team really appreciate that you have taken the time to provide feedback following your stay.

We are happy to hear that you felt that our rooms are comfortable. Thank you for your feedback in relation to our wardrobe and safe, our management team will have a look into this.

We are sorry to hear about the water pressure during your stay, I will discuss this with our maintenance team.

It's a shame that our public areas felt soulless. Again, we will discuss this with our management team, I am sure we can liven the areas up and make them feel more welcoming.

Thanks again for your review / feedback. We do hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are visiting Sheffield.

Kind regards
April Thompson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay here. The coffee & cookies were a nice touch although we only saw them once & there was a problem with the coffee machine one night. The rooms were nice & good value with comfortable beds, although it states that the toiletries are The White Company, they weren't, no big deal but it's mentioned in all the brochures. The breakfasts were very nice although we didn't get what we ordered on the second day as they'd changed the menu, the staff in the restaurant were lovely & very apologetic, it wasn't their fault. All in all it was a good stay, nothing major & we would stay there again, it was perfectly situated for us in lovely surroundings.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aprilthompson635, Deputy General Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Karen H

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear about the issue with the coffee machines during your stay and the delicious cookies not being there. The cookies do vanish quickly, should this happen again please let our team know and we'd be happy to provide you with your own stash for your room.

We have recently changed our toiletries from the White Company to a more luxury offering, Noble Isle. Noble Isle are a UK company who make their products using extracts sourced from the British Isles. Sorry that our brochures were out of date, it has only been a recent change.

We are glad to hear that you would stay here again and look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax Hall in the future.

Kind regards

April Thompson
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our family stayed here for a friend's christening one weekend. As a former university student who spent a lot of time in Halifax Hall as a Hall of Residence, my effusiveness on the nostalgia value of Halifax Hall Hotel may not make me the most impartial observer. However, I can say that our suite (made up of two old student rooms knocked through with the fireplaces exposed and restored) was very well appointed. The coffee/hot chocolate and cookies available at the stations on each floor were a nice touch. The reception, bar and housekeeping staff were all friendly and helpful. The barman on one evening deserves particular mention, as he was particularly attentive to our needs and the needs of our visiting guests (all of us with children) and made us feel at ease and well looked after.

The bar menu was pitched just right in its offer and the food was fresh, generously portioned and well presented - no reheated microwave dishes to be seen. At our initial enquiry we were also given recommendations for takeaway as an alternative and told we would be welcome to order in and eat at the bar if we preferred - we thought this was a nice option to have.

Breakfast offered a comprehensive range of hot and cold options with locally sourced ingredients used where possible. It was all very good - nothing dry, greasy or overcooked.

The rooms within the C19th hall have been lightly restored since my days and lovingly presented. The breakfast/conference rooms are housed in the old JCR bar, which is about all that's left of the 1960s annexe. The rooms run off in the 1930s wings of the buildings. The 1990s Jonas Court (the heighth of luxury reserved for international students in my days, with en suites and decent wifi) is now the Jonas Hotel.

It should be reasonably obvious, but prospective visitors should be aware the hotel is run by the University (pitched for conference delegates and students' parents) and is located on the Endcliffe Student Village -with the vibrancy and occasional slovenliness that attends it. We slept soundly with the windows open, but the proximity of 'the neighbours' may not suit everyone's occasion.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend for those who are happy to combine the colour of a university campus with a boutique hotel experience.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank spiritofthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankie D, Front of House Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Spiritofthetime,

Thank you for your lovely review and 5 star rating on Halifax Hall Hotel. It is lovely to here that you are a returning guest of Halifax Hall.

As our boutique hotel only opened its doors a few years ago, all of our rooms are still up to a high standard and are decorated tastefully. All of bedrooms have a lovely design however, our suites always have the special touch. For this they do seem to sell out very quickly.

It is lovely to hear your kind words about our staff. The team here are some of the nicest and most hardworking people I’ve had the privilege of working with and I’m glad this comes across to our guests. Our reception girls are all extremely friendly and efficient and aim to make check in and out as smooth as possible. We show all of our guests to the room in order to give a brief tour of the hotel, carry any luggage our guests may have and make them aware of the amenities we provide. I will pass your lovely comments on to our staff, which I know they will be very happy to hear.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, I will pass on your lovely comments about breakfast to the head chef, he will be very happy to hear that you found it to be of great quality. We are very happy to hear this as we have recently updated our breakfast menu.

I’m so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much, we look forward to having you stay with us again soon, please make sure you call the front desk to receive the best rates on 0114 222 8810.

Kind Regards,

Frankie Dawson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We can't thank the events team at Halifax Hall enough for all their hard work regarding our wedding. The day was perfect, nothing too much trouble! Would highly recommend! The food was absolutely amazing!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankie D, Front Office Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kirsty W,

Thank you for your lovely review on Halifax Hall. It’s so lovely to receive reviews such as this, they always do put a smile on our faces.

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and your lovely words about our staff. The team here are some of the nicest and most hardworking people I’ve had the privilege of working with and I’m glad this comes across to our guests. The events team work extremely hard to make each and every wedding perfect for the bride and groom and all of their guests.

It’s good to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your wedding with us, we do what we can in order to meet our customers preferences and needs by creating a bespoke wedding for the needs of each individual couple. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food throughout the day!

We have a fantastic team here and I’m glad you noticed, everyone will be very happy to hear your kind words. I will pass on your comments to our events team and all of our staff, they will be very happy to hear your comments.

We hope that you chose to visit us again in the future. Please call 01142228810 for the best available rates.

Kind Regards,

Frankie Dawson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Really friendly, lovely, efficient staff. Great service. Great rooms. Great price. This is my third stay while picking up son from or dropping off son at university. I could not recommend Halifax Hall more highly.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank DamianStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankie D, Front of House Manager at Halifax Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Damian,

Thank you for your lovely review of Halifax Hall hotel, it’s great to know you enjoyed your stay. We have a great team here and I’m glad you noticed, everyone was very happy to hear your comments. It’s lovely to see that you have stayed with us several times, it’s always nice to see a familiar face at our hotel.

We have a great team at Halifax Hall, everyone is friendly, helpful and willing to go above and beyond for all our guests, I’m pleased that you noticed this. The staff here at Halifax are the most efficient and pleasant staff and I am privilege to work with them.

All of our rates include breakfast, parking and Wi-Fi and we believe they are extremely competitive for a hotel on the edge of Sheffield City Centre. Please remember to call the hotel directly to get the best deal!

I’m so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much, I am really happy to hear that you would recommend us, we hope to see you again soon. Please contact the hotel directly to receive the best rates on 0114 222 8810.

Kind Regards,

Frankie Dawson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews