We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you like quirky? We do!”
Review of Hardwick House B&B

Hardwick House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hardwick House B&B
Ranked #17 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We only had one night to stay somewhere near the Eccleshall area of Sheffield and when we found Hardwick House on the web we thought 'That's the one for us!'. And so it proved to be; delightfully shabby-chic and full of quirky interest and with friendly hosts. Not only that the beds in our twin room were really comfortable and we had a great night's sleep and then ended with a lovely breakfast seated around an old church door! It all suited us down to the ground, mind you we are slightly odd!

Room Tip: There are a range of differently themed rooms to suit different tastes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bullgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

It's not everywhere you can choose between a Victorian and a Scandinavian room, both with great views over Sheffield. Very friendly couple running the B&B. The breakfasts are lovely, and use their own eggs. We were staying near our daughter and son-in-law, and it was no trouble to have them for breakfast too. Spent most of the day at the Sharrow Vale Market - a great street market with lots of interesting stalls, and the local shops add to the interest too. Market happens 3 times a year - well worth checking when its on.

Room Tip: Victorian room with a giant rolltop bath, or Scandinavian with a wet room - your choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbie-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

So our third stay at Hardwick House, and first choice when visiting our student son in Sheffield. The location is ideal, a big detached house just minutes walk from the Botanic Gardens and the many restaurants and pubs around Eccleshall Road and Hunters Bar, yet a haven of tranquility down a quiet side road and with great views of the city.

The rooms are individual and idiosyncratic. We like the Victorian Gentleman's Room, with its views, an old style enamel bath of epic proportions and comfortable (if not large) bed. The Aga-cooked breakfast is served in the fabulous, old style kitchen, worth a visit just to see the table and arty decor.

The owners are friendly and welcoming, all done in an lovely fuss free way.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonButterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Just spent a very pleasant stay at Hardwick House great location for visiting our daughter and also plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was beautifully cooked. The bed was also very comfy. I was disappointed with the bathroom facilities, I didn't like the idea of the shower and toilet in the cupboard it may have been better if there had been a door on the cupboard instead of just a shower curtain. Would I stay there again yes I would but probably have a different room.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Hils D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for just one night in the Swedish room after celebrating our daughter's graduation. The en-suite is a masterpiece of spatial economy - basically a cupboard sized area but tiled with beautiful slate. Lovely house, good breakfast and friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I chose this B & B completely at random as it was reasonably close to where I needed to be and my stay could not have been better. The room and breakfast were fantastic. Carole and Peter made me feel extremely welcome.......I will definitely return.

Carole

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleF506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

What should I say about these wonderful people here? They are highly caring and loving. I stayed here for almost 15 days as I was searching for my house here in Sheffield and believe me it’s like my second home. Mr and Mrs Lenox helped me all the way to make me comfortable in the new city. I hardly sometime see people go out of their profession and do something extra on humanity basis. But the rule finds exception here in this house. They will go a step ahead and try to help you. Both of them are highly humble and most importantly “empathetic”. Can you imagine as I was in bit hesitation to find address of my new office on first day, Mr Peter dropped me at my office…..and he made my day! If you are bit in confusion to find the suitable and safe place to stay and spending lot amount of time in reading reviews of thousands of B & B, for obvious reason of safety and secure place….u just knock the door of “Hardwick House” and wait for wonderful people to welcome you here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shriram P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,328 reviews
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick House B&B

Address: 18 Hardwick Crescent, Sheffield S11 8WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: £39 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slightly eccentric, bohemian, only three guest rooms, quiet residential area. Chickens in garden... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hardwick House Bed And Breakfast
Hardwick House Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing