We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage BnB”
Review of The Briary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Briary
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vintage BnB”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just booked for a 1 night stay. Manager was friendly and allowed an early check in. Bed pillow was a bit uncomfortable but I was too tired to care. Bathroom was heated nicely.

I had no complaints about the breakfast. It was tasty and served quickly.

A nice spot for a 1 night stay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exitrow195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    8
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
10
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Central heating did not come on at night. There was mould on the curtains.

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms. It was on a quiet road. No air conditioning. Just very cold if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

ok lets set the picture.

I was going to book the bramall lane hotel for Sixty pounds for one night however it was booked dup. I needed to stay centrally and as a last minute job I decided to Book the Briary as I needed a room ASAP.

NOW...........

as with the other posts when we got there we had to call a number for someone to come and check us in. A very pleasant chap turned up and opened the door. Now don’t get me wrong, the staff here are genuinely very nice and will do anything to help. this review is of the Building and amenities.

we walked into one of the Dingiest halls known to man. The place smells musty. like the windows and doors haven’t been opened and the place hasn’t had a good airing for a long time. I was a student uin Sheffield and it was already reminding me of my student houses.

we were led up a dark staircase to our room (the owners must be afraid to use the lights as they were there and did work, I checked). I wasn’t expecting much but nevertheless I was still disappointed.

the decor was terrible, it looked like it hadn’t been touched since the 50's. much like the rest of the house. There was dust everywhere. even clogging up the ventilation Grate in the room. There was old food/bottles and dust under the bed already. (not ours) and if you moved the bedside table there was all manner of filth behind it.

the room looked tired and old. just dog tired.

the bathroom was pretty clean but there is mould in the shower, it needs re sealing and to be fair the bathroom suite for want of a better word was very old looking even if it was in full working and clean order.

there were cracks in the roof, lose light fittings and patch up jobs not done well.

all in all this place could be a gold mine but its dog dog dog tired at the moment.

if you are on a last minute venture and you need a place. its fine but if you have a choice. Don’t choose the Briary.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aldowatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

stayed in this hotel 2 nights ago, oh my god its disgusting, shame as could be really lovely with some good management and cleaning, place was locked up when we arrived had to wait for someone to come and let us in, room looked cosy then on closer inspection, went to look out of windows and the window sills are absolutely covered in black damp mould mould behind bed head, toilket seat came off , bath panel all cracked dirty and hanging off, bath was filthy and had a thick greasy ring round it and black hairs all over the ,tiles in the morning had booked breakfast for 7.30 went downstqirs and door to room was locked finally someone came over and opened door at 7.45 then set out breakfast cereals, we got our breakfast at 8 am and it was cold , sausage was too pink in middle and tomato actually cold, told man who cooked it, presumably hes the husband of the lady who let us in and lives up the road!, he said he couldnt undersatand it, then went to butter my toast and it had green mould on it !! couldnt wait to get out of this hotel, very strange that no-one is actually there to let you check out, all place was locked up again , so we just left, after banging on doors , this needs some serious shake up to make it a lovely hotel, a good cleaner would help too !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie2070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I thought I was staying at the Netheredge Hotel having booked online but on arrival for some unexplained reason was referred to the Briary. The chap who met me was helpful and also cooked the breakfasts for the guests.There was a phone in the hall if you needed anything. My room was "in the attic" and the heating on the radiator could not be controlled as the knob was missing. The TV only had 4 chanels, there was no radio alarm and the room was very dated and tired - nothing like the website. When the toilet was flushed, the pipes made a loud noise for some time. It was clean but basic. The milk for the tea was 3 weeks out of date. The award certificates in the hall were for 2000 which said it all really.
I was told that the Netheredge Hotel did meals so I went there. The cook turned out to also be the barman and although real ales were advertised outside, none were available. What is going on with these two?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rover30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The location is good.
On arriving nobody was there to book in with.
Had to go to their sister hotel to see somebody to help me.
The receptionist had to ring someone who lives up the road
who comes and books you in.
The hotel smelt fusty and in need of a good airing.
The room i was allocated was in need of plenty of money throwing at it..
The wall paper was hanging from the walls. There were holes in the walls,
the carpet was so stained and dirty that it looked as though the owners had
aquired from the local tip. The toilet was coming off the wall and the shower didnt function. The TV didnt work, the chair in the bedroom was so stained that it looked
that somebody had used it to stand on whilst creosoting the fence.
The breakfast room was fusty and there was food splashings on the wall.
the food when it arrived was barely warm. Also my tea cup had the big chip in it.
On the whole its the worst hotel ive stayed, but because of this we had a good laugh
as we couldnt believe anyone would have the nerveto pass this hovel off as a hotel.
Where did their awards come from? Probably brought from the local car boot.
This place could be good but would need a lot of money throwing at it.
Ifthis is rated 38th best hotel in Sheffield i WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE WORST,

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARNOLDPARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We booked a last minute one night stay. It offered everything that we expected. The hospitality was excellent. The rooms have lots of character and victorian charm but they are looking 'tired'. Time for the cracks to be filled and a new lick of paint I think.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessbrookDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#33 of 53 in Sheffield
472 reviews
9.0 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
238 reviews
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Briary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Briary

Property: The Briary
Address: 12 Moncrieffe Road | Nether Edge, Sheffield S7 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Briary 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Briary is a detached Victorian residence with real character and charm. The hotel is in the suburb of Nether Edge which is only a 5 minute drive to Sheffield city centre and its many attractions. Many of the original features remain, including a large Victorian-style conservatory. No need to worry about parking, there is a private free car park on-site for guests to use. Guests can have a very early check in and a late check out by prior arrangement. All bedrooms are En-suite and the whole building benefits from free wireless internet, Flat screen TV's, tea & coffee making facilities, an iron and ironing board are available on request. All room prices include a Full English Breakfast The Briary operates a no smoking policy for the comfort of all our guests. We welcome children of any age. Guests can choose from a selection of room types including Single. Double, Twin and Family rooms. Pets are also made welcome, providing they are house trained. An additional £7.00 charge will be made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Briary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briary Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing