We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Having now stayed in 6 budget hotels in Sheffield, I can say that the Premier at the Arena is the best, very closely followed by the Premier at St Mary's Gate.

This is a small Premier but it is very well cared for. It is comfortable and well furnished and it does not have the tell-tale marks of being battered by previous guests. Usually, when you compare Sheffield prices for Premier, this one always costs a little more but it is worth a few more pounds. I judge that the management are at the top of their game and every little detail is done well.

The hotel is 5 minutes from the Arena tram stop and tram services start early in the morning and finish late at night and so it is easy to get into Sheffield. Nearby there are a couple of restaurants that get good Trip Advisor reviews.

As a personal footnote, when I got in the room I thought it was funny that there was no TV. It didn't matter but 5 minutes later, I notice the giant flat screen on the wall !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

Recently stayed here after attending an event at Sheffield arena. Absolutely nothing negative to say. Great location (2 minute walk from the arena, 10 minute walk from Meadowhall), great room price, free party, lovely modern building, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, and fantastic staff (Danielle - the receptionist - was polite, helpful, and courteous, and ensured our stay was comfortable).

Would highly recommend if you're visiting Meadowhall or the Arena

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

stayed here for a concert at sheffield motorpoint arena. Ideal for location of the arena with it being just across the road. comfortable and lovely and clean . breakfast nice although food could have been a bit hotter . We are going to another concert at arena later in the year and will be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the Premier Inn Sheffield Arena.

There is a good amount of free parking on site. I did have to double check that I was heading to the main entrance as the front entrance looks a bit like a back one! (unlike in the professional pictures on this site there were no lovely big purple planters or hanging baskets by the door!)

This is a typical Premier Inn.
The receptionist was very helpful - and allowed us to check in a little early as our room was already serviced. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The towels were good quality.The curtains were almost black out standard! We were at the back of the hotel and I was a little concerned to see we were close to the hotel service area but we didn't get any noise as the double glazing was so good. There was a large flat screen tv on the wall so no squinting at a small television!

The restaurant area is rather small and you can find yourself sitting VERY close to other people. As we all seemed to be going to the same gig we had lots to talk about and enjoyed having the company but this is NOT the place to eat if you want an intimate dinner for two.
Our evening meal was of a good standard, hot and tasty and served fairly quickly. The waiting staff and the bar staff were excellent. Very friendly and happy to help.

Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of items ranging from fresh fruit salad, yogurts, toast, crumpets, as well as the usual hot breakfast items on a serve yourself all you can eat basis.

The Arena is a little over 5 minutes walk away.
Meadowhall shopping center is about a 5 minute drive away.

TIP if you're going to the arena for a gig book an early meal (we had a table at 5pm) as they do get busy and service did get a little slow later on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as there's a busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netty_In_Lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

ideal for concerts as located across the road from the arena, very clean, comfortable beds and pillows. was concerned about noise from other guests arriving after a late night out but we were not disturbed at all. Small restaurant serving pub meals which were tasty and good prices, near to the arena there was a Chiquitos and burger king. The man on reception was very friendly and welcoming, liked the fact of paying on arrival to enable using the key drop box in the morning

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We asked for a disabled room. I rang the hotel before booking to check there was a wet room. On arrival no wet room. Told we could be transferred to another hotel, however we were booked with others and couldn't do this. Also disabled room was a double bed. Is allready explained it would be a disabled person and carer. We were moved to a standard room on the same floor as others so we could all help to get the disabled party into the shower etc. Don't get me wrong, the disabled room had tons of space for a wheelchair, and call buttons. Tons of grab rails too. But useless to someone who has poor mobility in their shoulders as well as issues with hips, knees and back. The disabled bath was the perfect height for chair transfers, but we would not have been able to get the disabled person out again due to the delicate shoulders.
Staff were as helpful as they could be in the circumstances. Just a pity about the disabled bathroom.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phineasandferb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

8 of us stayed 1 night. Nice rooms, plenty of space, very clean, importantly for me no trace of previous occupation. Easy stay, staff very pleasant hotel full, No road noise good beds. really good breakfast children eat free.Made the trip easy as we had been over the road to the motorpoint arena.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Sheffield Arena
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel

Address: Attercliffe Common, Sheffield S9 2FA, England (Formerly "Travel Inn")
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £44 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opposite the Motorpoint Arena, ICE Sheffield and Valley Centertainment leisure park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield (Arena) Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing