We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District
Ranked #12 of 33 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2013

accommodation was perfect comfy plenty of room and lovely and warm staff were very friendly and very accommodating nothing was to much trouble we had an evening meal which was great on arriving for breakfast we were greeted with a warm welcome and a great choice to chose from

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tomj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

May we thank you for posting your review, and we hope we will see you again at The Fox Inn, Inn keeper's Lodge, Hathersage Road, Longshaw Sheffield .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

Following a trip to Chatsworth House and for a family birthday break we stayed at the Fox Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge. The accommodation was approximately 20 minutes away from Chatsworth and it was a nice, scenic drive. We received a very warm welcome, walking through the pub which was busy with log fires burning. Plenty of character with a a nice atmosphere. We had three rooms and were provided with two travel cots as we had requested. The rooms were very well decorated, perfectly clean, with lots of character and had plenty of space for our little one to crawl around. We chose to eat in the pub and had a cracking meal with plenty of choice and very reasonably priced. The continental breakfast in the morning was really nice, fresh and again with lots of choice. I particularly liked the fresh bagels and pastries. The owners/managers with very attentive and friendly. We had a fantastic time, it was very reasonably priced, and will be staying again in the summer. I get a little frustrated reading some of the negative reviews and find myself thinking the reviewers must have stayed at a different place than us. I would certainly recommend both the accommodation and food and drink to anyone considering booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jph3698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Fox Inn, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one. We have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

6 adults and two young babies for an overnight stay on Saturday 9th November. Although the pub was busy Jacquie the Landlady was very helpful and made sure we had high chairs and travel cots in the two family rooms. Also she said her staff would be happy to heat up the babies food for us. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and warm. We had a meal with the babies in high chairs - not a problem. The service was good and the food was just the job. The hotel is ideal for a visit to Chatsworth or a visit to the beautiful surrounding Peak district. We were made to feel very welcome and so recommend families with young children or babies to stay here. The Lodge rooms were fine and the log fires in the bar made it feel cosy. Prices of food and drinks very reasonable. Breakfast was Continental but plenty of it plus coffee and tea. Vey happy to stay here again. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 11 is just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Fox Inn, Hathersage Road and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Well appointed accommodation with roomy bathrooms, great showers, comfy beds, hairdryers and good tea making facilities, pleasant decor in a charater property. Rooms were clean and warm and dry - it was stormy outdoors with high winds and heavy rainfall.
We took 2 rooms, one small double and a 2nd with a sofa bed and travel cot (3 adults and 2 children). Lack of insulation between floors meant that a crying baby and its parents pacing the floorboards above a ground floor room for most of the night kept my 18-month-old awake for most of the night. Our other room on the upper floor was nice and peaceful however.
There were no phones in the rooms and with separate entrances to rooms and no mobile network meant it was tricky to communicate between us.
A serious negative was that you could not return into the pub (or get to the car park without walking all around the building on the poorly-lit road) without ringing a buzzer and standing outside in the pooring rain waiting for somebody or even nobody to come and let you in because it was a busy saturday night and no one was available / they didn't hear the buzzer.
Breakfast was continental, i was a bit puzzled by why a full breakfast was not available when i saw at least 2 individuals who appeared to be in chefs clothing but the continental selection was very good and enjoyable.
Close to Sheffield (only 20 mins to the centre by car) but in a beautifully rural location with amazing views and fabulous walks we shall certainly return - but will definitely request an upstairs room due to the insulation issues!

Room Tip: Upstairs due to insulation issues with ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hanslt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Fox Inn, Innkeeper's Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed one night and a very enjoyable stay. Rooms clean and very comfortable....but not disabled friendly but to be fair I don't often ask or request 'Special requests' when booking 'one-off' hotel breaks and the landlady did notice small mobility problems I was having in being allocated an upstairs room and felt confident we could have been given a room more suitable to my needs if at all possible. Will probably book direct with the hotel next time and request something more suitable. The evening meal was served at a 'leisurely pace' but if you want fast food stick to the principal suppliers!! The food was most certainly worth the wait anyway. Sometimes it is nice to be able to chat and not feel rushed. Breakfast was plentiful and a wide range of choice. Will definately visit The Fox again...and soon! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burwood74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Fox Inn. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This will be a great venue for hillwalkers. We stayed for three nights and used it as a base to see parts of the Peak District. The rooms, whilst in a separate block of converted cottages are spacious, clean and tidy. The restaurant is excellent with good quality food at reasonable prices - there is really no other choice unless a tidy car drive away.But there's really no need to go elsewhere. The bar area is small but cosy with some excellent ales! The staff were pleasant and helpful although they couldn't get us an internet connection or the TV working!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clark249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for posting your kind review about your visit to The Fox Inn on Trip Advisor. It is our aim to give every customer the very best service and experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We booked a family room way back in February for a wedding this weekend in Losehill, and I can't really fault it for the price. We stayed in a family room (2 adults in the main bed, kids on a sofa bed) Room was a decent size, basic tv, very good wifi after logging into it. We arrived on the Friday in the mist, into the bar with the lovely smell of the wood fire to welcome us. Nice and cosy bar, friendly staff who booked us in quickly and showed us to our room. We ordered some food which was fantastic, we were staying with my parents and brother who all said there food was great too, very good value as well. The breakfast was fine, plenty there and it filled us up! It's about 20 minutes to Castleton and the caves, all in all we'd stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joclar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Fox Inn and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheffield
7.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
2.6 mi away
The Norfolk Arms
The Norfolk Arms
#25 of 53 in Sheffield
384 reviews
7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
2.4 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
235 reviews
2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District

Address: Fox House Hathersage Road | Hathersage Road, Longshaw, Sheffield S11 7TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Price Range: £64 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just three miles from the historic village of Hathersage, this charming country lodge dates back to 1773 and is one of the cosiest hotels in the Peak District. What's more, it's only a short drive from Sheffield and Chesterfield. The lodge, which you'll find within the Longshaw estate, offers 9 comfy, characterful rooms, a menu of hearty, seasonally inspired food, and a wide range of regularly changing cask-ales and well-chosen wines. Longshaw is a lovely place with many hidden gems: spectacular views, ancient oak woods, sleepy meadows, heather moorland, archeological treasures and millstone quarries. Locals will proudly tell you that it's also home to the oldest continuous sheep-dog trials in the country. If you've brought your walking boots, head for Hathersage - a great place to start your exploration of the area's intriguing rock formations. The area is a haven for walking and climbing, but it's also a popular with swimmers. That's because it's lucky enough to have its own heated outdoor swimming pool, set within a lawned enclosure and usually open from March through to September. There are plenty more pursuits to keep you busy, with Chatsworth House, Sheffield Botanical Gardens, Sheffield Ski Village and the ancient village of Eyam all on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Hathersage, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox House Vintage Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing