We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“history”

Kelham Island Museum
Ranked #9 of 169 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“history”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great little museum telling of the industrial history of sheffield in its engineering era, some good exhibits and friendly staff, worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    173
    27
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“You've got to advertise, guys!!!!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A wonderful find - by accident - on the net. You really, really need to get the profile of this museum up there - I can't recommend it enough and the café! Good lord how many people are they feeding with one butty? I couldn't eat it all!

A diversity of things to see - but the River Don engine - Europe's largest working steam engine (you really have to be there to see the size of it) - that runs up 2 or 3 times a day - and changes direction within 2 seconds - is something to behold - and they don't just tick it over - it goes at speed!

There is so much there - and for so little money - and an outstanding café to boot - so get going!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mason00000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great museum about Sheffields steel making past!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely museum. We took a 3&4 year old & there was lots for them to do whilst we looked at all the info & exhibits. They loved the indoor play area! Only downside was the cafe was too small and we couldn't get a table (& it wasn't even that busy when we went!)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing place”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is one of my favourite museums in the world (and I've been to lots of amazing museums in New York, San Francisco, Sydney to name a few). It is so special to be able to experience Sheffield's industrial heritage first hand down little Mesters and surely one of the most thrillingly things in the world is to see the big River Don engine in full flight! A definite must do for those who are interested in Sheffield and the UK's industrial past.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SadsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved this place. As a new resident of Sheffield I wanted to explore some of its history and this was the perfect place to do so.
Guys who were on duty were great. The engine is noisy but worth viewing.
Food available across the courtyard.
Will return here as I'm sure I've missed some of the details.
Walking round the block is interesting, one moves from student flats to gentrified cafés and apartments. Keep walking and you'll find buildings that look as if they should be condemned and used sonkys on the floor!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kelham Island Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kelham Island Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing