We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect family park.”
Review of Millhouses Park

Millhouses Park
Ranked #21 of 175 things to do in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Millhouses Park is located approximately 3 miles south-west of Sheffield City Centre. Part of the park was gifted by Earl Fitzwilliam & Marquis of Zetland in 1909, with the remainder purchased by Sheffield City Council. Recent improvements include the Splash! project, located on the site of the old swimming pool and lido and reintroduces water play into the park, many years after the lido was closed and filled in. It is an interactive play area designed to be both playful and educational with kit such as an Archimedes screw, hand pumps and see saws that pump water into a large snaking channel, where it can be dammed in several places before being scooped by a water wheel and fed into a recycling tank. The water then feeds the toilets, can be used to water plants and tops up the boating lake. The Fishway project has seen the old paddling pools filled in and converted into natural habitat that will allow fish such as trout to bypass the two weirs on the River Sheaf and move upstream to spawn. The design is very complex and incorporates rock pools, overhangs and resting places and mimics their natural habitat as much as possible. Park Facilities include:On-Site Parking2 multi-purpose fields Outdoor Gym Skate Park Obstacle Course Traditional Playground Zipwire SPLASH! Waterplay Boating Lake with Paddle Boats Fish Pass Cricket Pitch Tennis Courts Pitch 'n' Put Crown Green Bowling Basketball Court5-a-side all-weather pitch Sensory Garden Formal Gardens Free Toilets Park Cafe & Ice Cream Kiosk (private business)Please use this page to review Millhouses Park. Please note that the Park Cafe is a private business and is not within the remit of the Friends of Millhouses Park.
Reviewed 10 May 2014

So the lido of my youth has gone. Despite this, Millhouses is how a family park should be, plenty for the kids and a cafe that sells cake.

Thank SheffieldersS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wibble41c, Webmaster at Millhouses Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello SheffieldersS6!

Thanks for taking the time to write your review! I'm so glad you had such a great time visiting our park!

There will always be a sense of nostalgia surrounding the famous Lido! However, we hope we have a modern flavour of this with our SPLASH! Water Play! We even still have the boating lake! "Come in number 22!"

I'm sure you'll visit again soon!

Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boating lake"
in 75 reviews
"tennis courts"
in 40 reviews
"water play area"
in 13 reviews
"putting green"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 25 reviews
"outdoor gym"
in 7 reviews
"basket ball"
in 6 reviews
"bowling green"
in 8 reviews
"bike track"
in 3 reviews
"zip wire"
in 7 reviews
"cricket pitch"
in 3 reviews
"ice cream vans"
in 4 reviews
"bouncy castle"
in 8 reviews
"climbing frame"
in 5 reviews
"football area"
in 3 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 12 reviews
"sunny afternoon"
in 5 reviews
Filter

154 - 158 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Mill houses is an ideal place if you just want a walk or want to entertain the children, there is a small water play area open summer months, a lovely park and pedal boats, there is a skate park and outdoor exercise equipment, if you want a nice afternoon on Saturdays in the summer you can sit and watch a good game of cricket at the cricket pavilion

2  Thank mumtokandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 May 2014

Hello Mumtokandh!

Thanks for your review!

So glad you enjoyed your visit to our park - we hope to see you again soon!

Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

In the seventies, Millhouses Park was home to Sheffield's only open air swimming pool, The Lido, now demolished to make way for executive housing, a major tragedy for Sheffield and in my opinion and many others a terrible decision as during the seventies The Lido with its pools and landscaped lawns was a haven for Sheffielders from all over the city.

Now Millhouses Park is still a lovely park with tennis courts, playground area and a stream, but to me it will always be haunted by the ghost of the long-gone and widely beloved Lido.

Thank sparklingmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wibble41c, Webmaster at Millhouses Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hello Jude!

Thanks for your review!

There will always be a sense of nostalgia about the Lido! There are no executive homes on the site, however... (maybe you are thinking of the old tram terminus opposite the park?)

Our play area now sits where the Lido was... The area between the gates in the Children's Play Area (including the SPLASH! Water Play) was the original Lido site. The old paddling pools have now been landscaped and turned into the Fish Pass - a meandering stream with small rock pools and a haven for all kinds of wildlife!

We can't bring back the Lido - but we hope that with the Fish Pass, the SPLASH! Water Play, the Boating Lake and of course the mighty River Sheaf - the park still retains it's famous water element for those hot summer days!

Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Great kids play area, fab water park .
Food a rip off and ridiculous toilet situation! Must have been half of Sheffield in the park today and one working toilet!

1  Thank weeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wibble41c, WebMaster at Millhouses Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello, Weeny!
Thanks for your review - we're glad you enjoyed our play facilities...
With regards to the toilets, we acknowledge your comments and are already planning on improving toilets - please check our website for updates on this.
Please note that the cafe is a private business and not under the control of the Friends of Millhouses Park.
We hope to see you again soon!
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Millhouses Park is fabulous - old fashioned fun for children and lots to entertain the family for a good few hours.

Now the cafe... this is not based on one visit by the way. We must have been there 50 times in the last few years, but after our last visit have finally been prompted to post this rather than just grumbling to each other!

Some staff are okay, some seem to think that you are honoured to be there. The prices are ridiculous - nearly £3.00 for a slice of really stale lemon drizzle cake with a hair in it. Gross. We left it. The main food is very good but hopelessly overpriced. The 'Pudding Ladies' schtick is misleading - the puddings are the worst thing they serve, and twice the price of decent ones elsewhere.

It's not very clean - the toilets really need more attention, and you really are better off sitting outside, especially if it's getting towards the final hour of service as the staff practically man-handle you out of the door from 4.00.p.m. onwards. One male member of staff was taking things from our table as we ate, and circling us like a vulture until we finally asked if he'd like us to leave, to which he replied 'yes, actually. We close in half an hour.' Unbelievable!

We take picnics now and a flask. We still use the cafe for ice cream (again, madly expensive) but can't quite bring ourselves to feel robbed and unwelcome anymore.

3  Thank NancyOMalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wibble41c, WebMaster at Millhouses Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello Nancy!
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We're naturally sad to hear that you had a poor experience, but please note that the cafe is a private business outside the control of the Friends of Millhouses Park.
We hope to see you again soon! We will be adding to the number of picnic tables soon, so you'll have somewhere to eat your picnic!
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millhouses Park also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Millhouses Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing