We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Paternoster lift and views

The Arts Tower is 78 meters tall and roughly 50 years old building. We rode in the paternoster lift... read more

Reviewed 5 April 2018
BeachStone2C
,
Helsinki, Finland
via mobile
Modernist beauty

I really can't believe some of these reviews here! The Arts Tower is a fine example of modernist... read more

Reviewed 26 May 2017
taymazimi
,
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 27 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Sheffield
from US$52.47
More Info
from US$20.00
More Info
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
12
7
2
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
7
2
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews architecture students sheffield university paternoster landmark tallest
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Being interested in engineering, i visited the Arts Tower of Sheffield University to see one of the few working Paternoster lift in existence.
Its not really a tourist attraction being situated in a university building, the staff don't mind you having a look or riding the lift.
Arrived at 08:30 and it wasn't working, but speaking with a member of staff, she said it only works when the porters are on duty, and come 08:45 it was up and running - in fact i was the first person on that morning, riding up in one of the cages to the 18th floor for impressive city views through the design offices.
Then the equally impressive ride down, through care must be taken getting off the lift!
From the outside, the university building is non-descript, but hiding inside is a true marvel of engineering!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank 923Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

The Arts Tower is 78 meters tall and roughly 50 years old building. We rode in the paternoster lift all the way up. We simply walked around in the top floor and enjoyed the views. The floor seemed to be space for architecture students on a long break during our visit. Nobody asked us to sign in or show an id, in fact we hardly saw anybody.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank BeachStone2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

I really can't believe some of these reviews here! The Arts Tower is a fine example of modernist architecture and is, in my opinion, a fascinating building. There is no doubt that a matter like this is very much down to personal taste. I might like it and another might not. But what is certain is that The Arts Tower, regardless of our aesthetic preferences, is an important landmark which perfectly exemplifies an important style of architecture and taste of a particular era (mid-20th Century, that is).

And, then what would really be cooler than a paternoster lift? This lift has always been an entertaining object for me. Every now and then I get on it and stay on for quite a bit of time, going up and down. It's particularly exciting after the 18th land the underground level when the lift is turning to go down/up.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank taymazimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Visited The Arts Tower once and enjoyed a great view of Sheffield. You don't really get that any where else. The building may not look great from the outside but seems rather functional and the constantly moving lift is great if you want to move only 1 -3 floors up or down.

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank FriendlySpider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Visited the Arts Tower in the 70s and wanted to revisit. Its an open building and so able to see the inside - especially the Paternoster Lift. Worth seeing and if possible travelling on - If you dont know what it is look it up on Wikipedia. A great structure still serving a perfect service. Not sure if you should ask permission firt before a visit but There were no people or notices saying otherwise. Good to see inside and outside.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Howard-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews