We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but a little misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good but a little misleading”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When booking online it said WiFi but did not state that this is a subject to a separate charge. Neither did it state that you have to pay extra for parking.

Also on the subject of WiFi, it says 'high speed' but it actually is 512kbps (says on the leaflet and measured). Not very high speed, appalling in fact.

Other than that rooms very nice and clean.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijomaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

I would be interested to know where you found the information on Wifi and carparking as we have always charged as many other city centre properties.

feel free to contact me direct as I would like to rectify the website that has this conflicting information.

Steven Vandevelde ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    370
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
166
244
38
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Overall the hotel was modern and well located - we were visiting our son at Sheffleld Hallam University. However, we asked twice to be changed to a different room as the first two rooms were dirty. In both of the bathrooms the toilet seat was splattered with urine on the seat and pan - clearly the toilet had not been cleaned. I only noticed just before using the toilet as the lighting was quite dim - thankfully I did see. In future I shall take a good look as I always expect an ensuite to be clean! Also in the second room the surfaces around the sink had not been wiped and still had toothpaste stains from the last occupant.

The third room we were given was ok although I did worry as to whether the sheets had been changed as although they looked clean there was obviously a problem with the supervision of the cleaners.

The reception staff were very helpful and apologetic and I cannot fault them - but I would be wary of staying in this hotel again, due to poor standards of cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

many thanks for your feedback.

I can confirm we have identified the cleaner that was not performing as we and you would expect and has since left the property.

I can ensure you this is not our normal high standard as you can tell from the many other reviews.

I hope you will try us again. feel free to contact me direct

Steven Vandevelde ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

The title says it all: we had a pleasant stay here, the room was very comfortable, the bed was great, selection of soft and firm pillows, big LCD tv with lots of channels (including internationals), but the breakfast ruined our positive experience and made the whole stay just average: very few selection of dishes, scrambled eggs tasted like made from egg powder, no bacon just sausage, no fresh fruit just canned clementines and grapefruit. Another negative point is that the wifi internet is £7 for 24 hours which is ridiculous. In my opinion the culture of charging guests for internet in hotels must stop in the age of having free wifi in every coffee shop.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ujlnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback. I was sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Free breakfast, however you will agree this does keep the cost down for our budget travellers.

I am reviewing free wifi between 10 am and 6pm for all guest.

Best regards
Steven Vandevelde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

The Holiday inn express is much more comfortable than travelodge and only a few £ more expensive. And breakfast included. Not bad.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andyplusfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

Many thansk for taking the time to write a review.

I am happy you enjoyed the free breakfast.

Steven Vandevelde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Cant realy fault location ,city center, and its relativley a new place but i cant ignore the fact that the Bed was probably the softest bed i have ever slept on ,sorry never slept on , for the 5 nights i was there . Whilst sitting on the sofa in the room i noticed a massive number of stains on it which again caused me to feel quite uncomfortable which in turn made me notice alot more faults , noisy bathroom extraction fan whirling away all nite from nxt door room , no free wifi as advertised on line,towels not changed,bedding not changed carpet was grubby, would not stay there again .

Room Tip: There is no free wifi as advertised which becomes costly if staying for a week .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barto440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

I was sorry to learn of your experience. As you can tell from the other tripadvisors this is not standard to our property.

The guest must have left the bathroom light on next door, eventhough we provide a night light.

The beds are new and your comment surprises me regarding the softness of it. I have in addition talked to my head housekeeper regarding the sofa and replenisment of the bedlinnen.

I hope you will give us another chance and visit us in the near future.

Best regards

Steven Vandevelde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Had a one night stop here £29.50 bargain through booking.com hotel has been recently been refurbished and everything was just as on the HIE website. We had a corner room which was actually out over the River Don. One good thing about the hotel was the night light which meant you didn't wake up your partner when using the toilet in the night.
There was plenty of breakfast and was always getting restocked it also had plenty of seats for breakfast.
It was very quiet even though it was very close to the town centre.
Plenty to do in Sheffield a one day tram/bus ticket was about £3 and lots of pubs among the best was The Sheffield Tap, the Devonshire Cat and The Old House.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your great feedback and taking the time to post them.

I look forward to your next visit.

Steven Vandevelde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel was clean, fresh and modern. Really good value for money, and the room included breakfast which was also good. Easy on site parking for £5. The hotel was really quiet despite the location, and I had a good night's sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelCelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write great comments.

Look forward to see you back soon

Steven Vandevelde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
1,001 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing