We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its one of the better HI Express hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Its one of the better HI Express hotels”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is a well-located, city centre hotel with modern decor and facilities. Its part of the fairly homogeneous Holiday Inn chain with everything that all the other HI Express hotels have, but its a bit classier than most of them. Prices are good, rooms are big, service is efficient and friendly. If there are downsides it is the noise. Sheffield seems to have sirens all night long ... what's the story with that Sheffield, why all the police and ambulances ? Maybe it was just a bad night but with poor soundproofing in the rooms the noise does seep in and if you're a light sleeper then you may be in trouble. One other annoying thing is the charges for the WiFi. This should be a commodity and it should be free to access and to use as it is elsewhere, including in other HI Express hotels, but it isn't here. C'mon HI Express, stop ripping us off, make this free and make your customers even happier.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Many thanks for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed you stay. Please note that we do offer free WIFI in the public areas between the hours of 11am and 4pm and we do also have 2 computers in the reception foyer with 24hr free internet access for our guest to use and I hope this information will help you if you choose to stay with us again.

Furthermore, I was sorry to hear that you had been awoken by the sirens of the emergency services as you are a light sleeper, therefore, should you choose to stay at our hotel again at some point in the future, we can accommodate you at the opposite side of the hotel which I am confident would improve your stay. For your information our hotel has been constructed to a significantly higher standard than building control requirements with over 30cm solid concrete walls and insulation plus special argon filled windows to keep noise pollution to a minimum. Also, Sheffield is one of the safest cities in the country according to the crime statistics.
We do hope to welcome you to our hotel the next time that you have a requirement in Sheffield and please feel free to contact me to allocate the right room for your needs.

Thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    377
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
171
248
39
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The staff are welcoming and friendly and the hotel was well presented. The rooms were spotless and the bedding was very good quality.
The bar in the evening was nice and I really enjoyed the breakfast, but the cooked items were limited (only scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans - it would been nice to see some other items).

I would recommend this and definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear how welcoming we are for our guests. With regards to the breakfast options, the hot options which we provide follow the guidelines set by the hotel chain and are part of the standard free breakfast that Holiday Inn Express hotels offer, I do hope that you found the rest of the continental breakfast offering to your liking. Thanks again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I stayed here on business due to it being very reasonably priced. The soundproofing was terrible though, I could hear every single siren throughout the night. The room however was functional, clean and modern. The breakfast was lacklustre.. sausages, beans and scrambled egg. I probably will try the Hilton next time I'm here though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Thank you for your review and I am please to read that you liked the hotel and the welcoming service you had received.

I am sorry to hear that you had been disturbed by the sirens and although our newly build hotel has been designed to a very high acoustic standard I do appreciate your feedback. Should you decide to stay at our hotel or indeed the adjacent Hilton, I would suggest that you request a room to the back of the hotel which I am sure you will find is quieter.

With regards to the hot breakfast options, these are prescribed by the Holiday Inn hotel chain and are part of the standard free breakfast that Express hotels offer, however, we do provide a full English breakfast offer at the adjacent Holiday Inn hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I paid £47 for B & B. The room was large and quiet, the bed was comfortable, the shower was huge and hot (and very clean), the evening meal (burger) was very tasty and well cooked and breakfast was the same as any other Holiday Inn Express (but included rather than extra as it is at the other cheaper chain hotels). What more could you ask for ....

I walked from the station and had trouble finding my way in - it's obviously built for people with cars!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swivellingmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Great location and room was very comfortable and clean, the biggest let down was the awful breakfast, just sausages beans and scrambled egg that tasted powdered coffee was luke warm and the staff just shrugged when we complained, real shame because otherwise a great hotel in good location

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This hotel is typical of any newer Holiday In Express. The room was clean and I found the bed relatively comfortable. The shower worked well and there was plenty of hot water. Overall I was pleased with the room.

I had the fish and chips in their restaurant. OK but nothing to write home about. A couple of small packages of malt vinegar were stuck in with the other individual packaged condiments in a bowl on the table. I've had better at local shops.

The breakfast was a bit of a surprise. The main hot dish was scrambled eggs. These eggs looked white and I was expecting the usual tasteless, bland concoction found as part of the free hot breakfast. I was wrong. These eggs were very flavorful, tasting as though they used a goodly portion of cheese in them. Whatever, they were very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdahoTraveler83815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This hotel was my home for 6 months of this year on business, and I found that the rooms were all clean, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I have stayed at other HI hotels and this team are a cut above many others.
Parking is a bit of a challenge; there is enough space, but it may require parking the car at the adjacent sister hotel car park at the other side of the hotel. The food is good enough, with breakfasts fairly standard, but the bar menu is fairly limited and not intended for regular stays. However with the vast range of restaurants and eating places in Sheffield, that's not really a problem.
Location is very handy for the station and getting onto the Sheffield Parkway, and is quite pleasant next to the waterside and Victoria Quays. However walking from there into the city centre at night takes you past some less attractive parts of the city centre, although I never had cause to worry about safety.
Guests can also take advantage of the gym facilities in the neighbouring Holiday Inn hotel. For some reason it was rarely crowded.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best rates, and if possible book direct with the hotel website, as this guaran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 15 December 2012
Thank you for your great feedback, we hope to see you at the hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing