We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

First thing to say is that this hotel, like others in Sheffield City Centre is not that easy to get to - because the one way systems and ring roads are not easy to work your way around. However, having parked up and got to reception, I have to say everything was very good indeed. Friendly and helpful staff on reception, clean and comfortable room with good size shower. Only slight disappointment was breakfast, where I think they could spend a little more and have better food and juices - the orange juice was simple awful and tasted like a chemical concoction! I'd stay here again though for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is located within 5-10 minutes walk of the city centre, the room was very clean, very large and a with a huge double bed. The bathroom was clean as you would expect with a relatively new hotel. Nice big fluffy white towels shower gel provided although in our room it was a bit of a faff to get anything out of it. There was tea and coffee in the room and a decent TV. The shower was enormous and very nice. We were met by very polite and attentive staff and given a room with an excellent view on the corner. Breakfast was good with a good choice, the hot food only consisted of sausage, scrambled egg and beans. The beans could have done with a stir now and then as they were a bit congealed and the scrambled egg was not good but all in all a good breakfast and excellent value. There is a car park at the back of the hotel the charge is £5 per 24 hrs. However there is another car park next door NCP on the way in which appeared to be £2.50 for 24 hours and under cover so worth considering. My only criticism would be that on a visit to the toilet near to reception there did not appear to be any toilet brushes in the gents and consequently were in shall we say "used" state. I am sure the supply of these relatively cheap items would make a difference. Certainly to the person following you! The loo roll was very tight in the holder and was a bit difficult to get out as it was newly replaced a minor issue. Would definitely use again and recommend.

Room Tip: corner rooms higher up give the best view 1602, 1502 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradders1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Holiday Inn Express brand is in my view the best of the budgets, with possibly only Premier Inn managing to come near, but failing in my view due to inconsistency.
The HIX brand is really, really consistent. Good sized room, clean bedroom and public areas, good work area, and all wrapped in a good price.
The disadvantage of this consistency is of course that you could when checking into a HIX be at any HIX, anywhere!
There are small differences within the brand and in my view this is one of the better ones. The bar area is particularly good, the whole hotel seems very well run, staff are excellent and attentive.
The hotel is right in the centre of Sheffield, positioned really well, next to the considerably more expensive, but in my view not much better, Hilton. I always choose this Holiday Inn Express when work takes me to Sheffield and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is one hotel is most certainly be staying in again.
The room was perfect, brand new and extremely posh :)
It had everything I needed and was cleaned to perfection with everything replaced and put back into place accordingly.
I was originally introduced personally by a chap called "Parag".....I believe he was one of the managers who purposely went out of his way to ensure I had everything I needed, my food was up to the top notch quality it was and that his overall welcoming manner was commendable.
The gorgeous little bridge on site over the river is a fabulous touch and the onsite car parking is plenty.....
Overall I will be most definitely returning and gets a straight A* or 10/10

Tony

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank X2ONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Tony,

Many thanks for your kind comments. I shall pass on the feedback to Parag.

We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Modern hotel with excellent rooms, comfortable beds and great showers. Breakfast buffet is included, and "OK". Free WiFi but car parking is currently £5 extra. The staff are friendly but the evening meals are limited in choice and, again, just "OK". The location is good for getting to the city centre, but you need to know your way around. You can use the gym at the sister hotel: Holiday Inn, just 2 mins away, which helps. Some road noise early in the monring given it is a city centre hotel and close to the busy A61. Overall: good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on our property and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate your feedback on our breakfast offering, unfortunately the breakfast product range is prescribed by Holiday Inn and as franchisees we are not allowed to flex this. This however is no excuse for not providing a good quality of product and we are constantly working to improve this. As you are aware, at Holiday Inn Express we are the only limited service brand that offers breakfast free to all our guest. We trust that we can welcome you back to the our hotel in the near future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had two nights her over a weekend, good location, rooms very good comfy and warm and really good shower, two days parking for £10.00 so not bad and are room was on the top floor with a great view, fast food type breakfast which was ok had better at other Holiday Inns, but on are last morning we were woken by the Housekeeping at 9am entering are room I shouted out and they said sorry, now surely they should have checked that we had checked out bearing in mind check out is not until 12.00, I was quite disappointed this happened.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogmalobobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear bogmalobobby,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention and apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced. Please be assured that your input will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvement to this identified weakness and rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was modern and clean and well suited to business and leisure travellers alike. The breakfast was of a good quality and range for a budge hotel. The free wifi throughout was a real bonus!
The location was ok and about a 10 min walk to city centre through a part of the city that is run down and not somewhere I would walk through at night. Other than that a great base for exploring area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank holidaylover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,059 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £51 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing