We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good for business travel”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is basic and you get what you pay for. The rooms are clean warm and quiet.

No room service for food, drink or if you want an iron as I found out walking through the hotel reception carrying an iron and ironing board.

The food is nice, well made and it's a change from the normal bar food. Unfortunately the selection is not the biggest and no off menu option for mixing dishes.

The is not the easiest to understand how to work with most options reverting to the paid for movies.

Would I go back here again? On basic business trip I would definitely would.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    370
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
166
244
38
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kazan, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

It was my first visit to Sheffield and i enjoyed the coziness, comfort of the rooms, helpful staff and mainly rich breakfast menu in Holiday Inn Ekspress. It s located by a good 15 min walk from the main train station and also within a very pleasent walking distance to city center and attractions. Room was very comfortable with a double bed in which you don t want to leave. Room was also very functional with a very clean toilet with nice shower facilities. There is also a free facility of very fast wifi connection for your gadgets and a wifi printer even located in the lobby for visitors` convenience.
Overall Holiday Inn Express might seem a budget level hotels of Holiday Inn but has met our needs more that we have ever expected. I recommend visitors take Breakfast as that s more than enough, healthy and keep you full until your dinner time that you can enjoy in nearby pubs.
There is a free newspaper service that i personally fond of. So you can spend time during your breakfast keeping you busy with your ipods, ipads and reading news.
Also you may reach the biggest shopping mall of Europe in Sheffield thru one of nearby tram stations

Room Tip: Take rooms on the higher floors to enjoy green wiev of Sheffield. If you have the budget also better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mete_canbolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive feedback. I am glad you had a good time in Sheffield.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

One night stopover en route to the North. Arrived late to a friendly welcome. Car park had space, wifi worked and they served Boddingtons in the bar. Had to rush my shower as the restaurant closed early at 22.00hrs, but the receptionist was kind enough to suggest I order by phone and they would have the meal ready. I had it in the restaurant and found the food was fine.
I liked the choice of firm/soft pillows in the room which was quiet and warm.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank push99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Sheffield.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night as I was in Sheffield for an event. It was a good hotel and location was good as there was only a 5 minute walk to the centre and sports complex. The breakfast was good and had a good selection, the rooms were clean and they were very nice. it was a quiet hotel with friendly staff. the only thing was to get to the hotel from the city centre by walking you had to go in dark lanes, im not keen on the dark but that was the only issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Kind regards,

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed here on business this week, and although they have got everything else right, the food was diabolical. The room was perfect, the hotel very well designed, the staff exceptional, but how could they get the food so wrong? One of our party commented as to why another was having porridge with their sausage at breakfast! The meals I did eat left me feeling ill, and on our last night, I couldnt face any of it. I think it speaks volumes that a party of business men ordered Domino's Pizza and it was delivered to them in the bar area!! Boil in the bag and tasteless microwave rubbish. If you are going to serve this, at least make it halfway eatable.

Room Tip: We stayed on different floors and sides of the hotel, everyone said the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbeam57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear sunbeam57,

Thank you for your review about your recent visit with us. It is nice to know that our staff delivered exceptional service and you found our rooms to be comfortable. I regret however that the food was a dissatisfaction. We will forward your comments accordingly to the appropriate departments to consider for enhancements in what we can offer.

While we understand this visit was not 100% satisfactory, we sure hope you can give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

First thing to say is that this hotel, like others in Sheffield City Centre is not that easy to get to - because the one way systems and ring roads are not easy to work your way around. However, having parked up and got to reception, I have to say everything was very good indeed. Friendly and helpful staff on reception, clean and comfortable room with good size shower. Only slight disappointment was breakfast, where I think they could spend a little more and have better food and juices - the orange juice was simple awful and tasted like a chemical concoction! I'd stay here again though for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is located within 5-10 minutes walk of the city centre, the room was very clean, very large and a with a huge double bed. The bathroom was clean as you would expect with a relatively new hotel. Nice big fluffy white towels shower gel provided although in our room it was a bit of a faff to get anything out of it. There was tea and coffee in the room and a decent TV. The shower was enormous and very nice. We were met by very polite and attentive staff and given a room with an excellent view on the corner. Breakfast was good with a good choice, the hot food only consisted of sausage, scrambled egg and beans. The beans could have done with a stir now and then as they were a bit congealed and the scrambled egg was not good but all in all a good breakfast and excellent value. There is a car park at the back of the hotel the charge is £5 per 24 hrs. However there is another car park next door NCP on the way in which appeared to be £2.50 for 24 hours and under cover so worth considering. My only criticism would be that on a visit to the toilet near to reception there did not appear to be any toilet brushes in the gents and consequently were in shall we say "used" state. I am sure the supply of these relatively cheap items would make a difference. Certainly to the person following you! The loo roll was very tight in the holder and was a bit difficult to get out as it was newly replaced a minor issue. Would definitely use again and recommend.

Room Tip: corner rooms higher up give the best view 1602, 1502 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradders1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing