We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, location and rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #13 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value, location and rooms!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I recently spent four nights in a triple room at this hotel, and enjoyed a very pleasant stay. The rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. The bathroom looked very new, and the shower was excellent with plenty of hot water. The free wifi worked well in our room, and the free breakfast every morning was a nice inclusion (the croissants were especially good!). The location was convenient - a 5-10 minute walk into the city and tram stops. The hotel is also located about a 10-15 minute walk from Sheffield train station. Overall a very enjoyable stay and great value for the low cost. I would definitely stay at this hotel next time I am in Sheffield, and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannywobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    386
    131
    28
    14
See reviews for
182
258
40
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for one night when visiting the Crucible Theatre for Oliver! (fantastic by the way). Clean Modern and very efficient hotel(motel) but the bed was THE most uncomfiest I have ever slept on and we hardly slept at all due to the worst matress in the world - fact.
We did mention this on check out and got a £10 reduction form the bill but walked to the station with bad back, cricked neck and aching limbs so PLEASE invest in some new matress's (or at least one for room 1124). We will stay in the Royal Victoria next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenashbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Jenashbel,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced because of the bed conditions. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Bright, modern, well-run, no frills hotel in an interesting location next to the River Don in a rehabilitated historic and former industrial area of old central Sheffield. The room fitout is excellent — as good as many four-star hotels. Nice touches, not often seen in budget hotels, included night light in bathroom, and face towels. Internet — through an external service provider (Swisscom) — was fast and reliable. My room (1722) was well sound-proofed and sleep quality excellent. The breakfast buffet layout is an unremarkable, but adequate, standard English breakfast.

Open-air guest car parking (cost £5 per night) beside the hotel was convenient. The adjacent Wicker Riverside area, and riverside paths along the River Don, offered a pleasant jogging or walking track for early morning exercise.

Overall, excellent value for money. I paid £71 for a night, including breakfast, on a promotional prepaid rate offered through Holiday Inn's website, plus parking. Certainly recommend Holiday Inn Express Sheffield, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better and more interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gato188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a nice little hotel. It is conveniently located, close to the shopping and dining district at the city centre. The taxi ride from the Sheffield train stations costs about GBP5. The room was clean and well maintained by the room service staff. The bed was comfortable. The buffet breakfast was the standard fare, but a peak periods, it may be difficult to get a table. The hotel staff at the reception desk are friendly and helpful and attended to all of my requests promptly. There is a free wifi service, but it can't be used for ipads. Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PranaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here, it is always clean in the bedrooms, how does housekeeping keep the shower cubicle so clean? The location is brilliant only a five minutes walk into town, breakfast was okay what you expect from a free breakfast

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here for one night & I couldn't fault it. The room was very clean, the bed was huge & very comfy. The shower was very spacious. The blackout blinds kept the room dark so we could have a lay in. The room had everything we needed. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of vegetarian options, but like mentioned before.... No bacon, my meat eater boyfriend missed that!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadebabe784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the great feedback and I am glad to know you a good experience staying with us.

With regards to the hot breakfast options, as you might have read below, these are prescribed by the Holiday Inn hotel chain and are part of the standard free breakfast that Express hotels offer, however, we do provide a full English breakfast offer at the adjacent Holiday Inn hotel.

Kind regards,

Markus Brall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a night out in Sheffield and will definitely be staying again. Only a short walk or £5 taxi ride to the bars/nightlife/city centre.
The rooms are lovely, a nice size and spotless. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. The bathroom is faultless. Very good breakfast. Speedy check in, all the staff we dealt with are very friendly and efficient. Keep up the good work, we will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joolz-n-Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to note you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheffield.

Kind regards,

Markus Brall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,326 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing