We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good standard hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed just one night with parking available at acharge of £5 per night.Hotel is spotlessly clean with very pleasant staff.The rooms are of the highest quality with a king size bed and walk in shower.I cannot say enough about the room no complaints and very comfortable.The breakfast is average but plentiful and well cooked.This hotel is just off the city centre and located near the river and we found the walk back from town at 10pm to be poorly lit and lacking in pedestrians . I would be concerned for the single woman staying here and venturing out after dark although we didn't witness any crime but the potential is there.I would stay here again just for the quality of the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metcalfe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Sheffield area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    384
    130
    28
    14
See reviews for
177
254
40
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel is both close to the train station and the city centre which is within walking distance.

We were lucky to get a bedroom with a view over the river. The room was spacious and had a sofa bed as well as a double. The bathroom shower was spacious. Unfortunately our bed was not made up on one night and the room was barely cleaned.

Breakfast is complimentary. The sausages were a bit sweet otherwise the cereal and fruit was good. On the first morning there appeared to be difficulties with coordination as I had to ask for spoons and bread and for the pastries.

Overall the hotel I modern and spacious. Parking is 5pounds a day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMay09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear DaveMay09,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I appreciate your compliments regarding our room being spacious, convenient location and facility modern. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

very nice stay
CHECKIN
nice welcome very nice welcome & smile from a young lady Lucia we asked for a nice high floor with a view she gave us 602 a nice corner room over looking the river don .
ROOM
nice clean tidy well made up .BATH ROOM clean tidy a real nice shower big and clean all shiney chrome and glass very nice big towels not the size of dish cloths like in other hotels.
BAR /DINNER
bar prices normal hotel prices nice selection of food a few starters mains etc. we had gammon and chicken makani with sides £28:00 well cooked and presented looked after by Matt ,Chloe and a nice girl with long flowing hair sorry did not catch name but all very customer focused polite ,chatty gave us lots of information and maps of the area as first time visit to Sheffield
SLEEP/ QUALITY
nice big beds comfy pillows air con or heating in room nice and quiet during the night good double glazing
BREAKFAST
nice selection plenty of continental breakfast choice hot food sausage beans egg (scrambled )
enjoyed breakfast big windows for people watching breakfast staff could may be a bit more interacting ( maybe a good morning or hello would go a long way)
2nd night
once again served by Chloe nice to be remembered food and service good .james looked after us for ordering our taxi for the morning. Friday breakfast a big lad night reception I think was also very polite and chatty with us over all a nice visit we will be back xxxx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allennbarbarahull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEDBURGH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Three night stay at this fantastic hotel. The hotel was excellent value for money and had exceptionally friendly staff. Nothing seemed too much bother. This hotel is clean, modern and located within easy reach of the city centre and train station. The room was also clean and tidy and the beds were so so comfortable. The bathroom was a pleasure to use and the shower had great water pressure resulting in the recipient having a proper ...The free WIFI was an added bonus which worked throughout the hotel. Would I stay again??? Oh definitely...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCIANAMICHELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly knowledgeable staff, lovely comfortable rooms and beds. Just be careful of bus lanes when driving and trying to find the hotel - we got a fine searching for the hotel and hadn't even noticed a bus lane!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RainbowThanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First time at this hotel, excellent value for money. Great staff, clean,modern rooms with a choice of pillows. And FREE WiFi that works anywhere in the hotel. Location is only 15 minutes walk from the train station and the city centre is easily accessible without the need for a taxi.

Room Tip: My room was facing the river and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Otium54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE UK
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stay. Room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fine. Parking wasn't a problem. Excellent value for money. But it was the kind and helpful attitude of the staff which was outstanding. We were in Sheffield for a family funeral so this was much appreciated. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andrewsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing