We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ibis Sheffield City(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staindrop Lodge(Sheffield)
US$173
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Sheffield(Sheffield)
US$117
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveller rating
412
415
135
33
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
415
135
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeans and scrambled eggcity centrestayed herecar parkhi expresssister hotelhot itemslarge showerthe sofa bedhot foodcorner roombudget hotelyogurtponds forgeper daybreakfast was includedgood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
619 - 624 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a fairly new Holiday Inn Express located just on the edge of Sheffield city centre (5 minute walk to the centre).

The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished. My room had two single beds made into a double which made for a good sized bed which was comfortable with a choice of pillows. Bathrooms are small but feature a very good shower. Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean. Rooms are air conditioned which is easy to control (unlike in a lot of hotels). They are also double glazed, so despite having a room overlooking the ring road I wasn't disturbed by traffic noise.

The evening menu available in the restaurant is not that exciting but was reasonably priced and well cooked. The breakfast (included in the price) is the usual Holiday Inn Express standard fayre so nothing to get excited about - but it is free so I guess you can't grumble.

The hotel has a car park charged at £5 per night which is pretty reasonable for a Sheffield hotel. WiFi is free and a good speed.

The staff were all very friendly and efficient and I would certainly consider using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed one night to attend a concert. We had a double room and it was spacious and clean with a view over the river. Fantastic facilities, central location. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Check in/out was swift.
We had breakfast which was included in the price and was tasty. We also had a meal from the bar which had a varied menu and was just as tasty as the breakfast. There was also a Costa Coffee which was a pleasant surprise and perked us up in the morning.
An excellent hotel to stay over. Next time we are in Sheffield we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aimz10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent a night at Holiday Inn and was really disappointed that we were disturbed several times throughout the night with older teenagers returning from a night out and making a nuisance of themselves by either shouting from one end of the corridor to the other or by playing knock and run on the doors.This was confirmed when we overheard the youngsters discussing with friends what they had been up to at breakfast, much to their amusement. We then had the arduous task of breakfast, which ended up like queuing for school dinners as they piled their plates with as much food as they plate could hold. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean but do feel that we could have been told what to expect when we booked in as we would have looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for a hen do, couldn't fault a thing. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and the location ideal for a night out! Had a meal in the hotel restaurant which was also spot on, reasonably priced and quick service.
Be aware the car park isn't huge but there was alternative parking next to the hotel (although it was NCP so I'm guessing expensive!). We paid £5 for parking which from what I gather is a standard price per day.
Overall I would highly recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikerbirdrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the city.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Close to the railway station, trams and bus interchange, city centre and Sheffield Hallam University. Neat modern rooms with wifi and breakfast included, parking available. Iron and ironing board can be collected from reception. Pleasant and helpful staff.
Bar, snacks and evening meals available within the hotel, although there are plenty of fast food outlets nearby, and pubs and restaurants 5-10 minutes walk into the city centre.
Would like to have seen a room safe for laptop and valuables, and biscuits seem to have disappeared so bring your own! Slightly away from the centre so look up the location to save getting lost.

Room Tip: I have been a number of rooms on different floors and they are much the same. It's the other guests that can be a challenge!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that we can welcome back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews