We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Arrived for one night, after finding this hotel via travel supermarket for a good rate for 3 adults with breakfast.
arrived early hoping to book in, but was told the hotel had been fully booked the night before and could not book in until 3 pm.
After shopping we went back to the hotel and discovered that parking as in all of sheffield was not Free. We were charged £5 for each car for a 24hr period. This is the only reason this hotel did not get 5 stars. However just in front of the hotel we found another car park which charges £ 2.50 for 24 hrs so parked there.
On entering the room we found that even though we had booked for 3 the sofa bed was not set up and cups etc were only for two. After a call to reception they sent up house keeping, this is when we met Kenny who came to do the bed etc. I have never been more impressed by an individual working in a British hotel has I have of this man. The service he gave was that of what I have experienced in hotels abroad. He went out of his way to make sure everything was as we wanted and didn't leave until he was sure that all was o.k. The room was at the end, a corner room with a double bed and a double sofa bed. The bathroom was large and clean.
We didn't and was not told that we could eat a evening meal in the hotel so ventured into sheffield. The breakfast in the morning was excellent and filling.

Room Tip: Park at rear of hotel if you want cheaper parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz-jezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    377
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
171
248
39
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in room 1619 the mattress was completely shot so on the second night I asked the (great) staff if they'd make up the (broken) sofa bed. Breakfast was fine and the room was.well presented... just don't go if you want a goods nights rest

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markrushworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear markrushworth,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the mattress. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Holiday Inn Express is - basically - okay. It is clean (bathroom a bit tatty, not spotless) and it has a car park. The communal areas are smartly done.

Too many drawbacks though: the bed wasn't comfy, the room too hot, the lifts insufficient for a big hotel, and basically it's overcharging for something no different to a travelodge. Breakfast was horrible, powdered egg - really? Why?

Staff were friendly but not local - most Sheffield hotels have exemplary staff with brilliant local knowledge, but not here. I didn't get that "oh, I'm home" feeling.

Shame: arguably this is the best located hotel in the town, and they could easily make it better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepysand2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Sleepysand2014,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation particularly with breakfast. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel, room was very nice and comfortable only problems were the noise at the earlier hours of the morning people arguing in other rooms and corridors, breakfast could have been better it was very basic could have offered a lot more choice but apart from that we really enjoyed our stay in this hotel

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is a fairly new Holiday Inn Express located just on the edge of Sheffield city centre (5 minute walk to the centre).

The rooms are spacious and tastefully furnished. My room had two single beds made into a double which made for a good sized bed which was comfortable with a choice of pillows. Bathrooms are small but feature a very good shower. Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean. Rooms are air conditioned which is easy to control (unlike in a lot of hotels). They are also double glazed, so despite having a room overlooking the ring road I wasn't disturbed by traffic noise.

The evening menu available in the restaurant is not that exciting but was reasonably priced and well cooked. The breakfast (included in the price) is the usual Holiday Inn Express standard fayre so nothing to get excited about - but it is free so I guess you can't grumble.

The hotel has a car park charged at £5 per night which is pretty reasonable for a Sheffield hotel. WiFi is free and a good speed.

The staff were all very friendly and efficient and I would certainly consider using this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night to attend a concert. We had a double room and it was spacious and clean with a view over the river. Fantastic facilities, central location. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Check in/out was swift.
We had breakfast which was included in the price and was tasty. We also had a meal from the bar which had a varied menu and was just as tasty as the breakfast. There was also a Costa Coffee which was a pleasant surprise and perked us up in the morning.
An excellent hotel to stay over. Next time we are in Sheffield we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimz10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent a night at Holiday Inn and was really disappointed that we were disturbed several times throughout the night with older teenagers returning from a night out and making a nuisance of themselves by either shouting from one end of the corridor to the other or by playing knock and run on the doors.This was confirmed when we overheard the youngsters discussing with friends what they had been up to at breakfast, much to their amusement. We then had the arduous task of breakfast, which ended up like queuing for school dinners as they piled their plates with as much food as they plate could hold. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean but do feel that we could have been told what to expect when we booked in as we would have looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing