We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay very pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent stay very pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the holiday inn express on Easter weekend so my husband and I could watch the snooker world championships. Booked it quite late on, we normally stay further in the town centre.

Only one negative which has been mentioned on other reviews, the parking was £5 per day. Pretty terrible really when there is a NCP a stones throw away for only £2.50. We didn't notice this until we had checked in and paid for the parking at the hotel for 3 days.

The rest of it was brilliant, we had an efficient check in, very large corner room massive bed. Very clean, tea and coffee facilities.

Breakfast was nice considering it was free, selection of pastries, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, toast. A bit of hot food available, scrambled, egg (runny yak) and baked beans. Orange juice apple juice and a selection of coffees and teas. All self service but for the price it was really nice.

The staff were pleasant and efficient, and we had lovely nights sleep on all three nights. We will probably stay closer to the crucible next time but that's nothing against the hotel just we are lazy!! :D

Definitely stay people it lovely and clean and quite and get a nice breakfast for a really good price :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gem-marie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that you will change your mind and stay with us the next time that you are in the Sheffield.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    368
    125
    27
    12
See reviews for
163
243
38
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've stayed at quite a lot of hotels in England but this was the most affordable. Nice clean room, good shower and breakfast. I've always wondered why sleeping on hotel pillows usually feel like sleeping on a curb, but not at Holiday Inn Express in Sheffield. You get two different types of pillows, one soft and one firm, I slept like a baby. Next time I visit my favorite city in England will I stay here for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DIF1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It is always very pleasing to hear such positive comments about the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Sheffield.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife and 9 month old daughter and was pleasantly surprised by how amazing it was. The place is very clean and staff are very friendly. 15 minute walk to the town and a 15 minute drive to meadowhall. A great stay and I will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Sheffield.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Easter weekend, fast efficient check in . Given lots of suggestions and things to do in sheffield with a map of the area . Room was a twin room as that was all that was available when we checked in , saying that it was clean and comfortable with a very nice modern bathroom with huge shower .breakfast was basic but plentiful , car park did get full so parking was tight .all in all a pleasant stay .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank irishchick63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel itself was ok. Rooms were clean but could do with some TLC. The biggest issue was the food and the free breakfast that comes with the hotel this should be avoided at all cost. The restaurant was in chaos when we arrived we had to clear and wipe our own table. Every available table was full of dirty plates and cups. There was no plates ,Knives ,forks but I suppose that shouldn't have been an issue as there was no food either. The staff were run ragged. We had gone to a concert and the hotel was fully booked so they should have expected it to be busy and made provisions. Needless to say I will not be visiting that hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone who likes to have a decent meal

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Doris2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Doris 2213
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were sorry to read that you were disappointed with breakfast. It is a Holiday Inn Express brand standard to offer breakfast to our guests free of charge. This consists of a Continental breakfast plus three hot items; sausage, beans and scrambled egg and we are limited to the number of items we are able to offer our guests to those prescribed by the brand. We are also sorry that you also found the service to be a little disorganised. This was a busy bank holiday morning and although we had staffed accordingly, we did have an unusually large influx of guests arrive for breakfast at the same time and we are sorry if this affected the service you received on this occasion. We would like to assure you that this is not our normal high standard and we apologise for any inconvenience which may have been caused. We do hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future and allowing us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped in a double room for 1 night and was VERY impressed with the room- the double bed was very big and extremely comfy and the bathroom was done to a very high standard with a big very good shower. Breakfast was just ok with cereal, yoghurt, juice tea coffee etc and sausage , scrambled eggs and beans.
Would stop here again very good location for centre of sheffield and near motorway and 10 mins from meadowhall.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redwiz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Not fond of technology but glad we had sat nav to find this hotel, car park is small and £5 per night. Had a warm and professional welcome from Parage, before making our way to a large room on the 5th floor. Very impressed with the room, it's cleanliness, warmth, and facilities. The bathroom not the usual Express kind, it had a large shower with a glass door, was impeccably clean and modern. We ate in the hotel in the evening, the food and service (thanks to Chloe and Grace) were good, the menu fairly comprehensive and competitively priced. After a good night's sleep we ventured down for breakfast, it was busy, the staff on duty did a sterling job keeping on top of clearing the tables and restocking the buffet.
This hotel, surrounded by many other hotels, isn't in the most salubrious area of Sheffield, but it is to be recommended and worth finding.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing