We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, sleek, budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“clean, sleek, budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Close to the city centre and train station; about five minutes walk from each. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming and the building was brand new with a stylish budget look. The rooms were really nice, large and spacious. The shower was a highlight and was very good, the bed was large and comfortable. All in all the rooms did the job.

The only negative was the restaurant which was appalling; its a long story of our dinner experience, but after an hour and twenty minutes of waiting for food I gave up and requested to change it to a sandwich which was ready made. Apology was lacking and took two of us two people and two attempts to get compensated for the meal and sandwich. From what I gathered this wasn't a one off. We were in a large group from an event but the food came out one plate at a time with no one eating at the same time. Staff were friendly but didn't have the training to deal with the situation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteTiger20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    372
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
168
244
39
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Went to the city for a night out and found the hotel to have the best prices around. Checking in was made very easy and hassle free by the friendly staff. The room itself was clean and well maintained with plenty of towels. The double bed was very spacious offering both soft and firm pillows. There was also a TV and access to free wi-fi. Breakfast in the morning offered a range to choose from including cereals, toast, pastries and cooked breakfast. The restaurant was busy but staff were able to keep up with the demand. A very pleasurable stay and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay close to the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also decent, although rather busy on Monday morning - we had some trouble finding a seat, and the food kept getting depleted faster than they could replenish it. The car lot is rather small, but one night when it was overflowing, we were able to go to the desk and they had us park next door at their sister lot for the same price. It was slightly annoying the day we were able to sleep in to have the garbage trucks rather loudly beeping and clanking below our 6th story window, audibly through the glass, and we saw them other days on our way out, so I believe they are there daily at 8:30, so if you're a light sleeper and intend to sleep past 8:30, you may want to rethink that. It was a short half mile to the train station, so we were able to walk there with our bags when we left Sheffield.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmoore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My dad and I shared a twin room for 1 night as we went to see the World Snooker Championship final. The hotel staff were very friendly, the hotel as well as the room was very clean and comfortable and we both thought very affordable.

Room Tip: We had a twin room for 1 night, it was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Free wifi also which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Sheffield.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
273 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was my second visit to the HIE and, once again, it was very good. The whole hotel is kept spotless and the staff were all very efficient and helpful. My room was spacious, with a huge bed, excellent shower and good TV - very comfortable.

Breakfast was very good and, as a vegetarian, there was plenty of choice. There was a decent bar with a reasonable choice of drinks.


It is very handy for The Crucible which is no nore than 15 minutes stroll away

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboyPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was pleased to hear that you had enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel is located by the river about 15 minute walk from city centre. Hotel looks new and twin room was spacious, bathroom spotlessly clean and brand new, very well sound-proofed. Beds were wide, shower was nice and there were plenty of channels on TV to choose from, both national and international. English buffet breakfast was more than adequate. How much does it cost? I paid £50 per night for a twin room. They call themselves budget hotel, I'd call them excellent choice for the price!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you commented our hotel is 3 years old so is still quite new.
We hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to the Sheffield area.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I live in Gibraltar but when traveling back to Sheffield to visit family and friends this place is always my first choice. The rooms are clean,modern and comfortable. The walkin shower is one of the best I have ever used. They can provide you with emergency supplies such as toothbrush and paste, razor and comb for free! All the staff are wonderful and will go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. A special mention has to go to Elisabeth on reception who always makes our stay extra special with her warm smile and friendly happy go lucky attitude. Keep up the good work guys! Be seeing you all again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am always pleased to hear that certain staff really went the extra mile in making your stay and I will certainly pass on your comments to Liz.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing