We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Modbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here in mid-July for a reunion and was initially pleased with the service at reception and the room itself. Unfortunately, it was the breakfast which let the hotel down. The hot choice was restricted to scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. No bacon, no fried eggs, no mushrooms or hash browns - in short no traditional English breakfast. The juices were from a machine and awful. Other aspects weren't too bad but the overall impression was very underwhelming VFM given that the hotel was not particularly cheap. Shame because it is very located just outside the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilgS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you liked your room and the service you received at reception.

I am sorry that you felt the breakfast did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately the standard for a holiday inn express hot start breakfast is a continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage and beans available as a hot choice.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    372
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
167
244
39
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked this hotel last minute as a night away for my boyfriends birthday. The location was good a short walk to the city centre, don't get me wrong it seemed to be on the less "glamorous" side of the city however it took less than 10minutes.
The manager in charge Parag Tawade was lovely so friendly and helpful gave us a map of the city and told us where all the local bars and resturants were. The room itself was modern and very clean floor to celling windows with good city views. Would defo recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will also pass on your comments to Parag.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel about 10 minutes before we set off to Sheffield for the weekend and it was quite late when we got there.

Parking was easy and it only cost £5 for the night. We got a bit lost trying to find the reception but not too badly and we were soon checked in!

We were on the first floor and it overlooked the river, it was a beautiful view.

The bed was huge! And it took me about 2 and a half rolls to get to my partner laid on the other side. There was a stain on the carpet next to the bed that didn't look very pleasant (picture to follow).

After arriving I decided to have a quick shower before we went out, the shower was beautiful with black tiles and it was very refreshing! My only concern was the bits of mould that could be seen on the grout... (I have a picture but it isn't very clear!)

We went out for the night and came back and just fell asleep! The next morning we woke up just in time to get ready and check out before 12pm but we missed our free breakfast as we weren't informed of when it would be open in the morning when we checked in :( (spoons is was then!)

My partner informed me just as we left the room that there was a sock under the chair that wasn't ours... It didn't look too cracking and I have no idea how long it had been there!

Other than that, the hotel was a lovely stay! I enjoyed myself and despite the mouldy shower, stained floor and sock under the chair, I would consider coming back again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Homozygous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.
I am sorry that you were not informed about the breakfast on your arrival, I have spoken with the reception team to ensure that this incident does not happen again.
I can also assure you that the details that you mentioned regarding cleanliness have been addressed.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this last minute on Friday and got a great room that was spacious, comfortable and relaxing.
Cleanliness however was poor, lots of cobwebs and a mouldy old sock under the sofa.
However this didn't ruin the visit. Parking is a fiver, however there is a multi-story next door that charge £2.50. Will stay again, but not at full price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank srotideuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I was pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.
I was disappointed to read that the cleanliness of your room was not of our normal standard and I can assure you that this issue has now been addressed.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandivali, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had second stay at holiday inn express in sheffield for long days . First time I've been in September 2013 for 20 days continues we had enjoyed staying bcoz location was superb and staff are fully cooperative , rooms are clean and tidy . So second time we came for 15 days at same hotel everything was fine .. as my son is studying at university of Sheffield and more 4 yrs we are going to be at Sheffield but third time we will not stay at hotel inn express bcoz we disappointed from ihg rewards cards system ...my membership no 908597904 and I have been updated any points for all this stay as per there rules for discount rates ... I had informed my hotel person that I am getting any discount on my stay at holiday inn express. ...at Sheffield.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ashit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us.
Unfortunately IHG reward points are not offered on certain rates, however we do offer a best rate guarantee on our rates both on our website and when you book direct with us. Both of which would qualify for IHG reward points.
We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a large family group. Both my mom and my aunt had stuff stolen from their room and the staff treated them as if they were the ones that did something wrong. Serious training in how to deal with upset customers is desperately needed!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Jamila D,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel with my wife to attend my brother in laws graduation day. The car park was ample and at £5 overnight Ok, this was paid for at check in which was super slick. We were given a room on the 4th floor overlooking the canal which was superb. We had a bed which must have been a queen size as I had to roll about 3 times to meet my wife on the other side. The room was clean and the bathroom was spotless with a massive shower which was lovely. My only gripe and this isn't the hotels fault is that we were on the other side of the city to where the university was. We didn't cab it and decided to walk through the high street not realising that Sheffield is quite hilly, suffice to say that in the evening we got a cab. In the morning we went down for breakfast which is free and consists of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, toast, sausages, scrambled egg, beans, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices fantastic selection for no cost. Overall we would stay here again at the same rate we got it for (£51 a night) thank you to all the staff especially the night desk guy who gave us some extra milk for the room tea and coffee.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank London09Watford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the choice and variety at breakfast.

I hope that we can welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing