We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the trick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Does the trick”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

HI stayed for 6 nights during a recent sporting event. Hotel is very close to the town and facilities including parking. The rooms are a good size and extremely clean. Beds are comfortable, although quite "springy". Had a good nights sleep on most of the nights and the staff were very accommodating. Great AC, which was much appreciated because it was hot weather during our stay. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired, cooked breakfast consists of sausages, luke warm beans and something that resembles scrambled egg, but best avoided in my opinion. Plenty of good tea and toast though.

Would recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear car park are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesb531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear julesb531,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    377
    128
    27
    12
See reviews for
171
248
39
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Initial impressions were ok however as I arrived a little early for check inn I was asked to wait as rooms weren't ready .
Other guests were arriving and getting rooms so after 20 mins I asked how long it would be . The staff at this point were quite rude , gave no eye contact , thrust a piece of paper for signature and produced a key card . The room was ok but the mattress so soft in the middle it was very uncomfortable , not what I'd expected . As we were only there for one night there was no point complaining just something to be aware of . Breakfast was good though .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wires66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry to learn that you did not have a good check in experience with us. I have taken note on your comments and will be discussing with the team as this is not the usual type of service that is expected.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast selection.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel in august. It's good value but don't have the breakfast it's not very good if you like a cooked full English. But the rest is OK. The rooms are very good. And the staff are OK

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.
With regards to breakfast, unfortunately the Holiday Inn Express Hot breakfast only includes sausage, scrambled eggs and beans and is not a full English breakfast. We do offer a wide variety of continental items as well which I hoped you enjoyed.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

For £60 a night for a triple room, you can't complain. The room had lots of tea and coffee, a hair dryer, plenty of plug sockets and a decent tv. The air con was a life saver and the shower was amazing! It was all very clean as well. The only problem I had was that the beds were so uncomfortable. Each of the 3 nights I barely slept, so this was a huge problem. The breakfast wasn't very nice, but the room was packed full of people and everyone was eating so I must have been a fussy customer. The staff were polite and very friendly. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to people if I needed to.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHillsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here in mid-July for a reunion and was initially pleased with the service at reception and the room itself. Unfortunately, it was the breakfast which let the hotel down. The hot choice was restricted to scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. No bacon, no fried eggs, no mushrooms or hash browns - in short no traditional English breakfast. The juices were from a machine and awful. Other aspects weren't too bad but the overall impression was very underwhelming VFM given that the hotel was not particularly cheap. Shame because it is very located just outside the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilgS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you liked your room and the service you received at reception.

I am sorry that you felt the breakfast did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately the standard for a holiday inn express hot start breakfast is a continental breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage and beans available as a hot choice.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked this hotel last minute as a night away for my boyfriends birthday. The location was good a short walk to the city centre, don't get me wrong it seemed to be on the less "glamorous" side of the city however it took less than 10minutes.
The manager in charge Parag Tawade was lovely so friendly and helpful gave us a map of the city and told us where all the local bars and resturants were. The room itself was modern and very clean floor to celling windows with good city views. Would defo recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will also pass on your comments to Parag.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We booked the hotel about 10 minutes before we set off to Sheffield for the weekend and it was quite late when we got there.

Parking was easy and it only cost £5 for the night. We got a bit lost trying to find the reception but not too badly and we were soon checked in!

We were on the first floor and it overlooked the river, it was a beautiful view.

The bed was huge! And it took me about 2 and a half rolls to get to my partner laid on the other side. There was a stain on the carpet next to the bed that didn't look very pleasant (picture to follow).

After arriving I decided to have a quick shower before we went out, the shower was beautiful with black tiles and it was very refreshing! My only concern was the bits of mould that could be seen on the grout... (I have a picture but it isn't very clear!)

We went out for the night and came back and just fell asleep! The next morning we woke up just in time to get ready and check out before 12pm but we missed our free breakfast as we weren't informed of when it would be open in the morning when we checked in :( (spoons is was then!)

My partner informed me just as we left the room that there was a sock under the chair that wasn't ours... It didn't look too cracking and I have no idea how long it had been there!

Other than that, the hotel was a lovely stay! I enjoyed myself and despite the mouldy shower, stained floor and sock under the chair, I would consider coming back again!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Homozygous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us.
I am sorry that you were not informed about the breakfast on your arrival, I have spoken with the reception team to ensure that this incident does not happen again.
I can also assure you that the details that you mentioned regarding cleanliness have been addressed.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#21 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing