We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More B&B than hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Asked for a twin room. Beds still pushed together. No new loo roll in the room on arrival. Staff had no personality on check in, complete opposite of welcoming. Awful TV reception. Curiously outside looks like a new build, inside it looks like something from the 60s. More B&B than hotel to be honest.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srw0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your experience at Ibis Sheffield City Centre. I appreciate all feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Good central location, excellent value for money, all staff very helpful and friendly, close to train and bus station,food a bit expensive and no HD tv in room though,plenty of pubs and other places to eat near by

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

I'm delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, my team and I really appreciate your review. Thank you for staying with us and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Reception was so rude we cancelled the booking and advised we would never come back, for this late rooms charge us £33, Disgusting. Instead stayed at Garrison hotel nearby, much nicer - would recommend.

Room Tip: Try Garrison Hotel, similar price but much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jluker4470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

I am really sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations at Ibis Sheffield City Centre. I treat all comments with utmost seriousness. Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback as this will enable me to continuously improve on the customer care service we provide.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I paid a budget price for this hotel after booking a long way in advance. Definitely got my money's worth and then some. It was in walking distance from the station, the universities, and the city centre. Friendly, helpful staff, comfy bed and lots of hot water.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Havepassortwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

I'm delighted that you found our facilities and location ideal for your visit. My team and I really appreciate your review. Thank you for staying with us and hope that we can welcome you back when you next visit Sheffield.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Even the sign of the hotel is not much well obeserved but the overall of services are very good. The reception staff is very helpful and kindness. Morning breakfast is simply basic you need for starting your day. If I return to Sheffield again, I recommend this Ibis branch for your over night just a two minutes walk behind the Fitzaland square and Pond Forge tram station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank satalak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

I'm delighted that you and your friends had an enjoyable time with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre and found our location ideal for your visit. My team and I really appreciate your review and hope that we can welcome you back when you next visit Sheffield.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here on business in 2012 having obtained a friend's booking through circumstance. I was really impressed with the Ibis, particularly given the low price. Great transport links into town and out to the station. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to be in Sheffield!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yclepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Many thanks for posting your positive comments on here, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Ibis Sheffield City Centre. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheffield in the future.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Fast and courteous service at the reception. Clean room. Mild sewer smell in the bathroom, but airing the room well helped.

(I find it stupid that TripAdvisor requires 200 characters minimum. How man characters do I have now? There is no counter to tell me. Let's see if it gets accepted now.)

Room Tip: Only a few minutes walk to the city centre or a very short tram ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

My team and I very much appreciate your kind review and we hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing