We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff by phone.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff by phone.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Needed to stay for one night last week (Oct 13) and also wanted to check in very early but then would be out of the city until after midnight. Tried email but no response so gave them a telephone call on the day before the stay. Young lady on the phone was very polite and offered (without me asking) a very early check in (1130). I thought that was very good service for a budget hotel.

Room was very nice and clean - only problem (my fault) was the alarm clock time hadn't been moved back an hour after the end of summer time so I got up an hour early!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonStump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
I'm very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. My team and I appreciate your kind words and hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    287
    144
    45
    27
See reviews for
74
200
114
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

In Sheffield for a wedding and stayed here at the Ibis. Really good value, lovely staff, nice clean room, 24 hour room service, nice breakfast and voucher for 24 car park just across the road. Faultless really. Fabulous.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jolois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
My team and I very much appreciate your kind review and glad that you had an enjoyable time in Sheffield. We hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Generally have had good experiences of IBIS hotels, and the Sheffield Branch kept up to expectations. Friendly accomodating staff. Good value. Nice comfortable rooms had a great nights sleep. Good selection of movies can be rented in the room. Ideal for a no frills business traveller in need of rest. Central enough to Sheffield. Would stay again if doing business there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLittlestHobo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for posting this review, we appreciate your positive feedback and we hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre when you next visit Sheffield on business..
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is the usual standard Ibis hotel so you know exactly what to expect from the rooms - average size, comfortable bed, clean and functional. There were one of two minor maintenance issues (slightly leaky shower, loose light fitting) but other than the hotel was clean and well presented.

The hotel is centrally located, just a couple of minutes walk from the city centre and discounted parking is available in the QPark multi-storey next door.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was the usual decent choice. WiFi is free and a good speed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
I'm very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. My team and I appreciate your kind words in respect of your stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Asked for a twin room. Beds still pushed together. No new loo roll in the room on arrival. Staff had no personality on check in, complete opposite of welcoming. Awful TV reception. Curiously outside looks like a new build, inside it looks like something from the 60s. More B&B than hotel to be honest.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srw0151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your experience at Ibis Sheffield City Centre. I appreciate all feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Good central location, excellent value for money, all staff very helpful and friendly, close to train and bus station,food a bit expensive and no HD tv in room though,plenty of pubs and other places to eat near by

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I'm delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, my team and I really appreciate your review. Thank you for staying with us and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#38 of 53 in Sheffield
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Property: Ibis Sheffield City
Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing