We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Almoradi, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great stay at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Ibis Sheffield City is quietly located near Park Square and close to city centre shops and within a 5 minute walk from the bus interchange and about 8/9 minutes from the train station.
As usual, I was on a fairly tight budget, but was pleasantly surprised by the affordable rate shown for this hotel.
The check-in was friendly and efficient and I requested the optional good value English buffet breakfast offer as I knew from previous visits that this would sustain me for the rest of the following day.
Rooms at the hotel are en suit, quite spacious, clean, quiet and have nice comfortable beds that guarantee a good night's sleep. There is also multi-channel TV, tea/coffee making facilities and Wi-Fi available, although I did not use the latter.
There are bars and restaurants fairly close to the hotel, but you can also get snacks, meals and drinks in the hotel until quite late.
Both breakfast and check-out staff were friendly and helpful and so I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ibis Sheffield City to others as it offered very good value, comfort and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for another very generous review, my team and I really do appreciate your kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    265
    144
    43
    24
See reviews for
70
187
110
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

As a regular at Ibis hotels I knew that the check in would be fast and efficient plus we were allocated a room suitable for disabilities at my request. The room was clean & spacious but here is the big warning :- the floor of the shower when wet is lethal and I did a full dive onto the floor and bruised a very delicate part of the sitting down equipment. There is a very small notice in the shower that bathmats are available but I would suggest these should be mandatory in the disabled rooms. Hotel good but showers deadly !!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyandAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. My team and I appreciate your review and I take your comments in respect of the shower very seriously. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I really wish more hotels were like this! It was afordable, in the middle of the city centre yet hidden away from all the noise and lights. The check in was easy, the room was big and spacious, the shower was perfect, the bed was comfy! I guess the only thing I'd ask for would be more tv channels. I had to leave early so I didn't get the chance to try the full English/buffet breakfast but I know I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We're really grateful for your "Perfect Stay" review and also note your comments, my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the Ibis hotel in Sheffield city centre for one night as we were going to the Drake concert at Motorpoint Arena.This was a great budget hotel in a fantastic city centre location. We were only 10 mins walk from the train station and the shops, bars and restaurants were all nearby. It was a little difficult finding the hotel so better directions are needed.The staff were all very polite and helpful. We were particularly impressed with the price of our twin room for the night. Our room had most amenities however we would have liked a bin in our room not just in the bathroom. The check out time of 12pm was great and there was a place where we could leave our luggage, however we had to pay £2 for this whereas at other hotels it has been free. We didn't realise that we could order food late at night as well and there was a midnight snack menu which we missed so maybe this could be more well advertised in the hotel as we would definitely have used it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor and at the back of the hotel so you aren't disturbed by any outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Many thanks for posting your review, we appreciate all of your comments, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Ibis Sheffield City Centre and look forward to welcoming you back to Sheffield in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

hotel was very clean. the staff were very helpful a good king size bed .it was very nicely decorated. it was a liittle way out of the city but well served with bus stop and tram connections good value for the money

Room Tip: higher room better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 427tonyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, my team and I really appreciate your "friendly" review. I hope that we can welcome you back when you next visit Sheffield.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Property: Ibis Sheffield City
Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing