We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to sheffield city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
poole
Level Contributor
180 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Central to sheffield city centre”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wouldn't normally have stayed in an ibis but since I was paying then the £31 advanced rate from hotels.com was a great incentive. Wasn't let down by the hotel either. Pros. Very friendly staff, clean and relatively spacious room and very quiet. Free newspaper from a desk to right of reception and half price parking at the secure Q carparking immediately diagonally across from the hotel. £7.50 for 24 hours stay. 10 min walk to sheffield Hallam university and the central shops. Cons. None really ...maybe if I am being picky then the free internet appeared slow and the bathroom was a plastic contraption obviously made in a factory and hoisted into place when the hotel was built. But no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
My team and I very much appreciate your review and glad that you found our location to be ideal for your visit. We do hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    275
    144
    45
    24
See reviews for
71
194
113
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here while on a trip to watch the snooker in the crucible. We arrived in Sheffield very early, but the girl on the desk was very helpful: gave us a map of the city and directions and also organised a room very quickly. Location was also very convenient to the city centre.
The room was a little tired and the building old - the windows were single glazed, meaning it was easy to hear noise from outside. The room also had a door connecting to another bedroom, which meant the guests next door spent half the night trying to open the door and gain access. However, the bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable, which is all we needed .
We didn't eat in the hotel, apart from buying a packet of crisps (not cheap at a pound for a small bag!) from the very chatty night porter.
Overall, I would stay again as it offered good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to avoid noise from outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66dunaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I'm very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. My team and I appreciate your kind words and we are so pleased that you found Ibis Sheffield City Centre ideal for your visit to the Crucible Theatre. We hope that we can welcome you back next year or sooner.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on business when no other option was available. Room rate was pretty cheap - c£40 per night - so for that you probably can't expect much - but these days the budget market is pretty competitive (Premier Inn, Travelodge, Jurys Inn, Holiday Inn Express - all have sites close by) and in my view this Ibis needs to raise its game to compete. The room was very basic and as others relate too, tired and slightly shabby. The bathroom pod was however pretty good and the bed was actually pretty cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was OK, though I've had much better in other Ibis hotels I've stayed in. For me, this is a last resort if the other options are not available until and unless it is refurbished.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMacToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thankyou for your review and i'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We would like to advise that we have ongoing investments in reburshments at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, all beds have recently been replaced and many rooms have recently received new carpets. We continually seek to upgrade guest facilities by, for example the provision of free Wi Fi throughout the hotel. We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in due course.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and we were disappointed with the standard. The room was OK, except the window didn't open properly. The room felt tired. The TV!! Still a 4:3 size, only a few basic channels available, no 'red button' facility. Breakfast was OK, but marred by lack of choice of cereals. Not the sort of standard I expect from Ibis - and having completed their questionnaire, I just get an apologetic email - nothing else (and I am a LeClub Accor Silver card holder!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your overall experience at Ibis Sheffield City Centre. I appreciate all feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. We do have an ongoing reburshment program and upgrade to facilities, one of which is a Group wide improvement in the television systems which will be implemented in ibis Sheffield City Centre in due course.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxfordUK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Easy to get to the tram and the city centre. Free Wifi and discounted parking - car park just across the road. Room and corridors are slightly shabby but comfy bed and brilliant shower! Ideal as a base in the centre of Sheffield.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HShilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, my team and I really appreciate your review. Just to let you know that we have an ongoing refurbishment programme and, following the replacement and upgrade of all the beds many rooms have now had the carpets replaced. We hope that we can welcome you back when you next visit Sheffield.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikeja, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

change of date was refused despite my explanations and pleas from booking.com. The receptionist was so offhand i let the money go instead of going to a place where you place monetary gain over the guest.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jibe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, however, specific terms and conditions apply to varying reservations and rates chosen by the guest at the time of booking.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Property: Ibis Sheffield City
Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing