We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #24 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reims
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2008

www.accorhotels.com offer the best rates ever.
We booked a £10 off promotion on last minute and this offer was still available. We paid £55 for the night.
We did stay once in Travelodge next door (never again).
Ibis is 100% better!
Staff has been really friendly all the time.
Great product/service for this price.
Bed was a little bit too hard but we slept well. I personnally prefer this kind of bed to Travelodge's ones.
The location is great: town centre, tram, train/bus station, etc.
We did not care about the pub next door. I saw someone's comment. Honestly we walked back to the hotel at 2pm and we did not worry for our security (2 girls).

  • Liked — everything!!!!!!
  • Disliked — no hair dryer
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank caro1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    287
    144
    45
    27
See reviews for
74
200
114
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2008

This is a must view. We stayed in the city center to go to Linkin Park at sheffield arena. At first there was a wonderful atmosphere in the hotel and me and my mum were greeted by a big smiling receptionist who booked us in quick and in no time we were in are room. (note. I was under the impression the lift was very unsteady). Breakfast was very varied there was a big range of foods to offer. This hotel is very close to the city center and the train station as well as the trams. For a "double room" there was a massive double bed as well as a smaller bed. There was masses of room.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff, Atmosphere, Beds, View, Area
  • Disliked — Lifts kinder scared me a bit !
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lost_the_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Stayed here for one night, we went to see a show. the hotel is situated in a scary area, the pub next door looked god awful. The area around there is scary, there is no parking.
The bed is a peice of foam on a wooden board and the bathroom is non-exisistent. The road outside is very noisy.
I expected the hotel to be cheap and cheerfull, we weren't expecting luxury, however this hotel was more than sub standard.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyanna118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

The Ibis is good value for money and you get what you pay for. The bedrooms are basic but functional, however the bed is very hard it appears to be a mattress on a piece of hardboard! The hotel is centrally located and good if you are staying for one night in Sheffield but I would not recommend it for any longer, you might get a bad back
I used the resturant the food was OK nothing special but was in line with expectations for a hotel of this type.
I would use the hotel again for a one night stay.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 01Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2008

Well, on the plus side, great location (adjacent to tram stop, Ponds Forge Sports Arena and shops. Prices typical for this mid-level chain but higher than local Travel Inn offering similar standards. Shower in non smoking room great but could the rooms get any smaller? TV remote broken, missing bulb in bedside light, debris (sweet wrappers) behind headboard area. Staff attentive on check and departure but really indifferent over a decidedly poor continental breakfast (£5.25 - ouch !). Couldn't raise any staff to get a coffee after 9pm even though a 24 hour snack service advertised. OK for a single night but I would certainly not wish to remain longer. Next time will persuade business to stump up for a better quality hotel or will stay in the Premier Travel Inn up the road (Costa Coffee attached so a reasonable shot of caffeine guaranteed !)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Tiny, dirty rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Theomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

Stayed here for a Saturday night out in Sheffield, hotel near the Ponds Forge Tram, and very easy to find off the main parkway roundabout, very well sign posted.

The foyer was very nice, the staff very friendly, the room was a bit smelly though, although it was a smoking room which we didnt mind as it was a very quiet room (we slept with the window open all night).

The bathroom was a bit smelly i think it was the drains (although bonus shower gel included!). Great value, we got the room for £38 which is a bargain, 24 hour food/bar, lots of facilties on site. Car Park right next door, (Q Park) was £10.50 for 24 hours.

Tip park at Ponds Forge and the parking for 24 hours is only £5.00. Late check out on Saturday and Sundays @2pm!!!! Which was fabboo. Tea and Coffee making facitlies. I think if you can get booked in early enough.. stay here it is a bargain at £38.00!

  • Liked — Well signposted, quiet location, tea+coffee making facilities, nice sized room, 24 food, late check out.
  • Disliked — Smelly bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tdawber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H2891, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Ibis in Sheffield. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, F.Parmentier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

this hotel has crammed as many rooms into the building a spossible the staff are not very helpful and the area that the hotel is in is plagued by rats. it is in the market end of sheffield and is very scruffy. the cleanliness inside the hotel is ok but i wouldn't stay here again

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_d_wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Sheffield Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Property: Ibis Sheffield City
Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing