We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Customer Service but nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad Customer Service but nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This stay was spoilt by a rude receptionist who demanded I swipe my debit card despite booking on line. This was because of THEIR fraud problems. She could not explain this properly and was impolite .


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your experience at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, I appreciate all feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously, however with all pre paid rates, it is stated in the terms & conditions that the card used for payment needs to be produced for verification. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    265
    144
    43
    24
See reviews for
70
187
110
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel very close to city centre and train station. Very close to the hotel there is a bicycle path running along a small river. Nice route for jogging. There is also free wifi. I have not had breakfast because it seemed expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We're very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I'm so pleased that you found our location was ideal for you visit and I hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future and to try our buffet breakfast.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting sheffield for a concert. The staff were friendly, room was clean although the carpets have had their day. Good value for money so can't fault it. Wouldn't stay here for a long break away though!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
My team and I really appreciate your review and comments about your short stay. We have an ongoing refurbishment program which includes replacing carpets in all of the rooms, some of which were completed very recently. We do hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel needs a refurb but it is priced to reflect its current condition, so it is good value. In the summer, the absence of working air conditioners/air coolers is a real problem if your room overlooks the tramway and ring-road and you can''t sleep through traffic noise with your window open. I've stayed in 5 rooms here and have yet to find an air cooler that works. The TV offer is out-of-date but the internet is free which might make up for this issue. The breakfast is standard Ibis, which I actually quite like - reasonable choice for a fair price. 5 minutes walk to the City Centre.

Room Tip: Room at the back have no view but you can sleep with the window open in the heat of the Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for posting your review, we appreciate all of your comments, In respect of the air recirculation system our staff are available 24 hours to assist in any query that you may have during your stay. We are delighted to advise that Ibis Sheffield City Centre is included in the upgrading of its television system which is in the process of being implemented throughout the Group.We hope that this and our continuing refurbishment program allows you to chose to stay with us once again on your visit to Sheffield.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I booked originally on the location to Sheffield and the transport system, for it´s price and the free wifi.

None of the above let me down. I stayed for 8 days and after checking out breakfast at a couple of other places before friends arrived at the weekend I realised value for money we were better off staying in the hotel. I had breakfast there for the rest of my stay.
The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds so very comfortable I often felt like staying in there and I couldn´t fault the speed or connection of the wifi.

Best of all were the staff. All of them were friendly and very helpful,nothing too much trouble it felt like leaving friends behind on departure. They were good enough to make sure the group of us were all on the same floor. As a solo traveler I felt very comfortable just chilling downstairs with coffee and kindle
I know if we have another meet next year then all of us will vote to return to the same hotel.
Well done to the staff of Ibis Sheffield you were diamonds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I'm delighted that you and your collegues had an enjoyable time with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre. My team and I really appreciate your "diamond" review and hope that you do vote to return next year.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Booked this hotel for an over night stay, on a freinds recommemdation, a group of 7 of us stayed, some for longer than other, but what a fantastic stay, staff where so friendly and helpful, service was fantastic, price was resonable and breakfast was delicious.

Would defo reccomend, to friends and stay again when we visit sheffield,

Altho they said I couldnt dine for breakfast In my pj, lol, luckily I was only joking, truelly wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: If a group of you book they allow you to request all the same floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighleigh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, my team and I really appreciate your review. We look forward to welcoming yourself and your friends back on your next weekend visit to Sheffield.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Property: Ibis Sheffield City
Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert, sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 en suite bedrooms,recently received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower.Ironing room for guest use. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing