We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Sheffield City
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I love this chain of hotels!! Cheap, clean and always very comfy beds!! I have always had a wonderful experience at ibis. The bathrooms are always clean. I love a hotel that makes you feel welcome. You also can not beat the price. It is quite the steal.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katmiller65468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
I'm very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. My team and I appreciate your kind words and we hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    264
    142
    43
    24
See reviews for
69
186
110
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It is fine but very hard to find via satnav -it doesn't tell you the correct turn off and then tells you to drive in bus lanes so you end up driving round and such!

The tv was a disappointment- not proper reception, square and few channels, however the rest fine and shower good.

The main issue was that some of the in room cards say food is NOT available 24/7 while others -the menu I think -says it is. So its confusing, but that is resolved by rining reception so no bother. Hwever the main confusion is the MENU. When in a hurry or late in the evening you want to glance at a menu, read and understand it and pick an item quickly -this CANNOT be done with this menu. You need to use Wikipedia to understand what each item is -the title does not relate to the item -it's absurd! BUT to counter this absurdity the amazing thing about this hotel is Alan -poor chap having to be reception and chef and everything all at once!! All along it seems bizarre that the Reception desk IS the bar and restaurant too -who ever heard of running an establishment this way? I feel sorry for those tasked with manning it and being all things to all people at all hours, again absurd.
So for Alan who cheerfully and was really friendly made us our super -a nice plain pizza and baked potato (which bizarrely I don't think it was even on the printed menu only chalked on a board as a special) we would actually go back. Never had such lovely customer service, but give the chap a break and give him 1 job not every job.
And make all our lives easier with a no nonsense menu -what you read in the title is what you get -who decides these things, totally bizarre! Also just to mention unlike Alan the girl with an accent on check out was rather snooty and looked down her nose -which makes one very uncomfortable and unlikely to return. And a minor point but some of the decor was modern and some was old -with poppies down the carpet like a tribute to the World Wars!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
My team and I very much appreciate your review and really appreciate your valued comments in respect of our team member. We take all comments very seriously and i'm sorry that we didn't fully meet your expectations. We do hope that we can welcome you both back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked into the Ibis for a friday - saturday online and check in was smooth on arrival. Had to fill a usual form out with address on and was given my room key/card. Same as all the other ibis hotels, i had to swipe my card to get to the stairs that lead to the rooms. Standard security. Reception area seemed nice but never really used it much. Arrived at my room on the 1st floor, it was clean and spacious, must admit the view was poor but wasn't bothered at all by this. Everything was functioning okay, shower was good and spacious. Will stay here again next time i visit Sheffield for sure. Parking is right next to the hotel with a discounted rate when you stay at the Ibis. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne_derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I'm delighted that you chose to stay with us at Ibis Sheffield City Centre and that we met all of your expectations, my team and I really appreciate your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next weekend visit to Sheffield.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This stay was spoilt by a rude receptionist who demanded I swipe my debit card despite booking on line. This was because of THEIR fraud problems. She could not explain this properly and was impolite .


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your experience at Ibis Sheffield City Centre, I appreciate all feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously, however with all pre paid rates, it is stated in the terms & conditions that the card used for payment needs to be produced for verification. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel very close to city centre and train station. Very close to the hotel there is a bicycle path running along a small river. Nice route for jogging. There is also free wifi. I have not had breakfast because it seemed expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mathelaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We're very grateful that you could take the time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I'm so pleased that you found our location was ideal for you visit and I hope that we can welcome you back to Ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future and to try our buffet breakfast.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night while visiting sheffield for a concert. The staff were friendly, room was clean although the carpets have had their day. Good value for money so can't fault it. Wouldn't stay here for a long break away though!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B, General Manager at Ibis Sheffield City, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
My team and I really appreciate your review and comments about your short stay. We have an ongoing refurbishment program which includes replacing carpets in all of the rooms, some of which were completed very recently. We do hope that we can welcome you back to ibis Sheffield City Centre in the future.
Kind regards
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (Angel Street) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Sheffield City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Sheffield City

Property: Ibis Sheffield City
Address: Shude Hill, Sheffield S1 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Sheffield City 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just 10 minutes walk from the train station and 5 minutes from the coach station, and a mere 4 miles from junction 33 of the M1. The hotel is perfectly located across the road from the Ponds Forge International Sports and Events Centre and is walking distance to the City's excellent Theatres: The Lyceum and home to the World Snooker Championships, the Crucible. Sheffield City Hall hosts concerts, shows and events such as Hallam University's Graduation Ceremony. This area also boasts the Millennium Gallery, Winter gardens and the excellent Central Library. The tram stop 150 metres away will take you to the doorstep of Meadowhall Shopping Centre and Sheffield's major concert,sports and exhibition venue The Motorpoint Arena. 92 of the hotel's 95 all en suite bedrooms have received substantial upgrading during our current refurbishment program. All bedrooms have a self-controlled air-cooling system and double glazed windows. tea/coffee-making facilities and power shower. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. We offer a 24-hour snack menu, a fully licensed bar and 24 hour reception. The hotel operates a 15 minutes satisfaction guarantee. We do not accepts pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Sheffield City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing