We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips”

Browns Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #109 of 1,483 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Reserved a table which was ready for us on arrival, bar staff seemed a little inexperienced and rushed off their feet (although it wasnt that busy). Menu varied and chose fish and chips which was excellent, the restaurant staff were very friendly and polite and did not rush us at all. Would definitely recommend for meal out with friends and as its central good for theatre, shops etc.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 615Lbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns S, Manager at Browns Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we have since addressed the issues hampering the bar service but thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed the fish & chips and thanks for the recommendation!

Best

Matt Weldon
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 525 of 680 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you go to Brown's try the steak , it is delcious.
The place is always very busy early in the evening so it is better to go a little later on.

Thank Zane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns S, Manager at Browns Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thank you Zane for your lovely review, we hope to see you again soon for another steak!

Best

Matt Weldon
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went for sandwiches and cake here; bread was stale and the cakes pretty damn poor. Apart from one waitress who just had her phone out in front of all the customers (who does that!?), the staff were nice and our waitress was chatty and friendly. Probably won't be going back any time soon though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimbob0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent cocktails, great service and delicious food (especially my scallops). We really liked Browns and will be back!

Thank J K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns S, Manager at Browns Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi JKS,

Thank you for your feedback, we've just relaunched our new pre theatre menu and it's got a few new dishes on, so hopefully we'll see you soon to try!

Best

Matt Weldon
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Visited last Thursday evening with a very dear friend. The bar area is a lovely area to sit and relax before dinner and indulge in a little watching the world go by. The selection of drinks is incredible and a cocktail menu to die for.
The restaurant , upstairs , generates the most wonderful atmosphere as well as some of the best food I have eaten.
Lavash breadsticks with three dips to nibble at before the starters of Spicy Tomato Soup and my favourite Asparagus with Prosicutto ham and poached egg,
The mains , Bavette Steak and Lamb were perfectly cooked and superbly presented and my trio of Crème Brulees were wholly exceptional served at our window table overlooking the Peace Gardens.
Our server , Amy , is one of the nicest people you could wish to meet , knowledgeable in knowing how the chefs make the Lavash Breadsticks , always time for a word and always happy in her work. Amy is an absolute credit to Browns.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CATBLACKINDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Browns S, Manager at Browns Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi 'catblackindia'

Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your experience, I will pass on your compliments to Amy and the kitchen team here! Once again thank you and hopefully we will see you soon.

Best

Matt Weldon
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Browns Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing