We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viraaj Restaurant

Viraaj Restaurant
Ranked #101 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shefford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Great food, friendly service... Returned to restaurant having not been for 18mths... Staff really friendly and remembered us and family from previous visits. Thank you Viraaj

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    72
    20
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible after being good customers for years”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited the Viraaj tonight (08/07/14) which we do on a regular basis. We found a totally empty restaurant. The waiter approached us and asked if we wanted a table for 2 in a very grumpy manner, as we walked down we was greeted by the tall gentleman waiter, who I have known for quite some time now, took over when he saw us and took us to a table with a very pleasant manner. We then ordered a Viraaj tandoori special for 2, which was excellent.

The grumpy waiter then brought our main dish out, putting it on the table, never getting us another knife and fork, which had been used and taken away from our starter. I got up , and took 2 sets of knives and forks from a nearby table. On seeing the meal on the table, the naan bread did not look as good normal, and the knife supplied by Viraaj would not cut through it. The tall friendly waiter then came along and asked if everything was ok, when we said no the naan bread was terrible, he could take it back we did not want it, he suggested getting another but we refused. As in my opinion it was that bad it should not have been served in the first place. The owner came over, and asked if he could get us another naan bread, again we refused. The two curries we had, a chicken bhuna and a chicken brinjil, was good. On finishing the owner came again and offered us a free drink, which we refused. We then told him about the problem with the knife and fork, and he said we should have asked for a replacement. He then went on to make all sorts of excuses up as to why the naan bread was like it was. He did not charge us for the naan bread , but in my opinion he should have held his hands up and admitted it was not up to their normal quality, and not made excuses up.

We have had a problem in the past, and the owner then also made excuses up .In my opinion, the Viraaj management is right , the customer is wrong. In this day and age restaurants are really struggling, and I will not be visiting the Viraaj ever again. This is not the fact of the issues with the grumpy waiter, having to fetch a knife and fork or being served a horrible naan bread, it is the fact of how the owner dismissed the problem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kgm0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIRAAJ743, Manager at Viraaj Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
In Viraaj our policy is to make every customers experience enjoyable from the time they step inside.
If at any point our customer is not happy we try our level best to rectify the problem when brought to our attention.
If a staff's behavior is concerned appropriate training will be put in place for them again this can be done with the customers help of notifying us. At all times by keeping the customer in mind we try and find a solution to the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe the best?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our first visit to the Viraaj was an early Friday evening. We had poppadoms and pickle tray which was a great indication of things to come. There were a couple of unusual pickles the best of which was pulped carrot and mango , what a refreshing change. Also there was a tamarind dip which was amazing. We didn't have starters as we can never finish if we do. I had an amazing fish dish unfortunately I cannot remember its name but it was a two chilli dish, really tasty and fresh and zingy. My husband had the lamb madras which he always uses as a yardstick at a new indian restaurant, he said it was probably the best he has ever had. The nan bread, rice and raita were all so fresh and perfectly cooked and served, all plates were cleared.

It was a nice change to find a draught lager and decent wine at reasonable prices as these are often the areas where a good food restaurant falls down,

The service was excellent and waiters very friendly.

We are pretty experienced at trying different indian restaurants, but this meal was perfect, we really couldn't find fault with anything. We will certainly be back and hope it will live up to its first experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deborah030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

First impressions were good. Nice friendly staff and a clean restaurant.

The starters were ok, chicken tikka was good, the bhaji was good. The pakora was pretty bad as was this mashed potato type thing - can't remember the name.

The mains were pretty terrible. The chicken balti tasted more like a sweet and sour dish and the chicken itself tasted like reheated chicken - not chicken cooked from fresh. The other main dish my girlfriend had was also quite poor with very much an oriental taste. The onion rice was ok, but it's pretty difficult to get this wrong. The naan bread was ok if a little burnt, but nothing special.

The service was a mixed bag. The gentleman who greeted us was very friendly. However, we did have problems with some of the service.

We had two rounds of drinks and our order was the same both times; two glasses of coke with ice and no slice of lemon. The first waiter checked this order three times but when the drinks came we got two glasses of flat, tepid coke with no ice or lemon. The second time we got two glasses of flat coke with ice and lemon. Logic suggests a third order of drinks would have seen the waiter bring a whole lemon and a bag of ice with two empty glasses.

Another point which really bugged me. Our cutlery and napkins were cleared up between courses but no replacement napkin was brought. My girlfriend made a point of asking for one and the waiter agreed to do so. However, no napkin was brought and we ended up using our own tissues.

In terms of speed we had to wait at least twenty minutes for the starters and quite long for the main and the place was not that busy with only a handful of other occupied tables.

We went to Viraaj off the back of a recommendation from someone who received a rather abrupt text message from me after the meal (asking if this recommendation was, in fact, a joke). We normally eat at a different Indian restaurant where we are known by name. We only tried this place to try something different and spent £20 in cabs there and back.

In this situation, with some questionable service in the restaurant, I did not feel like saying anything at the time would actually achieve anything. The situation with the drinks was annoying and if the place cannot get the order right despite stating the order three times for the first round, and at least twice for the second round then I have no confidence that pulling them up about it in restaurant would end up with the right order.

When the bill arrived the restaurant had knocked off 15% with out us asking. I am not sure what this was for, but had it not been knocked off I would have felt the need to say something.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank iutbsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VIRAAJ743, Manager at Viraaj Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
I am sorry to read about your experience at our Restaurant.

It is a shame you did not make your complaint about the food or service to your waiter or a manager at the time when you had the opportunity to do so.

I will like to point out to all our customers that if anything isn't to your satisfaction then please do mention to us while you are at the Restaurant so we can rectify the problem.

Please do not feel embarrassed to say because we appreciate all compliments as well as criticism as this helps us improve our services. The Manager is always present so if you will like to talk in private please ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Warm welcome,superb food great service by Abdul. Been a few times now always superb will definitely returning!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viraaj Restaurant also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Viraaj Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing