We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what is say on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Exactly what is say on the tin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I caught a last minute deal for this hotel, it was some £30 for the night, bargain! The hotel is situated very well for access by car, I parked in a nearby NCP which the hotel has discounted rates for.

The room was modern and clean, well appointed. I had a great nights sleep and a good shower the following morning. Reception staff were very courteous and helpful. Certainly value for money and this price - and actually one of the better hotels I've stayed in Sheffield city centre.

Aside from the hotel - I had a brisk 10 minute stroll up to West Street for a few drinks and a meal, although you do have to go through the lower end of town which some might not enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklas_Rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    118
    81
    38
    40
See reviews for
62
97
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Spacious Room, Friendly and helpful Reception Staff, Location ideal for Sheffield - a 5 minute walk to City centre, alongside River Don by Lady's Bridge.
Decor and bathroom a little old fashioned and room could be lit better - but very minor niggles. It was all fine and good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great for a short stay, very clean and well located. Staff were attentive and friendly.

Trouser press did not work, but beds were comfortable.

Room was spacious.

If passing through I highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, We will investigate the problem with the trouser press to ensure it is back in working order quickly

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were attending an event at Ponds Forge and booked the hotel because of its proximity to the venue but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were welcoming. The room was large, clean and comfortable. And, although a number of large groups checked in at the same time, it was quiet. Had a great night's sleep. We will definitely book into this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again the next time
you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights to attend a sporting event in the city.

On the whole a positive experience - good central location within easy reach of Railway Station, Other Public Transport and City Centre facilities.

Warm welcome at reception, much appreciated when lashing down with rain outside, and staff very willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible (e.g. WiFi Codes)

My only couple of gripes:
1) Not starting Breakfast until 8am on Sundays was disappointing - I know there will always be a cut off but perhaps there could be a way of opening a little earlier for a reduced service (basically remove the hot stuff) but offer people a bowl of cereal and fruit. The "Express Breakfast" as an alternative is vastly overpriced and was also very unappetizing.

2) Room was a bit dark as no light in the main portion - However didn't cause any problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay,I have noted your comment regarding providing an earlier express breakfast on Sundays before our usual 8am opening. We would be happy to provide this option for you the next time you stay with us, if you make the request to reception on arrival and they will be happy to arrange.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

nice hotel comfort clean rooms lovely bed clean & comfortable. Hospitality tray in room and hairdryer trouser press in wardrobe. TV all very nice.Bathroom nice soft white large bath & hand towels, shower in bath.Had shower gel & cream , shampoo AND a shower cap.
Stayed overnight had dinner in a group of people we had long tables with nice white napkins, food served to us a choice of starter, main &pudding, breakfast a great choice cooked cotinental
toast & tea ect.Friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: near town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actress7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here with my partner over the Christmas period, was cheaper than many other larger chains in the area and service and quality was better overall I would say! Room was clean and tidy, provided nice washing sachets. The walk isn't too far to central town or to the tram where you can go any where! We went to Meadowhall very easily during our stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Car park was fairly reasonable price too! Overall I would strongly recommend and when I next come to visit relatives in Sheffield I shall look at this hotel first!

Room Tip: We had a fairly high room, which provided a pretty nice view, guess that's just our personal pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mx_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay over the Christmas break and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you return to Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Property: Sheffield Metropolitan
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing