We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Parking is just round the back of this hotel, which is perfect. For some reason it only cost us £3 for 24 hours too?!
Check in was fine, staff friendly and welcoming.
Rooms are clean and spacious, perfect for what we needed it for.
We had a couple of beers in the bar, which I didn't think were too pricey at £3.50.
We had a taxi to the Sheffield Arena, which cost £7. We were advised that this is a busy hotel, and to book your taxi ASAP with the reception staff.
We didn't however have a double bed :-( we had 2 singles pushed together. But we can't complaint as we paid £36 for this hotel as we booked a couple of months in advance. Well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Sheffield Metropolitan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Chose to stay in this hotel as it was close this the rail station and also close to the o2 academy! For only £45 you cant go wrong. Lovely staff, clean rooms and great location. Had a great stay all in all!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine17392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient for the O2 Academy, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Sheffield Metropolitan for business in March 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. My room was a standard double with all the facilities needed - tea,coffee, tv. The room decor was clean, spacious and cosy with a very comfortable bed which was needed after a few busy days with work.

The bathroom again was spacious and clean, a lovely hot shower and clean towels each day.

We had breakfast which was great value for money - Full English, continental, tea/coffee, fruit juice and very friendly service from the staff who went beyond expectations.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Sheffield, a very convenient location for anyone using the city for shopping/sports.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Room at the back, overlooking the river was lovely
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your saty at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you found your stay enjoyable and restful and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend,for two nights through Tesco. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the friendly reception staff, who didn't make us feel guilty for having Tesco vouchers, as some hotels have done before, especially the last Bespoke Hotel we stayed in last October. The room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast was plentiful with everything you could possibly want, and the Chef did me wonderful poached eggs on both days with no problems at all. Would definitely stay at the hotel again, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting a hotel in Sheffield.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysLincolshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you were so pleased with your stay and found everything to your liking

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Came here for one night a Saturday night I had booked 4 rooms and got told there was. 200 pound deposit which I said was fine.

Got there easy to find we'll located for everything but that's as good as it gets.

None of us had eaten to thought we would go to the bar get some food and a drink they were not serving food of a weekend apparently and the gentleman behind the bar struggled to speak English and tried to short change us.

It did not get any better going up to the rooms in one of them it had no hot water there dust everywhere u could draw in it.

I asked for an ironing board and iron never came until after I left which means someone had gone into my room when I was not there and I have valuables there not impressed !!


Got back after our night out with a few females and told they could not come up I was in a room to myself which sleeps 2 why was I not allowed to bring this girl up ? Had a massive argument with rude night staff no manager to speak to or anything.

Would never use again and really is a terrible hotel !!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andy1989andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

I am sorry you felt we did not provide the correct level of service during your stay. As you will see from previous guest reviews the hotel prides itself on excellent customer service and operates a high standard of cleanliness.

The member of the restaurant team you refer to is Spanish and speaks very good English

Regarding the later incident, we received complaints about noise at 4am from other guests, on investigation the night reception team found a number of non residents in one room. The non residents were asked to leave, I apologise if you find this rude, but the safety and security of our guests is paramount as is their right to a good nights sleep.

If you would like to discuss any of the issues further please do not hesitate to call me on 0114 2204000

Best Regards
Ian Slater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our second visit to the metropolitan and once again I couldn't fault it . nothing was to much trouble staff friendly and helpful newspaper delivered to our door early morning we had breakfast this stay and it was lovley plenty of choice from friut cereals hot buffet sytle serve yourself very relaxing start to the day. Rooms spacious bath and shower very clean

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tttl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed here for one night. The room was modern and clean, the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, fried eggs and crispy bacon on request if you wanted it. The staff friendly and welcoming. Ideally situated and if you want a nice short pub crawl then the Harlequin, Fat Cat and Kelham Island Tavern within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan#

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope your visit to some of Sheffields award winner real pubs was as equally enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
676 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,522 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing