We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and friendly, but some shortcomings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly, but some shortcomings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I recently stayed here for one night while visiting Sheffield to watch the snooker and found the hotel to be very nice overall in a good, central location, but I was disappointed with some key aspects.

The service at reception was swift and friendly. We were quickly checked in and inside our room within minutes of arriving, so that was a great touch since some hotels have a lengthy check in procedure. In addition, prior to visiting, the hotel also advised on a question I had with regard to payment via a third party website and again the manner was professional and friendly, so full marks to the receptionist.

The rooms are modern and clean with comfortable beds. The only issue we had was the bathroom shower, which lacked even average power and looked like it had been set to save water. Showering was a real problem but we could "just" about manage it. For one night it wasn't a huge deal. Still, when you are paying you expect basic things like this to be working correctly. Of course, we could have complained to management but since we were pressed for time, it hardly seemed right, especially since the problem was only discovered 1 hour before checking out.

Breakfast was not particularly appealing and the presentation could be improved quite a lot. The cooked breakfast containers needed replenishing with fresh food - even at 9am. It's not like we turned up minutes before closing! We had to make do with (what can only be described as) dregs of sausage, scrambled egg, bacon, etc. There were no fried eggs - only a few spoon fulls of scrambled. The beans were lukewarm and my overall impression was disappointment. Likewise, knives were missing from our table and I had to take some from other tables. The hot drinks area needed sprucing up as it also looked a mess and wasn't clearly advertised.

These negative aspects are unfortunate as the hotel is actually very nice, but some attention to detail is needed as currently the Metropolitan is more "style over substance".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you were pleased with the reception service and the hotel facilities.

Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast, I will follow up your comments with the restaurant team so that we can further improve our breakfast service.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    118
    81
    38
    40
See reviews for
62
97
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here on saturday night with 8 friends. I was a little worried as had to pay a 200 pound noise and behavior bond as we were a group of 9 but upon arrival my concerns were dealt with in a professional manner by the staff.
The hotel is central, well priced, clean and professional. The staff were friendly and helpful and overall it worked very well for our short stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you and your party had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemskerk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Two week ago my brother and I stayed at the Sheffield Metropolitan for two nights. We were in Sheffield to visit a football match at Hillsborough Stadium. For everyone who's looking for a nice hotel in Sheffield I would recommend this hotel! The staff is very fiendly and helpful, the rooms are spacious and clean en the hotel is located near the shops, bars, restaurants and supertram stop to Meadowhall. I want to thank the staff for their hospitality. We had a great weekend! Regards from Holland

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a pleasant journey back to Holland.

We look forward tho welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when visiting Sheffield for the snooker at The Crucible. Great location, not even 5 or so mins away from the town centre. Room was modern, clean and tidy, and a great price of just £40 for two. Would definitely stay here again next time I have an overnight stay in Sheffield.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay amd look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed at Sheffield Metropolitan for one night this weekend - this is my second stay at the hotel. I stayed with a friend as we were there for a concert.
This hotel is brilliant value for money (we paid £40 for one Sunday night) - the staff are all very friendly, helpful and welcoming and the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.
If I return to Sheffield again I would stay at this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us especially as a returning guest, we hope you enjoyed your concert and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todmorden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We paid £60 for a twin room - very reasonable for a clean and tidy hotel. Easy and efficient check in with pleasant staff, even when we mislaid our key card. Good location, within easy walking distance of the train station. Of course there are 'better' hotels but not for £60!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel convenient for your requirements, we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
190 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Parking is just round the back of this hotel, which is perfect. For some reason it only cost us £3 for 24 hours too?!
Check in was fine, staff friendly and welcoming.
Rooms are clean and spacious, perfect for what we needed it for.
We had a couple of beers in the bar, which I didn't think were too pricey at £3.50.
We had a taxi to the Sheffield Arena, which cost £7. We were advised that this is a busy hotel, and to book your taxi ASAP with the reception staff.
We didn't however have a double bed :-( we had 2 singles pushed together. But we can't complaint as we paid £36 for this hotel as we booked a couple of months in advance. Well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bram23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Property: Sheffield Metropolitan
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing