We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheffield Metropolitan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Herts.
Level Contributor
181 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“First stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Agree with previous post. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Room fine but shabby bits. Also ours was a non-smoking one but the previous guests had smoked which was an awful "welcome." As the hotel did not seem full they should have put us in another room. Also, the room hadn't been cleaned properly when we arrived - plastic sweet wrapper on the floor, plastic from top of a 4 pack of beer on a very dusty shelf for putting clothes on. So, my first impression was "disgusted." When I got over that it wan't too bad and second day's cleaning was better. Location not bad. Breakfast - yes, the toaster only toasts one side and it's not great and a bit disorganised. It would be a very simple fix to improve the breakfast "experience" and that would make the hotel seem a lot better. To be honest, for a lot of us breakfast is more or less the most important part of a short hotel stay. Get that right and you have happy customers, get it wrong and you don't get repeat custom.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DallyHerts_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

Please accept my appologies regarding your room, please do not hesitate to contact the reception if you have any issues and we can then relocate you to another room as quickly as possible.
I will address the rest of your feedback regarding breakfast with the team so we can continue to improve our breakfast service.

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    115
    77
    37
    39
See reviews for
56
93
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room (albeit a little shabby in places) Good location. Reasonable breakfast although the coffee wasn't great and the toaster only did pale or burnt. Love the fact I could open the window to let real fresh air in and the view of the river was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugenot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, I have looked into the problem with the toaster which has now been fixed.

I hope you will consider the Metropolitan the next time you visit Sheffield and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the Metropolitan for one night last weekend with 3 friends for a night out. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station, and only 10-15 minutes walk to the shops, cafes, restaurants and bars making it a great location.

The price of the room was very reasonable and we were pleasantly surprised by the level of service and standard of accommodation. We arrived late afternoon and the ladies on reception could not have been more welcoming. In fact, everyone we met in Sheffield was really friendly which was very refreshing.

We had 2 twin rooms on the 6th floor. The room was large, comfortable and clean with a great view of the canal from the window. There was free wifi, drink making facilities and tv in the room. The bathroom was also large, with lots of towels and toiletries. There were some slight stains on the ceiling and it was a bit hot in the room (heatwave!) but that is being very picky.

If you are looking for a mid-range budget hotel with easy access to the train station and city centre then this hotel is ideal. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for your stay in the city
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Regards
Ian Slater
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

my colleague and I attended a garage trade group seminar ,we were treat very well from start to finish from reception to the restaurant staff the hotel itself was very clean and the conference room well equipped , we would definitely return to this hotel ,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amz20
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is only a short walk from the centre, trams and station. It has parking at good price- £2.50 per day. Staff couldn't do enough for you and were a credit to the hotel. Very pleasant customer experience for really reasonable price. The rooms were lovely and very clean. (only tiny criticism is we had a room for 3 people and the sofa bed could be slightly more comfy, however was very spacious)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The first impression of this hotel is very good and this continued. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was a good size, clean and well decorated. My daughter and I were staying on a visit to the university and we booked very much at the last minute. It was a short walk into the centre of Sheffield and was relatively easy to find. Parking cost extra but that appears to be true of all the hotels in that area. So nothing spectacular but perfectly good for a one night stay. My daughter was particularly impressed that the centre of the bathroom mirror was slightly heated so that it did not steam up which I do not ever recall having seen before! Or maybe I have just never noticed. I would certainly revisit this particular hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and loved our heated mirrors
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudy, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very friendly staff, lovely hotel we were there for 2 nights to attend the crucible, hotel was about 10 mins walking distance from event, hotel area a bit isolated for eating drinks but we just walked in to centre. Hotel kept very clean & breakfast was great plentiful & delicious, Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our freshly cooked breakfast

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#32 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Property: Sheffield Metropolitan
Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing