We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abit of an odd one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheffield Metropolitan
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as I was visiting a friend and wanted a decent hotel. Got a decent price from late rooms so didn't really want to complain, paid 54 for a single room no breakfast included.
When arriving at the hotel I was shocked how awkward it was to find, if you don't know Sheffield it could prove a pain!
The reception area was just shocking, so run down and such an awful looking cheap look. My room had just become ready and I was handed a bit of paper for the wireless key, checking out time was mentioned so had to ring down to to reception and ask.
I had two single beds in my room, was a decent size but in drastic need of a refurb, was quite tatty to be honest.
The duvet cover was dirty, the kettle was dirty so had to wash it, the sink needed a run down, was just disappointed in general.
When I checked out it was really busy and staff seemed flustered and the heat was terrible.
All in all a good location but I wouldn't t stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnerfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank You for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

I am sorry to here we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, I will follow up your feedback with the team as we pride ourselves on providing high standards of service at all times.

If you would like to discuss any of the issues further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 0114 2204000.

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The room was very large and comfortable as were the beds. It's a short walk into town centre and is surprisingly quiet being near quite busy roads. What lifts this hotel above the ordinary is the friendly and very helpful staff. They can't do enough for you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank JPCHickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was brilliant with everything that was required. Parking is directly behind the hotel at an NCP car park. We stayed here whilst watching the Kings of Leon at the arena. We was allowed to bring food in from local takeaways after our night out. The price was excellent for a city centre hotel.
My only criticism is that the shower was not very powerful, but you could remove it away from the wall, which was a bonus and the shower had a shower curtain, rather than a panel or walk in.
The room was very clean with ample room and the reception staff excellent. Considering it was a city centre setting, there was very little traffic noise. Brilliant!

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor, which we was put on the 8th floor. Our view was of the top of the car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments onto the reception team. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Friendly staff at reception, busy hotel but shabby and in need of a make over. The rooms are tired and a bit scruffy looking. Noisy due to lots of stag/hen type parties going on. Really hot rooms and no A/C. Pay a little more and book somewhere nicer would be my advice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyGLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We pride ourselves on providing clean spacious rooms for all our guests, however during this period of summer weather I can appreciate the bedrooms get very warm.

Please accept my apologies if this spoilt your stay with us
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fairly easy to get to from the M1, being a short hop down the Sheffield Parkway from junction 31 of the M1. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel. Location wise you’re near to the city centre but in a pretty dingy area called Wicker. Some efforts have been made to regenerate the area but has been abandoned after a few modern glass and steel buildings have been put up, the half-baked attitude to town planning is a familiar theme across Sheffield which is why the place is such a mess. To be fair Sheffield isn’t without its charms and there are plenty of great pubs and places to eat in the city.

The hotel itself isn’t much to look at and could do with a lick of paint however the rooms are comfortable enough for the price. Could have done with air conditioning but it wasn’t hot enough to cause concern. The price for room only was £50 which was good VFM however with breakfast it came to £63. The breakfast was virtually inedible, so was pretty annoyed about this, additionally the bar prices were a little high, especially compared to Sheffield as a whole. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall for a cheap night in Sheffield would recommend but avoid the dining facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TomPatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall, regarding breakfast I will discuss your comments with the team as we pride ourselves on providing an excellent breakfast so please accept my apologies that the standard wasn't met on this occasion.

Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked this hotel through Booking.com being a party of 10 ladies as we were intending a night out at the "dogs" at Owlerton. We chose the hotel possibly based on its price so were not expecting the Ritz. The welcome from reception was extremely friendly and helpful. Once she realised we were going to the dogs she arranged the taxis and these were waiting for us at the time requested. We were on the ninth floor, all rooms were together, as per our booking request. Once in our rooms we rang down to reception to question wifi. within minutes there was a knock at the door and vouchers for the wifi provided. The overall condition of the rooms varied between each of our rooms, but all were clean and comfortable, no complaints from any of our party. The buffet breakfast was good with all the usual choices. To sum up the hotel is clean, service is friendly and efficient and I would definitely stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie52england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you and your party enjoyed your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future
Best Regards
Ian Slater

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

sttayed here for 1 night last minute with work. The staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel rooms were decent and spacious. The only thing was no air con so my room was hot and stuffy all night. Breakfast was what you would expect buffet style and the usual fruit and cereal over all i paid £68 for bed breakfast and parking for 1 night which is cracking compared thew the other hotels around this one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craigp280885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, General Manager at Sheffield Metropolitan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Sheffield Metropolitan

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Sheffield
Best Regards
Ian Slater
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#7 of 53 in Sheffield
2,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Best Western Sheffield City Centre Cutlers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheffield Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheffield Metropolitan

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AU, England (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Sheffield)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £36 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheffield Metropolitan 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in a fantastic location. It's easy to get here, and you'll find loads to do. Take a peek at the shops, the theatre or the museums or take a hike to the Peaks or just stay put! You'll have a spacious comfortable bedroom with great room service. And you'll always enjoy the atmosphere, the food and the company in the bar and restaurant. ■111 Bedrooms, standard double and family rooms.■Fully equipped with tea and coffee, Complimentary WiFi, flatscreen TV and freeview channels, hair dryer, trouser press, toiletries, work desk.■In the Quay-Side district, 10 minutes from city centre. The Sheffield Metropolitan Hotel offers modern accommodation in a great location, in the Quay Side quarter of Sheffield, close to the city centre, the train station and motorway. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. The convenient central location makes the hotel a great base, whether you are exploring Sheffield as a tourist or visiting the area on business. The great transport links mean the hotel is well placed for visiting any part of the city or for travelling further afield and exploring the region. Sheffield Arena and the city's theatres, including The Crucible and City Hall, are all within easy reach. The property is within 20 minutes' drive of the Peak District, ideal for walking, cycling and hiking. You can enjoy discounted access to Chatsworth House. All of the modern en suite rooms are stylish and contemporary with all the comforts and facilities you need in a restful, relaxing base. A varied room service menu is also available. The Picasso Restaurant serves brasserie style dishes until 21:00 Monday to Thursday. From Friday to Sunday, freshly prepared Paninis are served until 21:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheffield Metropolitan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing