We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best sushi ever, sublime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edo Sushi Takeaway

Edo Sushi Takeaway
Ranked #27 of 1,417 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: Japanese, Fast food, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small authentic Japanese run take-out in Sheffield City Centre. We serve the freshest handmade sushi and also Japanese hot food, such as Chicken katsu curry & rice for lunch-time and deliveries for the evening. We maintain standards of food quality, hygiene and service to the highest by ongoing training, support and feedback from customers. Thank you.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“The best sushi ever, sublime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I visited this on the recommendation of a good friend and I can safely say that this is without doubt one of the best places there is for sushi, at good friendly prices, not like the big chain shops such as Yo Sushi, which charge a fortune. I could not believe the generous size of platter, it was incredible and I will definitely be returning as soon as I am next in Sheffield. My girlfriend commented on the quality of the food, if only there were places as good as this in London!

The staff were very friendly and attentive to detail, everything was done with a smile. You can tell that they enjoy their jobs. All in all, 5 stars, I cannot fault it. It is really great to see that in times like these, where supermarkets are forever raising their prices, and tricking the public, that there are restaurants like this around, where you can fill up on super high quality food, without paying a fortune. I repeat, the quality of this sushi surpassed high-end restaurant grade sushi!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Struan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    23
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very friendly take out Japanese place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Edo Sushi has some of the friendliest owners and staff that I've ever met at a restaurant. They like to know their customers and do what they can do make sure they are happy, including keeping the prices some of the lowest for Japanese food in Sheffield.

The food itself is very good. I've had both sushi dishes and hot dishes like chicken curry, chicken kara-age, and shrimp tempura. Everything has been very good, so no complaints from me. I've been back many times and recommended it to friends too.

They are very popular at lunchtime. They can make hot dishes and sushi from scratch or they often have popular sushi plates already prepared so you can pick up something quickly. For instance they often have the Edo Sushi plate which is a variety of different types of sushi that changes regularly.

They will deliver at night or you can come by and pick it up if you live in the area and don't want to wait for the delivery car.

Note that they do not have any seating in the restaurant at all. It's really just a cubby hole in the wall with a place to order your food, so don't plan on eating there!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank newfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beacon of fresh healthy food amongst the stodge of the surrounding fast food chains and low grade bakers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This place can very easily be missed as it's tucked down a small pedestrian alley off the high street. I work nearby and lunch options in the area are mainly restricted to cheap bakeries, sandwich shops and fast food chains. However, this take away offers really good lunch deals for £4.50. A huge tray of sushi with a green tea or miso soup. There is also hot food options available with this deal such as ton-katsu curries.
The menu is quite extensive and the prices are very reasonable. They also do deliveries in the evenings though I have never availed of this service.
I recently had some sushi from Tesco and it made me realise how good Edo sushi is in comparison. I'll definitely be back soon.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bazpaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fresh sushi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

One of my Japanese friends recommended this place. My husband ordered sushi on the phone for deliverly and it took almost one and a half hours...seems a guy got lost...but he apologised us for the delay and it was fine.

And the sushi...it was really good!!! It was worth to wait for 1.5 hours! I have tried some sushi in Sheffild and Edo sushi is the best so far. The neta (fish) are very fresh and tasty, and its very reasonable! If you like sushi, you should try them.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juri3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edo Sushi Takeaway also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Edo Sushi Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing