We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chutney

Chutney
Ranked #348 of 1,418 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

It's was my 1st time in the chutney restaurant in gleadless an I had read reports an reviews on tripadvisor an also recommended by friends so me and my partner thought we give it a go. It's was a busy Saturday an we was placed on a table minutes after getting in the services was excellent an the atmosphere is great warm an friendly place not to modern an not to old but right the starters was amazing I was recommend the fish bhaji an the main dish was lovely we was told to try the desi jalferzi a more authentic version of the normal 1 an to be honest it was delicious an different the staff was really friendly an very helping but not to pestering we shall deffinetly be going in again and I recommend a visit to everyone keep up the good job :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrHarrisS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    26
    16
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service, really nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Went to Chutney's for friend's birthday. I forgot her cake but they gave her a special liqueur instead. The machli bhuna was the best ever, peshwari naan light and fluffy , onion bhaajis are delicious. The staff are so pleasant, the place is a great night out and is not expensive at all. Have been many times and will visit many more. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzieToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic as normal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We're regular visitors to this local restaurant, both for takeaway's and to eat in. On every occasion the staff have been incredibly friendly and the food is fantastic. Great range of curries as well including some less familiar dishes which we've really enjoyed

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Poor takeaway”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Although there are good reviews for eating in at this restaurant, the takeaway service was poor. The food was 45mins late, cold, without taste and items missing. Disappointed after good recommendations

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best for food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have been visiting this restaurant since the first week that it opened, and never had a meal that wasn't spot on.
We go to the fist Monday of the month specials, which are always great homestyle cooked food.
I am trying everything on the menu (except scary chicken!) at least once.
One day I couldn't decide, so Shah asked me what I liked, onion, tomato, garlic etc., then he asked the chef to make something up, Excellent:-)
Highly recommend this restaurant, it's my favorite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chutney also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Chutney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing