We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended”

Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield
Ranked #29 of 1,429 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated in the heart of Sheffield, minutes from the railway station, crucible and lyceum theatres and Hallam University. Ego is located within the stunning Mercure St Pauls hotel and spa and has unrivaled views into the winter gardens.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
767 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Really nice food, I had pork belly, chorizo and black pudding-delicious. Excellent menu and ok prices. Drinks list good and sensibly priced. Would definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    337
    124
    51
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great lunchtime meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We were celebrating our daughter's birthday lunch. It was a comfortable restaurant with excellent Monday offers. The food and wine was good and the waiter was attentive, so would recommend.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LynMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words and recommendation we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit on your daughter's birthday and hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing, would not recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My friend and I chose to go to EGO in Sheffield for a bottle of wine after spending the day in Sheffield. Big mistake. We decided to leave before we had finished our bottle as we felt uncomfortable and unwelcome.

The staff were sat on tables eating their dinners either on their break or before their shift and we were told that we were not allowed to sit at a table and instead could sit outside but as the bar tender put it "it is a bit cold and wet so you might want to go somewhere else". We were shocked but thought we would stay anyway as it was raining and we did not want to get wet whilst walking somewhere else.

As we sat down, the bar tender and the staff eating kept staring at us and giving us funny looks...we both felt uncomfortable and completely unwelcome so we drank one glass and then chose to leave with no one saying thank you or asking us if everything was ok.

It was probably one of the worst customer service experiences I have ever had the displeasure of dealing with.

There are plenty of other bars and restaurants in Sheffield who do not expect paying customers to sit outside in the rain or 'to go somewhere else' and I advise you to try those.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blondiie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Many thanks for your honest and frank review and we're sorry to read about your dining experience with us. Ego Restaurants prides itself on great food and great customer service and it seems that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I would be be grateful if you could please forward your contact details to sheffield@egorestaurants.co.uk to enable our General Manager to contact you to discuss your visit. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit Abroad
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delicious salmon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I visited with my friend on a Friday evening, having booked beforehand. Our waiter was very friendly and we weren't rushed at all - we were there for three hours and had a very enjoyable meal, in the fab atmosphere. The bruchetta starter was huge (and rather garlicky!) and we really could have shared one! But my salmon main was absolutely heavenly and cooked to perfection. Delicious!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank puddleduck1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased you and your friend enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Christmas lunch with work - relaxed but very slow service resulting in long delays in between courses. The food was reasonably priced but nothing amazing. It was very busy and our table was not ready for the time booked. Service was almost an hour behind. Some complained that their soup was cold and not properly heated up. Just wondered whether they had taken too many bookings for the day resulting in delays at seating customers. Probably go elsewhere next year. Prices for working lunches are a bit pricey to visit regularly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMRidgway, Guest Relations Manager at Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback from our customers and are sorry that you did not enjoy your christmas meal, should you wish to discuss this matter further please contact our General Manger who will be happy to assist. Sheffield@egorestaurants.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Ego Mediterranean Restaurant - Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing