We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Schoolrooms

The Schoolrooms
Ranked #538 of 1,464 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Relaunched on 5th June 2015. The original family owners and new management welcomes you back to the schoolrooms. An award winning cafe serving serving wholesome, quality food from locally sourced, fresh seasonal and natural ingredients throughout the day.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Have eaten hee several times and now have a loyalty and discount card! The food and service is always wonderful, I love the fish and chips served on a wooden bread board, yum yum.

Take ten minutes to browse in the farm shop downstairs, it has some lovely food and meat.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    21
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No service, dirty plates all over the place - no thanks!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

We went to the Schoolrooms as we had heard good things - sadly, it hugely failed to live up to our expectations. On arrival, we walked up the stairs to the cafe area. As you walk up the stairs, you are level with the floor and we were greeted with a huge mess of old food all over the floor from a previous customer.

As we reached the cafe level, there were three free but messy tables and three staff members who seemed very stressed out. We took a seat on a dirty table and we were not acknowledged by any of the staff. Two other tables were sitting with dirty plates and we sat being ignored for 5 mins and decided to leave as the place was filthy, the staff were inattentive and the table next to us received the wrong order.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A country treat”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We went for lunch on a dreary Saturday lunchtime. The food looked delicious as other people's meals arrived. Couldn't decide what to chose so went for a tuna and cheese melt and when it arrived was very substantial too. I will certainly return when the weather is better to see the beautiful village too. The deli downstairs stocks a good range of gourmet products. Bought some giant chocolate buttons which I've had before and are amazing! We were impressed with the schoolrooms and will return perhaps for a proper meal but if it's good enough for Nick Clegg and his family then it's good enough for us! (He was having lunch with his family whilst we were there).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely place, beautiful location, seek this place out.”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Delightful cafe deli in beautiful countryside, near to Sheffield. Excellent service, tasty, reasonably priced food. A gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johno2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Top class cafe/bistro using a lot of local produce.”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Schoolrooms is a mixture of delicatessen butchery and cafe/bistro using local produce where ever possible. There is outdoor seating when the weather is good.

The upstairs cafe is excellent with a wide range of dishes including vegetarian. The chips and burgers are especially good. There is also a more upmarket bistro in the same place held fortnightly Friday and Saturday evenings. £24.95 for three courses.

Service is a bit haphazard and can be slow at busy times when operating as a cafe.

Overlooks the lovely village of Low Bradfield and has a very reliable local bus service more or less hourly and more or less up to midnight for those who would prefer not to drive or who do not have their own transport.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Folkiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Schoolrooms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Schoolrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing