We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So dissapointing”
Review of The Schoolrooms

The Schoolrooms
Ranked #508 of 1,434 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$10 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Relaunched on 5th June 2015. The original family owners and new management welcomes you back to the schoolrooms. An award winning cafe serving serving wholesome, quality food from locally sourced, fresh seasonal and natural ingredients throughout the day.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So dissapointing”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have been here for lunch numerous times over the past couple of years and today may well be my last visit. There is so much potential her but unfortunately the organisation is inconsistent as is the quality, you never know what you're going to get. Some times they are short staffed and chaotic other times like today they seem well staffed but standards are poor. Today I ordered a mocha and was presented with what can only be described as a coffee, with hot chocolate in and a jug of milk!! Other peoples orders were delayed and even forgotten. Such a shame as the location is idillic.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    20
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I were on our way to the wonderful Strines Inn when we chanced upon the Schoolrooms in Lower Bradfield. Deciding to have a change we stopped by - big mistake! The signage and interior promised a lot but the food did not live up to that promise. We should have taken our cue from the flies crawling over the sausage rolls and scones left uncovered on the counter. When my wife pointed this out the waitress, having spoken to whom we assume was the owner, sat openly doing paperwork in the cafe area, she just placed the scones in a covered container and left them for sale! The sausage rolls were left uncovered, presumably to give the flies some distraction!

We chose a hot pork sandwich and what was described as 'home cooked ham'. These were served in tasteless, airy sliced brown bread with thick layers of cheap catering margarine. The pork was gristly and the ham, what there was of it, was clearly mass produced and had a strange colour. The only saving grace were the chips..

Although most of our food was left uneaten, surprisingly we were not asked how we enjoyed our meal and the staff, including the owner(s) clearly were uninterested in their patrons. Safe to say we'll be contacting the local E H office because the hygiene standards here are clearly insufficient - we didn't see any Food Hygiene certificates displayed.

Take a tip - avoid and keep driving!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cpt_Strangepork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Full English”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Called for breakfast, had the full English which was delicious. It was slightly expensive for a breakfast but I think worth it - I would go back for another full English breakfast !

Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Festival ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from a wonderful day in Bradfield watching the Tour de France. We spent the majority of the day in and around the schoolrooms. A large marquee covered the car park filled with fantastic beer, fish and chips, English breakfast, hog roast etc, something for all the family and no one was disappointed! We were guided by a very helpful chef on arrival and we tried the majority of things on offer! The garden games and bouncy castle were fantastic. A lot of thought has obviously gone into the day and it showed! We hadn't been before but will defiantly return!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Grumbleweed86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ready for the Tour”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This place looks ready for business. Food looks great and the staff are friendly. In spite of the rain this feels like the place to start a Tour de France weekend to remember. And they keep their beer well.

Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Schoolrooms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Schoolrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing