We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Toby Carvery Dronfield
Ranked #327 of 1,477 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Dronfield. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Sheffield’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a hotel close by and didn't want to pay their extortionate prices for meals so discovered this Toby Carvery. Friendly staff and good food, exactly what we were looking for!

Some of the wooden things (tables, handrails etc.) we're sticky to touch; I think this is a problem with the cleaning solution being used rather than not being cleaned properly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nzspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We find all comments really helpful, and we will aim to take careful note of what you have said following your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Toby Carvery Dronfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Dined here tonight for first time since refurb. Impressed with cleanliness and décor. Very attentive and accommodating staff when informed them I have a dairy intolerance. Waitress brought a list of choices I could have out and arranged for my veg to be steamed and not cooked in butter and arranged for a prawn cocktail without the sauce for starter. Have booked for boxing day and will be going back before then.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dairy-free-girl2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for choosing to visit us and for leaving your kind review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful when we receive such good feedback and we have sent you a personal response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Came back after the recent referbisment. Been for both breakfast and lunches. t's well worth a visit great food value and service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sf14sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We are happy to hear your enjoyed your visit here, and hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited at lunchtime just a few days after the reopening following a £300k refurb. Very busy, car park was full. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The refreshed decor is lovely. The carvery at £5.99 is a must. Choice of 4 meats. Plenty of other options too. Great budget option - especially with children. Recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went here for a family meal after having good experiences in the past. We were sat opposite the kitchen door and it was stiflingly hot - If they offer you those seats you would be better waiting till others come available at the other end of the pub. I don't know where they get the cauliflower from but it's tasteless and the chipolatas really need replacing with some of better quality if you are asked to pay £1.50 for the upgrade. Overall, a slightly above average carvery made better by pleasant service from all the staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrahamParker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby Carvery R, Guest Relations Manager at Toby Carvery Dronfield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Dronfield also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Dronfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing